We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
Keighley, united kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day all inclusive holiday at this lovely hotel. The hotel's location is excellent just across the road from the beach and the bus stop, and very close to a number of bars and restaurants. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was big and looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Everywhere including all the public areas were kept spotlessly clean. All the staff were very polite and always greeted with a smile. We thought the food was good with plenty of choice at all meal times. There was entertainment on 2 nights in the week which we enjoyed and seemed to go down well with everyone (majority of guests appeared to be English and Spanish) Our only criticism would be not enough sunbeds. Some people were 'reserving' with towels before breakfast and then not appearing till after lunch.
T

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    186
    52
    7
    6
See reviews for
87
317
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Had 1 week here all inclusive. Got upgraded for free on arrival. a clean,quiet hotel with great staff. Food good. Good pool. evening entertainment not great,but plenty of bars locally for that.. You want a week of peace and sunshine go for it..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, brilliant value for money and in a beautiful location! My girlfriend and I (both in our 20's) stayed for a week in June.
The hotel was spotless and the staff were lovely. The food/bar was good and lots of choice. We ate there every night bar one, where we chose to eat out.
The pool was great and the beach was right below the hotel although there were quite a few steps down.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A lovely stay at Playa Azul, Menorca. Hotel spotlessly clean. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was good and the beach nearby was very inviting and did not get too busy. There were a lot of steps up and down to the beach so did need to be quite mobile. We found the food at the hotel extremely good and their was plenty of variety. There were a few restaurants and shops just a short walk away.

It was a quiet hotel with evening entertainment on a few occasions. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the highest floor. Lovely view but the room did get very hot as the air conditioning had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had a fantastic stay here .dinners were great with 3 choices of fish a lot of evenings. breakfast not so good, no fresh bread or rolls. towels changed daily and beds made. we had a back garden view from room 122 . sun from early in the morning until 1pm approx . a beautiful view of the lawns, pathway lit by solar lamps and palm trees full with lovely little singing birds all day long. entertainment was excellent but started and ended way too early it was all over by ten o clock.we done a lovely boat tour one day in mahon with glass side panels on boat one hour long. for about 11 euros . well worth it. No kettle in room which would have been handy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from an excellent two week holiday at the Playa Azul, Menorca. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Rosa on Reception. The Saga rep Jackie ensured that everything was perfect from start to finish. She really takes extra care of her guests. Room was on second floor with wonderful views of the small cove. Towels were changed daily. Restaurant food was of a high standard with plenty of choice. Best 3 star hotel I have stayed in. Would certainly return to this little gem in a quiet resort.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have great views of the small cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked this hotel, on the previous reviews of the hotel by Tripadvisor participants - they were correct.
On our arrival we were allocated a room at the rear of the hotel without a sea view. When we asked the receptionist if there were any sea view rooms callable, we were given the keys to 316 and check it out before agreeing to move and pay for an upgrade - 12euros a day, but really worth it. After our meal each evening we would call in a local market for a bottle of wine, sit on the balcony and watch the sunset - brilliant !!
The staff, led by Rosa on reception and Javier in the restaurant were always courteous and very helpful !! Rosa set up a 3 day car rental from Overseas Cars - 88 euros including a full tank of petrol - which when returned - req to be full !!
The rooms were always clean and tidy - don't know the lady's name, but the cleaner on the 3rd floor was absolutely brilliant !!
Some slight problems, the Internet is not free - 15 euros for 7 days - good value I hear you say,and I would agree !! Only slight problem, to hook up you need to be by the bedroom entrance door, or sitting on the throne in the bathroom - not good when your daughter Skypes you and asks immediately, why was there a tiled area behind you, and if you try to go on the Internet whilst sitting on your bed, the Internet cuts out.
If you would have seen me and my wife some nights, you would thought that we had argued. She would be drinking wine on the balcony watching the sun going down, whilst I surfed the Internet for information about our destination the following day in our bathroom - brilliant - NOT !!!
My second small gripe, was the layout of the food in the restaurant, we didn't have much complaints about the food ( although some nights the food was warm only ). My concern is that if you fancy making yourself a cup of tea or coffee,you have to carry the boiling liquid to another part of the room o locate the milk - health and safety of other guests - specially when you think many of them using the hotel are from SAGA !!!!
I agree with one of the last Tripadvisor members, a paper information sheet within the hotel states that you should not reserve your sun lounger until 8pm. On our last day, I decided to go down and try and reserve a bed for me and the wife at 07:50 ( thinking I would have quite a choice of sun loungers ) but to no avail, all seats in the sun and loungers adjacent to sun loungers had been taken ( are the English the new Germans!!!! ). One fellow guest says that they were placing towels at 07:15 - HOTEL PLEASE MONITOR THIS There are nearly 180 steps down to the beach,and they want 17 euros for a lounger and parasol on the beach for the day.
I will also give reviews of restaurants and shops under "Cala'n Porter"

To conclude, a 3 star hotel,with excellent staff - with Rosa ever pleasant. You get exactly what you pay for and is excellent value for money !!!!

( Message to Rosa - Mr and Mrs Williams - NOT !!! )

Room Tip: Ask for a update to a sea view - excellent value when you consider the view and watching the sundown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.