We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting and a hospitable and friendly team.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Menorca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala'n Porter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Menorca
Calle de la Mina | Paseo Maritimo, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing setting and a hospitable and friendly team.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Club Menorca hotel and had a wonderful week. We were very apprehensive due to some of the poor reviews however we had a different experience.

Obviously the views over the sea are amazing however it was the helpfulness and friendly nature of Peter, Terry, Tracy and Jan that helped to make the holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. Definitely 5 star service.

Breakfast was simple however the cooked breakfast was excellent and far superior to the heated buffet in the hotel round the corner.

Our room on the lower floor was clean and the sheets and towels changed midweek.

Peter lent us snorkles and a parasol for the beach which was useful. He even bought a plug adapter that we could use as I had forgotten ours.

Our only negative comments would be that the beds are not particularly comfortable and the bathrooms really need to be upgraded and retiled.

The hotel is basic however offers amazing views, delightful staff, good food and i think good value for money.

We would return.





  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived at the apartments, there was no greeting and no one around to show us to our room.

Terry finally appearared but it was night time and he did not know where the light was to show us to the lower level. The lack of lighting helped, as we were unable to see the flies which were hovering at the bottom of the stairs and the badly kept "sunbathing terrace". The place smelt odd and unpleasant; this continued all week. We had to descend the stairs in darkness with our suitcases.

We went to breakfast on the first morning and this was terrible value for money. We were charged 20 euros for some toast, two small packaged croissants and two eggs on toast. None of the food was very nice and the tea was appalling. We went to Sa Paissa for our breakfast every other day, which was much better value for money and a much better place to eat, with friendly staff and nice food!

In the morning, we also managed to see the so called "sunbathing terrace". This seemed to be a health and safety hazard. The barrier (over the cliff) was crumbling and seemed as though it would break if someone lent on it too heavily. There were dirty beer bottles and leftover food outside, as well as a broken light on the floor.

Our bathroom was in an awful state. There was white powder all over the shelves, hair on the floor and dirt everywhere. The shower was broken and was never fixed. The bedrooms were not much better, my daughter had a stain on her sheet and the wardrobes and drawers were all filthy. The beds were not attached to the headboard so they made constant noise. The beds were so old that one could not move at night without it tipping over (as happened to my husband!) Terry told us that there would be a midweek clean but this did not happen, he then tried to tell me that he couldn't clean because my son was asleep, when I do not even have a son! All they did was throw some new towels on the bed and leave. We had to buy cleaning products ourselves because it was so disgusting we were getting ants in the room.

We asked Terry on Tuesday if we could keep our room until 6.30pm on Saturday, as we had a late flight. He did not seem to have any clue who we were or which room we were staying in, but when he finally sorted himself out (on his ropey bit of paper which he used as an organiser) he said this would be fine and we could keep either room. When I checked this with him on Friday, he then said he had given the room away and there was now nowhere for us to stay, not even a room to shower. We had to go to the airport at midday for a flight which left at 9.45pm, as we had nowhere for our bags.

We have never stayed in a place so dirty and smelly. We would never consider going there again
because of this terrible experience and would advise others to avoid staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I knew going into this stay that the rooms would not be the ideal but I was willing to look past that for the amazing location and view. However, the service was awful! Even though we had booked our trip months in advance (and had even confirmed it too) when we showed up the first day they were surprised that three people were there instead of two. Because of this I had to put the sheets on my own bed (which was actually a couch). I also never received a large towel only a small face towel for the full duration of my trip, even though I had asked on two different occasions (to put this in perspective we were only there two nights). When we checked in, there was no one to greet us or even tell us we were in the right place. When we finally did check in the man, Terry was incredibly rude and unwelcoming, this continued for the duration of our stay. We were so upset that even though we had heard good things about the restaurant we refused to eat there to avoid giving them even more of our money. We knew that the rooms would not be ideal but we did not expect the rudeness we experienced as well as feeling unwelcomed. I would not suggest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The view is amazing and the staff are mainly friendly and helpful BUT the place smells of cats or damp or something unpleasant. My room was not very clean when I arrived. I had to buy cleaning products and clean it myself. There was a 'mid-stay' clean, but that did not include a change of sheets. The bed was not even made. I was there for two weeks, so this was not great. Also, the breakfast was pretty awful - not worth the money at all. The paint in the whole place is peeling off. The place has not been painted for a long time. The place is inexpensive, so it allows the traveller to have a cheap holiday, but it is pretty dirty and smelly. This could be a wonderful place to stay, but it isn't at present. If you want a cheap holiday in a lovely place, this is for you, but if you want somewhere clean and fresh, with your room, sheets and towels cleaned regularly, this is not for you. The smell is the worst thing about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wow! The outstanding view from Club Menorca is overwhelmingly fabulous. It reflects the iconic picture of the coves of Menorca as depicted in many holiday brochures - a sight to die for - wonderful views of the cove of Cala'n Porter with it's turquoise sea. Our room reflected the budget price that we paid for it. It was simple but adequate - no extras or fuss. Don't expect 5* luxury and ensure that your expectations are realistic before arriving. We felt able to overlook the basic quality of the room as the view was spectacular and we had not paid a lot. The hospitality from Peter and Terry - the two hard working gentlemen that run the establishment - was good. Our travellers tips would be to take a fan if travelling in high season, as there is no airconditioning or swimming pool, and hire some transport (scooters or cars available ten minutes walk away) as the beach is a steep walk in the heat and the island is definitely worth touring around. Beware that there are lots of steps to encounter in/out of entrance. In summary rather a double edged review: brilliant views but a little weary. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The rooms were spread out over two levels. Those on the higher level were smaller but had private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Club Menorca for a few days hoping that the accomodation would be basic but clean. Unfortunately the rooms are in desperate need of renovation and the standard of cleanliness was poor. The wardrobes were very dusty, the bathroom is dirty and smells and the room gave us a sad feeling when we came back after a nice day out.

Breakfast included eggs on toast, tea or coffee and a pre packed croissant. Full English breakfast can be ordered at a slightly higher price. We ate breakfast once and subsequently bought food from the local supermarkets.

Maybe we were too optimistic to expect a basic but clean place at this price point. We would maybe recommend Club Menorca to travellers who are very flexible in terms of room conditions and are on a very limited budget.

We felt that with the amazing view, this place could have a lot of potential if it was improved significantly.

Cala en porter in general is very British and unfortunately unlike other places like Mahon there doesnt seem to be much local culture left. Food options include hamburgers, chicken curries and other British favourites, luckily we found one or two restaurants that also served a few fish dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week after family had called in for lunch last year and mentioned the fantastic views, telling us they let rooms.

Pro's:

Pre arrival info good. Peter helpful and chatty via e mail . Upper floor booked as wanted balcony.
View amazing and very private.
Lunch good (tapa's on first day).
Pre booked table for dinner twice. Main dishes good but service not so much so, in fact pretty poor.
Stunning little beach.
Very quiet. Slept with the door open and the sound of the waves the only noise.

Cons:

Smell of ?damp as soon as you arrive which permeates building.
Cleaning is atrocious. Room barely socially clean on arrival. Wardrobe very dirty. Bathroom not good.
Having cleaned the bathroom to an acceptable standard (i.e. having removed traces of the last occupant from the toilet) as the week went on we realised there is no cleaning of rooms at all throughout the week. However there are also no cleaning supplies. The majority of us I suspect do not leave our bathrooms especially a full week without any sort of cleaning.
There is a lady who appears to be employed to clean the communal areas. She smiles a lot and dab's a mop around before flinging the dirty water over the sunbathing terrace.
Service hit and miss in the extreme in the bar.
Breakfast we had pre booked. If not we would not have bothered after the first day. No fresh produce and the cheapest pre packed pastry type things ever. However scrambled egg cooked to order good as was the coffee.

Conclusion:

Mixed feelings on this place. Yes it is very cheap but that wasn't why we booked it. We wanted a small hideaway for a week. we just left here feeling grubby.
Staff are in desperate need of some guidance, there is a lot of running around like headless chickens doing very little.
Peter seems to work very long hours , maybe invest in a manager to keep some semblance of order and stop trying to do everything yourself while your bar staff gaze vacantly into the middle distance.
Put the prices up a little and get the place clean. Basic is fine, dirty is not. We did try to discuss this with Tracy but I'm not convinced that the comments will be taken on board (three out of four couples made the same observation whilst we were there).
The accommodation may be cheap but factor in flights and £1000 is gone before you spend anything further - therefore not so cheap.

The resort in all fairness was far too Brits abroad for us. the first night we ate out we were automatically brought chips with our main course (I'd ordered potatoes) the waitress said as we were English she assumed we would want chips as everyone does.
Small rustic bar down by the beach is friendly with good basic tapa's. Also the only place we heard Spanish spoken throughout the resort.
Went into Mahon a couple of days / evenings. Good choice of places to eat and late taxi back only 20eu.

We would go back to the island but not the resort and sadly not to the C.M.

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies. As there is no AC you may want to keep the door open in summer so may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Menorca

Address: Calle de la Mina | Paseo Maritimo, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Menorca is a Spanish Residencia and Bar-Restaurant in a fantastic setting, being set into a Cliff face overlooking the beach in Cala'n Porter on the south coast of Menorca. Indeed Club Menorca, being set 30 meters above the water, has a setting unequalled in the Balearic Islands, if not in the whole of Spain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Menorca Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Menorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club Menorca to your Saves list