We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home with the sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Marques

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Gigantes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Marques
El Gurugu, 38670, Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home from home with the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I have been going out to Tenerife for the past 6 years we are glad our friends introduced us to this wonderful resort. The staff are helpful and friendly and always on hand. The food in the restaurant is fantastic so why stay in and cook. The accommodation is clean and spacious the swiiming pool is nice to. We love sitting on the balcony in the evenings watching the sun set. For a couple I recommend the one bedroom superior apartments with sea view. We normally go in September but last year we stayed over Christmas and New Year for my husband’s birthday and highly recommend it. The two bedroom apartments are perfect for families.
The great thing about the location there are shops and supermarkets nearby and a bus stop over the road should you wish to see more of the island or go on day trips.
What I love about El Marques is the friendly and relaxed atmosphere and that is why we keep going back. Flights booked see you soon El Marques

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you visited us via a recommendation and enjoyed your stay so much that you have already booked flights to return. The pool is heated all year round so great for winter holidays too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with friends at ther time share. The lst time we stayed my wife struggled with the shear volume of stairs to get to the apartment. This time we found that they have listened to client feedback and installed lifts throughout the complex which made for a very plesent stay. They also have a large well stocked supermarket opposite the back gate! Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Guest. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday at El Marques and that the new lifts greatly improved your stay. We are always open to new ideas and include a questionnaire in each apartment for any guest to return their feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Being coming to these apartments for years - ideally placed (apart from heart attack hill!!) and have great view of La Gomera

About 10 minutes walk from the centre of Los Gigantes and 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants of Puerto de Santiago

Great complex, good facilities and with the addition of the new lifts will make the walk up the apartments a little easier

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to have provided enjoyable holidays for many years and we hope to continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Arrived at 0120 met by the night security guard who checked our passports got the key,safe key and info about the resort and then carried our bags to our apartment.The apartment was small although big enough for 2 of us, it was clean and comfortable, hard beds but mattress toppers were provided. Best nights sleep we have had on holiday.Well equiped with microwave, 4 ring hob and electric oven, washing machine in fact everything you needed.The resort offers a half board dining option of any three days for 13 euros, we took the option up, the breakfast was very good but felt the evening meal could have been better, but you cannot please everyone.The bar prices are reasonable with happy hour twice a day.Evening entertainment around 4 times a week. Hollie Bourne on the Thursday night is a great singer, and System X on Saturday nights are great,if they have their son with them ask them to get him to sing.The pool area is clean as is the whole complex.Plenty of sunbeds and the pool is quite warm for February. The welcome meeting is informal and there is no pushing to buy or take anything you dont want.All staff from Ana the manager to the barmen and cleaners are polite and friendly.Good laugh with the barstaff, try your Spanish out on them.Only drawback is the number of steps, but we are Senior Citizens and managed ok. There is a supermarket across the road out of the back gate where we got fresh meat a couple of times and cooked our own meals.
Lots of hills but taxis are cheap enough and the bus stop for Los Christianos is just up the road.If you dont want to eat in then almost opposite the bus stop in the arcade is Scooby Doos open 0800 until 1600. Tipsy Terrace out of the back gate and down the steep hill is also good as is the Chinese next door to Tipsys. As the heading suggest there are a lot of steps but we hope to go back later in the year. And no we do not own here.

Room Tip: We had 63 which had a terrace and only got the sun late afternoon, try for a superior apartment with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again later this year. Indeed the area of Los Gigantes is hilly and steep in places. El Marques itself does have steps but lifts are available to the apartments in the towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We travel to Tenerife twice yearly since 2002 and always stay at El Marques. The resort is clean, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable for adults and children of all ages. The villas are clean and all the staff are polite and friendly. The beach is clean and has easy access, there are local shops or you can travel to Los Cristianos, Las Americas etc by local bus. If you are stuck for holiday ideas you should definately consider giving it a try. The restaurant is excellent too with a good variety of food to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again during 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

El Marques is located in the resort of Los Gigantes, on the western coast of Tenerife; it is l within easy walking distance of the center although there is a steep hill [known alarmingly as "Cardiac Hill"] there and back [actually if you that might be an issue for you, simply walk on the level across the road from the complex to a mall with all kinds of shops and restaurants].
My wife and I stayed here in January 2012 and found the apartments to be clean, bright, well-appointed and modern; most have good-sized balconies with fantastic sea-views westwards to the island of La Gomera. Our apartment had all the kitchen etc equipment you might reasonably need [including, yes - eggcups!] and are well furnished. There was a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and an easy-to-use DVD player [which will accept English DVDs].The balconies have chairs, sun-loungers and a plastic clothes horse.
We liked the 'pool area very much; the 'pool itself is modern, well-maintained and clean and big enough to get a good swim up and down in; it is guarded all the time; there are no petty rules, with the only caveats being no diving and no inflatables outside of set times. One thing we really did appreciate was that there was no piped music around the 'pool area - bliss!!
The bar is open all day and in the evening and serves a set lunch [usually something like paella with half a jug of sangria for around 6 euros] as well as dinners in the evening. Most evenings there was entertainment which, if sometimes a bit corny, we found to be quite a laugh.
The staff were helpful and friendly without being overbearing and we gained the impression that the whole place was managed in an unobtrusively efficient and professional manner.
To the rear of the complex is a very handy and well-stocked supermarket with all essentials, including fresh [ie not UHT] milk. Going down the hill into Los Gigantes we found a good selection of places to eat and drink, including an amazing Chinese restaurant just past the bus stop which does a four-course evening set menu for two people, including a bottle of very good white wine, for a total of 23 euros!! Yes, you read that right: that's 11.50 euros per person!! I forget the name of the restaraunt but don't miss it!! Los Gigantes is not too big and really nice for a night out; the harbor is pleasant and lined with little restaurants [try Rincon de Antonio at the far end if you like fish].
We had a really good week at El Marques and would recommend it to anyone. We had great weather [hot and sunny] and we didn't do a lot - just relaxed by the 'pool in the sun. We have been to Tenerife before and would strongly recommend getting out and about and exploring the island; it has some of the best hiking country anywhere I've been and ranges from parched semidesert through misty pine forest to snowfields. It also has some great surfing spots along the north coast if that is your thing.

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the ground floor, that way you'll get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you found the El Marques apartments and facilities to be of the high standard that we strive for and had an enjoyable holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spacious room, view to see from our room. Clean and quiet place. Rooms cleaned ones during the week. Pool towels could be changed only once per week. You need to pay deposit of the towels, safe key, send key to room. Pay use of PC for Internet. WLAN does not work in rooms. Pool area looks better in the picture, we did not find it comfortable. Restaurant food for on Christmas eve dinner ok by selection, less ok by quality, service no-pro. Not extra facilities like fitness etc. Resort is ok basic clean resort, but definitely not gold crown resort level. Resort looks quite nice, we felt comfortable enough there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at El Marques, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and that you found the accommodation spacious and view a good view. El Marques does not have gym facilities but for those guests who have the need for additional exercise during their holiday there are facilties nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Marques

Address: El Gurugu, 38670, Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury apartments at El Marques are superbly positioned near the scenic village of Los Gigantes, providing the perfect setting for your dream holiday with WimPen Leisure.Both the one and two bedroomed apartments are tastefully furnished and expensively fitted with everything you could possibly need, from casserole dishes to washing machines, and all have satellite television. Most have balconies from which you can watch the glorious sunsets over the island of La Gomera.The heated pool, with its safe bathing area for children and ample sun loungers, is shaded by coconut palms. The poolside bar provides snacks and drinks, and the popular resort restaurant is open each evening ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Marques Hotel Los Gigantes
El Marques Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Marques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Marques to your Saves list