We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchard House to your Saves list
The Orchard House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special 50% offer
Ranked #3 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

We had read the reviews and as we wanted to explore the Northumberside region decided to stop at this Hotel. We usually stay in the larger Hotels as they tend to offer a greater range of services but our choice was absolutely spot on.

We were welcomed by the owner with a welcome drink and a refreshing towel. After checking in we were shown to our room, in this case the Blue Room and we can honestly say it is one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is superb and second to none. The room was spotlessly clean and combined modern features with traditional fittings.

The bathroom again is excellent and if you go yuo really must take one of their range of bath's - a menu of available bath oils & accompanying music, first time we've ever seen that, but it simply is relaxing and wonderful.

Being a B&B they don't serve evening meals but the information from the owner was invaluable in finding a fine Gastro-pub about 10miles away.

The breakfast again surpasses evern the finest of Hotels for service and attention to detail. All homa-made items, locally sourced products and fresh honey give it that WOW factor that a lot of luxury hotels miss or fail to achieve.

Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who have created a little gem of a place. We'll definately be back.

  • Liked — Everything is of the same high standard you cannot choose one thing!
  • Disliked — Parking is limited on street, buts you cannot fault the Hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    44
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
233
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

On arrival at Orchard House we were warmly greeted with a drink, and the advise that our room had been upgraded.

We were also asked about our plans for evening meal and made aware of the options. We chose itialian and they made a reservation for us in a restaurant which was in walking distance from the hotel.

There also seems to be a variety of other places to eat and drink on the main street.

The room we had was wonderfully decorated, the bathroom had a heated floor. There was a large plasma TV, free internet access, drinks, snacks, everything you need really.

Breakfast was excellent. A lots of options all freshly prepared.

Basically they couldn't do enough for you and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

This is one of the very best hotels I've had the pleasure to visit. I really could not fault it. The only negative was that I was in the area on business and I could not stay longer and luxuriate in this beautiful little haven.

Everything had been considered to make one's stay a pleasure and the attention to detail was exceptional. It was amazingly clean, everything felt sumptuous. The staff were very professional but friendly too. The food on offer for breakfast was delightful. I also loved the idea of the 'honesty bar' which was well stocked and offered interesting complimentary nibbles. It is also well located in the centre the charming town of Rothbury. A really great find all round.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We booked two nights at the Orchard House, based on Trip advisor reviews. Yet again, they were spot on. The house was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers throughout. We stayed in the Blue Room - super kingsize bed, quality linens, bose stereo and more fresh flowers. Our hosts made us feel welcome from arrival without being intrusive - nothing was too much trouble, including ordering "off menu" at breakfast. We'd suggest perhaps giving the Italian restaurant a miss - service and food were so, so. The Orchard House is a real find though - go there!

  • Liked — Stylish, elegant and luxurious
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay at The Orchard House in Rothbury. We booked the hotel after reading all of the great reviews and were not disappointed.

On arrival, we were greeted by Alison, who was only in her first week of working there, and she made us feel really welcome and explained everything we needed to know. The hot towels were lovely and refreshing and we were able to check straight into our room even though it was only 1pm when we arrived.

The bedroom, the Percy Room, was large and clean with some lovely luxurious touches such as the huge furry throws on the bed, perfect for curling up in. The hotel reserved a table for us at the local Italian on the first night and we had a lovely three course meal before taking a short stroll back to the hotel.

However the best was yet to come. The bed was so comfortable it was a real effort to get up in the morning but the breakfast made it truly worthwhile. More food than I have ever eaten for breakfast, served by two lovely ladies, was accompanied by a complimentary newspaper delivered to the table on both mornings. The quality and taste of the locally produced food was superb and left us so full that we didn't need lunch on either day!

All in all, little, well-thought out touches and a genuine desire to give people a great time meant my boyfriend and I left the hotel feeling thoroughly refreshed and recharged.

  • Liked — The huge, incredibly comfortable bed.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

'Somewhere that's a real 'one-off' - old and with lots of character.' So said my fiancee when I asked what kind of place she'd like for the start of our honeymoon, and I couldn't have done better than to find the Orchard House, which we've just revisited for our first anniversary. On both visits we stayed in the Blue Room - more like a little suite of its own, with a separate hall and fine bathroom as well as a spacious sitting area looking south over the village rooftops to the Simonside Hills. It feels like the kind of period room you usually only get to walk through in a National Trust property - only this time, it's yours to live in. The Orchard House is full of treats - from exotic nibbles and loose-leaf teas in the room, to canapes downstairs in the evening, with breakfast next morning an outstanding treat (we'd recommend the table in the window and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toasted brioche). On a city-break, restaurants are thick on the ground; if you relish getting away to a place like the Orchard House in a setting like Rothbury, there's obviously less choice. We had a very good Sunday evening meal in the Cook & Barker restaurant (20 minutes' drive; their bar meals are more ordinary) and a good, fresh pizza at the Italian in Rothbury itself. Apart from Sunday nights, there is also The Sanctuary or the Treehouse in Alnwick for something more up-market (again, a bit of a drive, but if you're day-tripping from the Orchard House, you could take one of these in en route). Graham & Lisa, who are excellent hosts, mentioned a few other nearby eateries currently changing hands, so the choice may grow this coming year.

  • Liked — The Blue Room and downstairs drawing room and breakfast room have great period atmosphere
  • Disliked — Television in the room detracts a bit from period atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We have just spent a couple of nights at The Orchard House in the lovely village of Rothbury. The faciltiies and service were second to none. The room was large and beautifully decorated. Everything from the "turn down" service that left a cute teddy bear holding a CD of relaxing music on the pillows next to the chocolates to the immaculate bathroom with large bath and power shower to the fluffy gown and slippers made the stay a treat.

For those (like us) that couldn't all of the real world behind even for an Easter weekend, there is wireless broadband and good cellular coverage. With only 4 TV channels, news from the outside was a little limited, but there were DVDs to borrow for those who wanted to stay in.

The breakfast was beautifully prepared with nothing appearing to be too much trouble. The local area is a great experience and the Italian restaurant, in easy walking distance from Orchard House, served us a great evening meal at a very reasonable cost.

Its only 25 minutes into Alnwick and worth a visit.

Try it, we are sure you will want to return; we certainly do.

  • Liked — Quality and care for the more discerning traveller.
  • Disliked — Nothing - well, having to leave. We could have stayed for another week (or two).
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.