We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe to your Saves list
Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be a great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a night at the Portsonachan and overall we had a great time. We brought our dog, who was made to feel very welcome within the hotel. The food was great and was really good value. The bar prices were really reasonable and we enjoyed the benefit of being able to sit in the bar with the dog.
The Hotel itself could really do with a bit of investment. The main problems appeared to be cosmetic with the decor quite dated and tired. The dining room appeared to have been recently reburbished so it's obviously a work in progress. When we checked in, we were directed to our coach house room. It was at the top of some stairs which would have benefited from a good sweep and a lick of paint but the adjacent waterfall was lovely. Our room was nice with a large comfortable bed, however on arrival we found the bathroom floor was flooded. We reported it the problem which was quickly identified as a leaking tap and was dealt with swiftly by the hotel manager. We had no further problems with the room.

We were impressed by the kind and helpful staff who were clearly working hard. They obliged us with an ice bucket and glasses for the room. The location was fabulous with wonderful views of the loch and good walks for our dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    339
    216
    147
    207
See reviews for
219
627
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity the Portsonachan Hotel is the place for you my husband and I have just returned from our second visit we loved every minute the staff at the Portsonachan were efficient polite nothing was to much trouble.
The hotel is situated on the banks of the stunning Loch Awe the views of the Loch from the hotel are stunning what ever time of the year you decide to go.
Only downside to the Portsonachan its rather a off the beaten track but worth the drive once you arrive.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Loch side view for the most stunning views in the world to wake up too,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times over the years and the current staff and manager are the best they have had. They are trying hard to get it right and against the backdrop of the Loch and the mountains they are on a winner. Lets hope they keep going.its a great place with good food and fantastic views. All they need is more people.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After reading some reviews, went with trepidation, however, much better than expected and nothing a really good clean and some staff training wouldnt put right - We were told main hotel is been rennovated and were given a very spacious and warm large lodge, (a few cobwebs and dirty marks on walls) with a spectacular view of the loch. the dining room in hotel, a short walk away, was beautiful, although the whipped double cream that accompanied the nachos starter was a new addtition to us (as I say training, I expect the receipe said cream, and to some, sour cream and double cream may be similar - the waiter didnt seem to see it as a problem). All other issues addressed and even one evening our food delivered from restaurant to our door. it a lovely setting with great potential

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your recent review and the time taken to post it.

Kindest regards

Gary Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

having bought a voucher at a show We were looking forward to having a break at Portsonachon unfortunately not being able to use it within the alloted time I was plesantly surprised that they honoured it without question. On arrival at the hotel we were met by several friendly members of staff including Gary the manager who offered us advice on where to visit in the area. We were then told we had been upgraded to a lochside self catering apartment. This although slightly dated was clean and tidy with a fantastic view of Loch Awe which was spectacular in the sunshine.
We had a wonderful breakfast every morning which was served by friendly staff who were interested in our well being. Again the few meals we had in the restaurant in the evening were well cooked and hot. The bar stocked a fair few single malts so my husband was very happy.
OVERALL
A wonderful hotel in a Wonderful location with Wonderful staff.
We were very sorry to leave this morning and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time taken to write and post your review.

Kindest regards

Gary Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had three great nights in a spacious 1 bed lodge (sofa bed for us!) The lodge was very warm when we arrived with loads of hot water. Great views and excellent base for exploring the area, children had to be dragged away as the wanted to move in! Will stay again.

Room Tip: Loved our loch lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to post your genuine, honest and accurate review and we hope to once again welcome you back to The Portsonachan Hotel.

Kindest regards

Gary Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here with a groupon voucher and were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We had a brilliant time and loved the place. The location and the views are absolutely stunning and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. We were in a Loch side suite which was great for myself and my husband and our 2 children, everything was clean (if maybe a little bit dated) and the suite was perfect for self catering with a big breakfast bar and doors out on to your own wee terrace/balcony area looking right onto the Loch. The staff were busy as I think the place was full, so we did have to wait for about an hour for our accomodation to be ready but, hey, who's in a rush when you're taking a break away? We sat in the bar and the kids had a great time exploring the hotel - particularly enjoying the array of stuffed animals in the hall!! Good fun for a night or 2 away and only 2 hours from Glasgow

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or apartment with a Loch view, as some of the accomodation was across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your honest and accurate review and we hope to welcome you back to Portsonachan Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Gary Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe

Address: Portsonachan PA33 1BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portsonachan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsonachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, with restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsonachan Hotel And Lodges On Loch Awe
Portsonachan Hotel Dalmally
Portsonachan Resort Dalmally

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges on Loch Awe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.