We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Islay at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Na Suil B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagavulin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Na Suil B&B
Save
You added Tigh Na Suil B&B to your Saves list
Lagavulin, Port Ellen PA42 7DX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lagavulin B&B and Inns
Hadamar, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Islay at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Dear Dot and Don,
we, a couple fom Germany realy enjoyed our stay at your place. The hospitality, the warms and the friendlyness was very exiting. I liked our discussion in the Garage.Your location is great for visiting three distilleries by foot so you can drink as much as you can and find your way home safely.
Thank you very much
Berthold and Edith

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Dot and Don are the best hosts. The house used to be a post office. Be sure to ask Dot about the "burglar step". The breakfast was above and beyond expectation. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on our next trip to Islay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

My Father, Father in law and I stayed with Dot and Don in May 2012 for 2 nights during a whisky trip to the beautiful Isle if Islay. They were both extremely friendly and made us all feel at home immediately. Their breakfasts are to die for and their level of service is second to none. If you are considering a trip to Islay and want to stay somewhere with home comforts and fantastic service then this is the place for you. We would definitely stay with them again. Thanks Dot and Don for making our trip to Islay so perfect.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany, baden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

dot and don, the hosts, know everything usefull and important about whisky, islay , distillerytours,the ferry`s and the weather!!!! we have seen a lot bnb`s,and this is really one of the best!! the rooms are big, with new bathrooms and good bed´s, and they do a very good breakfast. ardbeg an lagavulin are in short walking distance, so you can have one dram more...and in the evening you can relax in front of teh open fire!
thanks you both dot and don, for a wonderfull stay, we will come back!!!
lena and thomas, germany

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The first realization my father and I had that we were actually staying IN Lagavulin was neat. It was literally 100m (or less) from the distillery itself; the town has about 5 buildings. Nearby to Port Ellen, it is about a 30 minute drive from the Port Askaig ferry on the north part of the island (the Port Ellen ferry will be resuming in later 2011).
The owners, Dot and Don, both were unbelievably friendly and welcoming. They gave great directions on how to get there, called more than 5 different distilleries, and Don is also quite knowledgeable about Scotch whisky and was great to speak with on that topic - in fact both of them were just very friendly and kind people.
The B&B was rather spacious, well appointed, and quite clean. It was neat because it is more rural (Islay is not very populated anyway), so it was very quiet and beautiful.
I would absolutely recommend staying here.
We had to take an early ferry in the morning and left around 545am; Dot and Don prepared some items for us to take on the road so we would be fed as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

A lovely B & B hosted by two of the most wonderful people you'll meet. Our room was clean and VERY Comfortable, a new bathroom with excellent shower.
Breakfast was to "die for" served with a smile.
We had to leave early our last day and Dot & Don provided us with a wonderful TO-GO breakfast.
Definately, looking forward to our next visit.
Lizbeth & Bob AZ

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iserlohn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Don & Dot offer an excellent B&B Service at Tigh Na Suil, a great breakfast with lots to choose from, a very comfortable en suite room with tea & coffee facilities and a view over sea. This is a B&B service specific to Islay, the neighbours include the Lagavulin, Laphroaig and Ardbeg Distileries, Port Ellen Village is 5 minutes away with car and a beautiful view of Northern Ireland across the irish sea at the bottom of the garden. But it is Don & Dot's hospitality, knowledge about the island and ability to make you feel at home as soon as you arrive that has made our stay on Islay for the whiskey and music festival 2011 one to remember. Tigh Na Suil comes very highly recommended.
Paula and Danny

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Na Suil B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Suil B&B

Address: Lagavulin, Port Ellen PA42 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Ellen > Lagavulin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lagavulin
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Na Suil B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.