We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Guest House

Save Saved
You added Springfield Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Due to emergency circumstances (the owner had just come out of hospital with a new baby after a c. Section) we had to phone when we arrived and let ourselves in to our lovely spacious ground floor double room. Our shower room was a bit compact but did the job. We liked the fact that we had a sofa and soft seat to sit on to watch telly. We discovered the Queens Head very near where we ate the two nights we stayed. It was friendly and the food lovely. Our breakfast was fine and if you want to bring in a carry out for an evening meal you are free to use the diningroom. Will use this guest house if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

exceptional service staff and outstanding experience from start to finish, thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay cant wait to revisit! Best wishes to the Wilsons and keep up the good work, we look forward to seeing you all again very soon. Best Regards, the Beattie family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently stayed two nights at the Springfield Guesthouse ,We checked in after 7pm we called the number for the guesthouse and within five minutes I was met with an extremley warm welcome despite the landlady being very heavily pregnant. The room was very clean and very comfortable, with all the facilites you expect from a four star guesthouse , we both slept very well , the full english breakfast was exactly what we needed to set us up for the day long distance walking . We have booked up again to come back again and would certainly recommend this guest house to friends and family , Good luck with the new arrival .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Springfield Guest House represents real value for money. We received an extremely warm, friendly welcome from Gavin and Danielle who did all they could to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Easy to find, and ideally located in the heart of Rothbury, it made a great base for us from which to explore the numerous local attractions - would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house to others. Thanks to Gavin for the hearty breakfasts, and an extra special mention to Danielle, the very heavily pregnant owner, who went out of her way to provide a high level of service. Thanks guys and good luck with the new arrival!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had booked two rooms (for four people) for a Saturday night stay, arrived in the late afternoon (around 6pm) and no one was around to meet us. We called the phone number for the B&B to say that we had arrived and were told that the toilets in the two rooms we had booked were not working and that instead we would be staying across town at a pub that had accommodation. When we arrived at the pub the staff there said that there were frequent issues with the toilets at Springfield B&B and that they often had to provide rooms for Springfield's guests at the pub as substitute accommodation. Unfortunately, although we had booked en suite rooms at Springfield, one of the rooms at the pub was not en suite and also, unfortunately, there was a band playing that night at the pub and people were making noise at the pub until after midnight so we all had trouble getting to sleep. We called the landlady of Springfield B&B the next day and said that we were not satisfied with the standard of accommodation at the substitute site and that we would speak with her later in the week when we had booked another night's stay at Springfield B&B (after finishing our week-long long-distance walk). When we arrived later in the week, on a Friday evening (arrived around 7pm), once again, no one was around to greet us. We phoned the landlady and asked her which rooms we were in and she said the keys were in the doors. We asked if we needed a key for the front door and she said that we wouldn't need a key because someone would come round and lock the front door at 11.30pm. Our group of four stayed in rooms #1 and #4. The saniflo system in the bathroom in room #1 stopped working during the second shower taken by the people in the room; it completely stopped draining. We weren't sure if the system would start working again so we had to ask our friends staying in the other room if we could use their bathroom if we needed to. We checked the front door to the B&B after midnight and discovered that it was not locked (contrary to what the landlady had promised over the phone), so anyone could have walked into the B&B. In the morning, once again, the landlady was not there. The hired help served us breakfast, which was an average Full English Breakfast, but we had to once again phone the landlady to speak with her about our stay. When we told her that we were not satisfied with the standard of the substitute accommodation at the pub the Saturday before, she said that she had paid £14 more for us to stay there and would not accept the fact that we felt that the standard was not comparable to what we had paid for and expected at the B&B. We told her about concerns: that the bathroom in room #1 had stopped working after the second shower and she was not apologetic in any way and we mentioned the fact that the front door to the B&B had never been locked despite her saying it would be and she denied that it had not been locked. Overall, we felt that our concerns had not been listened to and after two nights' stay we never once saw the landlady and when phoned to voice our concerns we were told that we were being "awkward". We would never ever stay at this B&B again and would not recommend it to anyone. I have no idea how this B&B ever earned four stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed two nights at the end of July, nice friendly welcome from Danielle, good sized room (No 1), breakfast on both mornings was of a very good quality, good helpings and kept us going all day, thanks Gavin !
Rothbuy is a lovely village, try the Italian - over the river, turn left and its on the right, would recommend it as we would the Springfield, would definately return.
(The owners even invite you to use their dining room for take aways in the evening if you wish)

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a good, honest guest house with comfortable rooms and decent breakfast. It's ideally located on the main street and Danielle, the owner, is lovely. Recommended

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three storey Victorian townhouse we have six large en suite rooms.bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price.we have double twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons.we are located right in the centre of beautiful rothbury an ideal base to visit the whole of northumberland we have of street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Northumberland/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.