We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked through Laterooms.com at 9pm to book at 11pm that night and were looked after very well indeed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard House to your Saves list
The Orchard House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We booked through Laterooms.com at 9pm to book at 11pm that night and were looked after very well indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Rothbury is a lovely village and The Orchard House a delightful place to stay. I will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    47
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
245
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed in the orchard house for two nights b+b to celebrate my wives' birthday, we were greeted by Graham the owner with a glass of champagne and friendly chat. We had booked a double but were complimentary upgraded to the blue room! lovely decor and comfortable bed awaited us.

Next morning we were treated to stunning organic and locally sourced foods and waited on attentively without being stuffy!!

All in all good location, easy parking good base for exploring Northumberland.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed at the Orchard House during a cold winter's weekend. The owner - Graham - warmly greeted us and took us into the beautiful cozy lounge where he refreshed us with warm towels and delicious alcoholic drinks. He then escorted us to the Lauren Suite. We had previously stayed at Orchard House in the Blue Room, which we thought was excellent, but the newly opened Lauren Suite even excelled this. The bonus of a suite meant that we had our own elegant sitting room in which to relax after wallowing in the deep Victorian bath. Altogether, this was a superb experience. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We chose Rothbury and the Orchard House for a relaxing night away for three friends to celebrate two birthdays. We booked for one night via laterooms.com so received a slightly discounted rate, and received a very warm welcome and a glass of champagne on our arrival on the Saturday evening. We stayed in the Percy Suite, which is on the top floor at the front of the house. This gave us two self-contained lovely bedrooms (one with an ensuite shower room) and a second bathroom (with a bath) linked by a short corridor. The rooms were very clean and light with modern decor. Both rooms contained flat screen TVs and Bose CD players. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were excellent. We were provided with dressings gowns and both rooms included a basket of fresh fruit and flowers and a plate of little caramel shortbread and chocolate brownies in addition to tea and coffee making facilities. We didn't use it but wireless internet access was available. The downstairs sitting room is cosy and the breakfast room (also on the ground floor) is airy and welcoming (and includes a fridge with milk you can help yourself to for drinks in your room). We didn't make use of them but could have chosen from a selection of DVDs had we had time to. We had a lie-in and were treated to a late breakfast at 10am on Sunday. We had a choice of fruit juice or smoothie and then opted from a selection of options for the English breakfast which was freshly cooked and very tasty, followed up by plenty of tea and toast - a great start to the day!

On Saturday evening we ate at the Italia+ restaurant in one of the other hotels in Rothbury. It is about a 10-15 minute walk (a torch is probably a good idea on dark nights) and tables can be booked in advance. The food was good and we enjoyed our evening there.

On street parking is available outside the Orchard House or in a very short walking distance.

Before we left we were able to have a quick look at the recently refurbished Blue Room and Lauren Suite. The Lauren Suite has a huge bedroom and a separate living room with TV etc and a very large bathroom with a large bath and huge walk-in shower. The Blue Room is more compact and cosier. Both would be excellent for couples looking for a weekend getaway location with a bit of luxury.

Our stay definitely lived up to our expectations. All staff at the Orchard House were very accommodating and happy to help with all our requests. The owner was also very understanding when we accidentally set off the fire-alarm by lighting candles on a birthday cake in one of the bedrooms. We would definitely go back and would wholeheartedly recommend this guesthouse to others looking for a welcoming and comfortable getaway for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I booked the whole house for the weekend with family and friends for my special birthday, and it certainly lived up to expectations. We were greeted with Champagne and canapes, then left to enjoy the comforts of the house. We stayed in, but Graeme said he would book tables at one of the nearby restaurants if we wished. The following night I arranged for a local caterer whom Graeme recommended to supply a buffet. It was lovely. Breakfast was served at a time to suit and the rest of the time we were able to enjoy having the place to ourselves. The weekend was absolutely bliss.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We have just spent a great weekend at the Orchard House in their new Lauren Suite, having stayed in other rooms at this hotel twice before. The Lauren is really spacious and comfortable and there is a lot of attention to detail. We really appreciated our own lounge when car problems on our day of departure meant a 4 hour delay to our leaving. The staff were all fantastic allowing us to stay in the room well over our scheduled check-out time. We will definitely visit the Orchard House again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

A little out of date, but wanted to add my praise for the Orchard House. Just stayed one night prior to a friend's wedding in Northumberland. Lovely B&B, beautifully presented with everything you could want including a glass of bubbly and some chocolate treats on arrival. Very well located in the heart of Rothbury close to nice restaurants, and the river for walks. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Lovely place to stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.