We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bellevue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Andalgata 5, Andalsnes 6300, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Andalsnes
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It is an old shabby and dirty hotel. We had to put towels on the chairs because they were so dirty! The shower was in the middle of the bathroom and when you take a shower everything gets wet! There is no way to roll your suitcases into the hotel because it has only stairs. The 1 elevator works slowly and doesn't always function.We saw a handicap who had to go down 5 stories because he couldn't wait for the elevator.The coffee they provide free to the guests is always cold. The television in the room has only 2-3 channels only in Norsk and no CNN or BBC for tourists. The amount of money we payed there (1110 nok) is much too much for what we received. We will never recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The 84 room Grand Hotel Bellevue looks back on a grand tradition of distinguished visitors over the past 75 years, but signs are everywhere that updating of rooms and cosmetic upkeep of walls and carpets has been long overdue. Threadbare carpets in the elevator and scuff marks and scrapes on hallway walls attest to this, although a major refurbishment supposedly has been scheduled for October 2011.
On arrival we were welcomed by Tom, who was eager to please, answering questions patiently while dispensing useful information. We requested and were assigned a quiet room #512 on the 5th floor. Although the furnishings, except for a 48inch flat screen TV, were 1950 vintage and in case of the desk and side table rather beat up, the room and bathroom nevertheless were very clean, the bed comfortable. The view from the room was superb across the bay to the snow covered alpine peaks.
The public areas and restaurant of the hotel were very nice and appeared recently updated. A historical photo gallery attests to the grand history of the hotel. We did not use the restaurant but went into town to Piccola Mama Rosa for some good Italian food. Breakfast served in the breakfast room with a view to the mountains was the typical standard Scandinavian spread. Free parking is available in front of the hotel, as is free use of a computer terminal in the reception area.
Absent viable alternatives in the Andalsnes area, the hotel is okay for a one night stopover on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We booked this hotel through the fjord pass website and got a good rate on it. The hotel is in a good location and is only a short walk down to the waterfront. Most of the hotel is in dire need to renovation. Some parts like the restaurant/bar area looked to have been modernised recently. However the corridors need paint ed at the very least and the our room was a bit worn. The bathroom was outdated with only a shower curtain and grate in the middle of the bathroom which meant that after a shower the bathroom floor was very wet. On the plus side, the hotel did provide an excellent breakfast, lots of choice, hot and cold and always well stocked up. There were few places to eat in town, and we arrived on a Sunday which limited this even more. We didn't sample the restaurant but went into the town instead. Overall we probably wouldn't stay here again but since there aren't a lot of other options for hotels in town, there isn't always the choice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

I stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable albeit basic. However, the hotel boasts one of the few bars in Andalsnes. On the night we were there it hosted a club night which went on until 2.00 am. This made it wholly impossible to sleep in our room two floors up.

The hotel is clearly very aware of this – there is a sign at reception warning guests that it will be a regular occurrence and offering free ear plugs (sadly I didn’t notice this in time). When I rang up to complain the answer was that nothing could be done, again offering me ear plugs.

Even if I had used these I think it would still have been impossible to sleep. The noise in my room was unbelievably loud.

I have averaged about 70 hotel nights a year in many countries for the last ten years, have stayed in a lot of noisy rooms and have never encountered anything like this. It is excessive noise that is wholly within the hotel’s control. They could easily either stop the music or choose not to use certain guest rooms when they are going to be affected. However, the management clearly want to keep the revenue from both the bar and the rooms.

The strikes me as laking any remote concern for guests. They clearly don’t expect anyone to return. I would not recommend giving them a first chance.

  • Liked — Good location. Pleasant rooms.
  • Disliked — Wholly unacceptable noise levels.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsdalen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We are sorry for this, and the night club are closed at summer time. At Winter time this isn't a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights while on an auto tour sightseeing in the Norwegian fjord country. Andalsnes is a good central location and the Grand Hotel Bellevue is the best hotel in town. The town is very small, so the hotel location is just a short walk to the town square and waterfront. It is quiet, although we happened to be there on a Saturday night when some of the local kids enjoyed racing around noisily on nearby streets. The rooms are comfortable and clean, though not luxurious. The breakfast buffet was quite enjoyable, and there is a computer with free internet access. All in all, a very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bellevue

Address: Andalgata 5, Andalsnes 6300, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Rauma Municipality > Andalsnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Andalsnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Bellevue 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bellevue is a full service hotel near the terminus of the Rauma Railway in andalsnes in Romsdal. With its location at the foot of the Romsdal peaks you have views of both mountains and fjord from the hotel. In the same building is Rauma Kulturhus used for courses and conferences, library, concerts and shows. From andalsnes you can visit attractions such as the Trollstigen Road, Trollveggen Wall and the Geirangerfjord area, or what about joining a fishing trip on the fjord? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.