We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue for small party in Self Catering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tosson Tower Farm
Save
You added Tosson Tower Farm to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Carlisle
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for small party in Self Catering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

8 of us spent New Year at Tossen Tower in the Steadings and also used two of the Bed and Breakfast rooms adjoining. We had stayed here back in May and once again we could not fault the standard of accommodation and the friendliness of our hosts. The kitchen diner with two settees is brilliant and well fitted out with great views towards Rothbury. You can walk from the front door up Simmonside or across the valley to the fells above Rothbury. The lounge with wood burning stove is very big and very comfy. They even put a dumpy bag full of logs right outside the patio door near the fire. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Two bed and breakfast rooms in the Steadings are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay - The Steadings is a great place for a large party - we use it too!!
Hope to see you again soon.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This a lovely big farmhouse with a breakfast room/conservatory at the back commanding fantastic views over the valley - great whilst you eat your delicious breakfast. The owner was friendly and helped us to find a somewhere to eat in the evening which turned out to be very good; we appreciated the local knowledge. The room we stayed in had a view of Tosson Tower and sheep grazing nearby, a great place for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Tosson Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stay 4 nights with a friend which is a great base for walking. The whole experience was a pleasure. Superb accommodation, fantastic breakfast with views to match. Should I return to the area this will be my first port of call!

For coffee lovers, check out Tomlinson Café adjacent to the bridge in Rothbury - its the best place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and your friend to stay and am pleased you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you both again another time
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked 2 rooms and were allocated the Millrace and Millstream rooms situated in a converted barn/stables across the lane from the farmhouse accommodation. This suited us just fine as along the corridor leading to our rooms was a separate lounge which we could use (the annexed cottage had its own entrance and did not access our area at all).
Ann and her breakfast team were very friendly and helpful, plus having our own lounge for Bridge sessions was a bonus. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It's always a pleasure to receive a lovely review - we do like to know what people think about Tosson Tower and try hard to provide really good accommodation .
I hope to see you again another time.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Rothbury as a base for exploring Northumberland and we were extremely fortunate to find this excellent B&B. Stayed in the Millstream barn conversion with our friends downstairs. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, wonderful views, charming hosts; what more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the weather this year has been so good for everyone. I hope to see you and your friends another time.
Thank you once again Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The title says it all ..we've just come back from a week at T.T and it was just lovely. Very comfortable room, thoughtfully equipped,cleaned daily......warm in every sense, spacious, quiet and so welcoming. A huge lounge to relax in.Breakfasts were excellent, eaten whilst we watched the swallows preparing to fly .Thanks to all concerned for helping us to have a much needed relaxing break.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the review - it was a pleasure to have you both staying and look forward till you return
Take care
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely and peaceful. Delightful accommodation. Stayed in The Millstream in the barn conversion. Beautiful room very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good served in the conservatory overlooking great countryside. Our first visit to this area but hopefully not the last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts. This is a wonderful area to explore and I hope to see you another time.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tosson Tower Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.