We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ticks all the boxes; very comfortable, private, well equiped and excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Mar I

Save Saved
You added Siesta Mar I to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siesta Mar I
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Central, 60, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It ticks all the boxes; very comfortable, private, well equiped and excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I was very happy with Siesta Mar and will definitely return.
There were two of us and we got an apartment on the 3rd floor. The balcony is huge - you can walk around it and there is a table and chairs and a clothes horse for leaving your bikinis and towels out on. A big beautiful large tree covered our balcony from the apartments in front of us but did not block out the sun. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and crockery. There was always hot water in the shower and the beds (one was a couch that pulled out into a double bed) were both firm and very comfortable. Our apartment was cleaned twice in one week, which I was very happy with.
The breakfast was plentiful and would set you up for the day - cereals, fruits, cold meats, fried food, yoghurts, toast, tea and coffee. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The adult pool was clear and fresh - the children's pool and the other pool with the slides also looked like lots of fun. The Siesta Mar is very centrally located to all amenities and we regularly took to the bus to and from Mahon. Octopus restaurant does the best seafood and the Chinese/Indian was delicious - we had the Indian food and it really was fantastic. All in all, Siesta Mar is a fantastic place to stay; it may not win awards for decor but it is very comfortable, convenient and it has everything you need. People in Calan Porter are very friendly and sociable. Muchas gracias amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We've just spent a relaxing week at Siesta Mar 1 and had a brilliant time. The apartments were spacious and clean (we had 2 bedrooms). We had 2 sets of clean towels during our week long stay and the apartment was serviced at the same time. The pool at Siesta Mar 1 was great and there was a shallow pool for younger children. We spent most of out time at Siesta Mar 2-there were 3 pools which suited our 10 yr old and 6 yr old better. The slides proved popular! We never struggled to find a sunbed and the pools were never too busy. We stayed bed and breakfast and can't fault the breakfast at all. There were plenty of small supermarkets which were well stocked-plenty of fresh bread all day. I can recommend eating at 'Seagrams'-a fantastic Tex Mex restaurant-the chicken nachos were the best! Can also recommend 'Salamandra's-a 3 course set meal was 14 euros. We usually spent around 50 euros for the 4 of us to have an evening meal with drinks. Make sure you take your towels to The Irish Bar. There is a fantastic pool for customers to use-gorgeous! Sa Piassa was the place everyone seemed to go to for evening entertainment-go before 10 if a popular act is on-Fake That was very well attended! Would definately recommend staying here if you have a young family-I'd go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heathrow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

we stayed in the quieter part of the two buildings that make up Siesta Mar, the hotel itself was very quiet and the room was clean but beds were very uncomfortable and wouldn't stay for two weeks or your backs would give up!! the local beach was nice but very long way down and plenty of steps OK going down coming up was the bad thing but you could catch a train up at a cost.
We never went to the more nosier part of the hotel as the pool was always crowded and load music not our idea of a relaxing holiday with our children.
be warned smokers shops do not stock cigarettes only one shop a special tobacco shop had them was open only at certain times of day but they were cheap and good well known brands!
Balcony was great sitting there having a drink while the children played in the gardens or had dip in pool which was in eye shot of us.
was a good holiday for cheap get a away would recommend you hire a car like we did as then you can go to much better beaches like son bou.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed at the Siesta Mar 1 which is the quieter part of this 2 building complex. Our 2 bedroom apartment was clean though the beds not too comfy, lovely big balcony at front with smaller one at back. The grounds were well kept but not too well lit at night. We went to the beach rather than the pools and, as there are loads of steps, we took the 'noddy' train back up, but beach is beautiful sand. We found the best place to eat was "Sa Paissa" which was a short walk from the hotel in the main part of the town and they had entertainment too which was really pretty good. We went in October and it was the last week of the holiday season so pretty quiet but I can imagine the high season would get busy and a bit noisier.

  • Liked — The size of the apartment and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siesta Mar I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Mar I

Address: Avda. Central, 60, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Mar I 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Siesta Mar I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Mar i Hotel Cala`n Porter
Siesta Mar I Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Mar I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.