We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head - Restaurant

The Queens Head - Restaurant
Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
01669620470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 restaurants in Rothbury
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Cramlington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My association used the Queens Head for a formal dinner.
Pre-dinner drinks in the cosy atmosphere of the bar were followed by an excellent thre course meal, well cooked and well presented. Portions were generous and the food was delicious.
The Queens Head is set in the ageless old town of Rothbury in the magnificent Coquest Valley.
I haven't sampled their redidential facilities but if they are of the same standard as the food they will be ver good indeed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, its very much appreciated and I hope you can sample our B&B facilities very soon.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    21
    31
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good food and lovel atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a bar lunch in the Queens Head, following a recommendation from a local who we spoke to. We weren't disappointed. We had a steak and mushroom pie and a glass of local ale. The staff were friendly and the food good. What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Bar Meal, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We walked past one Sunday morning and asked the waitress, who happened to be putting the board out, if it was just carvery as we didn't want a full meal. She advised us that there was a full bar menu in and when we returned after our walk she remembered us and brought the menus straight over. Nice touch.
We sat in the bar and ordered some hot sandwiches, roast pork and stuffing & sausage and onion. Both came with chips and both lovely (probably as filling as a roast dinner to be fair!) the little one had a toad in the hole with veg followed by ice cream which was included. Food was very nice and reasonably priced.
My only criticism of this place, and one I've noticed before when visiting is the way they serve the condiments. If you want ketchup, mustard, horseradish etc they come out and spoon some on your plate from a tray. I would prefer to have them left on the table, in case you would care for some more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited with family for Sunday Carvery the food was amazing it's a few years since I last visited and our entire party agreed the food was fantastic, generous servings of meat and beautifully cooked vegtables. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your lovely feedback for our sunday lunch, hope you will come again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food was good but there were snags.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The menu is that of an above average pub and the quality of the cooking is good. We were unfortunate that we hit the pub on a busy quiz night and the service was very slow. It was not helped by the fact that, some time after the order went in, we were told that there was no more liver and one of our party had to re-order her main course. When the first course did arrive after at least 45 minutes, we were astonished at the smallness of the portion of whitebait. Our suspicion was that they must have been short of not only liver but also whitebait. The rest of the food was fine, well presented and the size of servings fine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queens Head - Restaurant also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to The Queens Head - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head - Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.