We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may go hungry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elimar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elimar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elimar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Mediterraneo, 230, 29730 Rincon de la Victoria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You may go hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Staying at this hotel as I write, well what can I say. This hotel has the potential to be a top drawer place to stay, it sits right on the beach with some fantastic views and sunsets but is let down by some lethargic staff and a definite lack of wanting to please.
First I must make some people exempt from this criticism, the receptionist counter and the cleaners are the standard the management must bring the others up to, they are very efficient and helpful. Things fall flat on their face when it comes to the restaurant, very limited choice and what choice there is sometimes runs out even well before the end of the sittings. At breakfast this morning (9.30 at this point and breakfast is served till 10.30) no milk, no eggs, no tomatoes, no ham and the waiter/staff worker appears not to be bothered. I could go on but wont.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday then be sure to book a room overlooking the sea, we started off overlooking the street but it was so noisy after 2 days paid 10 Euros/day to move to the other side of the hotel. If you overlook the street you WILL be awoken by the refuse collectors at 4am so be warned!! Most other things about the hotel are ok even though it is a little dated but I think they need to spend some money on double glazing where its noisy and also upgrade the air conditioning.(photo to follow).On the plus side the hotel is an example of cleanliness, one of the best I have been in for this. Even for all my moaning I find it hard to mark this hotel down as my stay was very enjoyable but it annoys me that this could be a top notch hotel with very little effort One last word, the beds are extremely firm, you have been warned again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea, fantastic view and much quieter than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
23
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after 2 weeks. Location is great right on the beach. We had 5th floor room with sea view, a view which was superb. The room although fairly comfortable and was cleaned daily, was basic. Not a problem as hardly spent any time in hotel as weather was great. There isn't any entertainment at the hotel unless you are a big football fan, the tv in bar area seemed to have 24hr football coverage. The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool and if you like to swim you take your chance in the sea. It can be quite rough though. The staff were friendly and helpful but didn't speak a great deal of English so our Spanish phrase book got a great deal of use. The food was ok but after 10 days of very similar menus we ate out. There are lots of bars and cafes along the beach front so we took the opportunity to try the local food. Whilst we were there it was Rincon festival weekend and so enjoyed live entertainment on the beach and free food testing.

Room Tip: Sea view a must,its great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blatna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Itś a very nice cityś hotel with great service, wifi-free. We were very impressed with hotel, great choice of food ( weg, salads, tuna, salmon, beef, pork ... everyday diiferent type of food).Breakfast was repetetive - continental, but it was filling (croissants, tomatoes, ham, cheese, chorizo, fruit, paté, jams, cornflakes, coffe, tea ( Tetley).
Hotel is dirrectly on the beach. You can rent a sunbed for 3 eur /day/person. You can borrow sun towel in the hotel. The beach wasn´t really cleaned (may be- the end of season)
The rooms are very comfortable,bright, spacy, nice decorated. Beds have a good size (90 cm), the rooms are equipped with minifridge and aircon. In the hotel was silence (but we had nice people there).
Only one problem was we had view to noisy street (the worst was a first night - it was really noisy, I couldn´t sleep, so itś better to pay an extra money for sea view.
The hotel has a nice gym well equipped ( itś included), also in front of the hotel you can park your car for free.

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. Located ON the beach with excellent facilities; gym, bar, restaurant, free Wi-Fi and amazing views. My room and en-suite were spotless. I didn't book a sea view room and was aware that my balcony would overlook a busy road. This was definitely not a put off as it was nice to watch the world go by from above, could also see the beautiful houses and mountains in the background. I booked for bed and breakfast and was not disappointed at all, good choice of continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Malaga and surrounding areas with a bus stop right outside the entrance. There are countless quiet tapa's bars and restaurants on the seafront adjacent to the hotel and the seafront makes a lovely walk in the evening. Not many English people seem to stay in El Rincon - mainly Spaniards with a few Italians and German thrown in the mix. It was nice to be somewhere truly foreign and away from stereo-typical Costa del Sol. If you want a quiet resort then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. We had sea view room, stunning views of beach, mountains. Buffet breakfast included in the price was nice, lacked of choice but it was really filling. There is Tesoro caves about half an hour walk from the hotel. We really enjoyed caves excursion and it was cheap only €4 entrance. There weren't many foreign tourists, most of restaurant staff in this town spoke very little or non English. Cleaning staff in the hotel were excellen, room cleaned and towels chaned every day. Air conditioners in there room(we did not use it). Bus to Malaga is only few minutes from the hotel and it only cost €1.60. Malaga city is must see, stunning city with loads of castles, old churches, Picasso museum and boat trips. Rincon de la Victoria itself did not have any boat trips, water parks or anything else you normally get in holiday resorts. Loads of playgrounds for kids on the beach. It's more really relaxing holiday as the was no clubs or night entertainment anywhere close.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Yet again I turned up with no previous reservation but found a room - albeit this was the low season (4 weeks' ago). , Reception staff absolutely top-notch, charming, efficient (upon request they changed my room to a higher floor the following day before 09.00 as I was already up) very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go. The room was front-line beach with a lovely terrace, clean with TV, mini-fridge, airco (I didn't use it), excellent shower. Whenever I needed anything it was delivered immediately. All in all, first-cass service which more than makes up for the slight faded aspect in certain places. However, the restaurant has a terrace and it was in the perfect spot. I am returning next week!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned after 7 days at this hotel. What a gorgeous hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Overlooking the beach, nice bathroom and air-conditioning. The breakfast and evening meal service, quality and quantity was first class. All the staff were very helpful and extremely polite. A special mention of Diana, who covered the bar and restaurant is required, what a credit to the hotel. If anyone has a moan re this hotel then they should be booking a five star. We shall certainly be booking again early 2013.


Graham Turner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Elimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elimar

Address: Avenida Del Mediterraneo, 230, 29730 Rincon de la Victoria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Rincon de la Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Rincon de la Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elimar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elimar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.