We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Colonial Parque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Apartments Colonial Parque to your Saves list
Apartments Colonial Parque
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Maritima 73, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chill heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for the month of January here and we're going back next January, it's very reasonable and as for the utility's they were ideal, I don't think I've ever slept so well or come home so happy and relaxed. The lady Lillian was very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble our transfers were excellent, I would most definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I would recommend those apartments for people with a low needs. The apartments are quite clean, despite they're cleaned only once a week. The beds are really uncomfortable, and the bedding especially plaid are old enough and worn.
The kitchen is ok for those, who are not planning to cook much. Because there's too less dishes and crockery.
The bathroom is quite old and uncomfortable. The bath is with rust and that puts off from long bathing.
The hairdryer in our room didn't work, but when we knew how much we paid for those apartments it was not a big problem :)
The terrace was really nice and the view was awesome.
The place is ok for those, who are with a car, because it's quite far from beach and from the bigger city, so you need to go far to the shop or any dining place. The local beach in Los Gigantes was also not really nice, so we were going to puerto santiago beach every day which is too far to go by foot.
I couldn't say that the place of the apartments is very quit, but it's really not too laudy. Sometimes there comes a tourist buses, but it's not the problem.
I forgot to mention that there was some problem with electricity, because sometimes the lapms and the ventilators switched on by themselves.
Collectively i would recommend those apartments not expecting anything special. You get that, what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Santiago, Canarias, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Knowing how much you pay to stay in Colonial Parque ( or how much I did) I laugh at anyone who dares to complain. Paying less for the whole month of September than my monthly rent was in the UK, the place was clean, maybe a little run down ( especially solarium) but more than adequate for our needs. As we were there in low season, Lilian ( the mysterious lady who is never there according to a comment further down) was indeed only there on Mondays. She explained that there was not enough work in low season for her to be there everyday, and left us her number to call if need be. Her phone number, as well as at least one more emergency one were posted on the door of reception for all too see. She was indeed also extremely friendly and pleasant.
The apartment would have benefited from a larger cooker and a better fridge, but the latter of these problems came from the shere temperatures experienced in the days we were there. Yes, it was hot in the apartment, but you cannot have everything ( if you want the views of the sunset, then you get the heat of the sun too)
This block was not at all noisy ( as is suggested by another unhappy visitor) In fact, we were the only ones using the swimming pool on several occasions. Yes, the pool is small, but quite sufficient for the size of the apartment block.
Looking on the letter boxes downstairs, yes it did seem that at least half the owners were british, but didnt catch anyone pretending to "own the building" as is stated below. In fact, we found our neighbors friendly and spoke to them frequently
Used the apartment as a base whilst job hunting and house hunting, so did not infact stay the whole month, but moved into our permanent home 2 weeks later.
All in all, you get what you pay for, and with views to die for and a stunning resort all round, you cannot complain.
On a final note..totally unsuitable for disabled, wheel chair users, or parents with small children in buggies..as it is on the top of a cliff!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is high up..you will get better views and less noise from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the heading says it all - o
however the second time there was dissapointing - we were in a different apartmnent with a small balcony and not much space. It is a very tired complex but prices its apartments to a stage that if you browse other websites you will get a much more comfortable apartment but maybe without the spectatular views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My mother has had an apartment in this complex for a number of years.She absolutely adores the place and for some reason I have only just got round to having a week there! So what did me and my girl think of it? ( we had a child free week for the 1st time! yippee!)

los gigantes itself takes about 45 mins to an hour from the airport but its a nice ride along some of the coast.

These apartments are mainly residential or privately owned.They are situated right at the back and at the start of the resort. Obviously been my mums apartment it had all the home comforts and it was really nice. The complex itself is very well kept and the views you get with been right up the top of the resort are spectacular. The complex is on a bit of a main road and I suppose there is a bit of traffic throughout the day but we didn't think it was that bad.The swimming pool was great.Peaceful and a real oasis.Again the view! Sunbeds are plentiful.

Ok the resort and surrounding areas. There is an Italian restaurant just outside the complex. We had a takeaway pizza one night and it was not good at all and put us off having a meal there to be honest.Although it seemed popular with the locals.Cross the road directly outside the apartments you come to a path wich zig zags down the bank and into los gigantes.Its ok to walk down but we always caught a taxi back which was only 4 euros. Los gigantes itself is wonderful. You do feel as if you are really experiencing Spain.The square being a focal point with some really nice resturants and tavernas.Sitting outside with a nice glass of rioja watching the world go by just says it all really.There are plenty of british pubs with entertainment and sports on if that's what you require.Prices are reasonable and we found we could have a very nice 3 course meal for 2 with a few drinks for about 40 euros. You could get lager in plenty of places for 2 euros! In paddys Irish bar they do awesome cocktails for 5 euros. Try the pina colada!. So, nigh time wise its perfect for familes and couples but I wouldn't recommend for younger people out to give it large.

One thing that Los gigantes does not have is a decent beach.Apparently there is a tiny one some where but we never found it. If you want the beach you have to go to the next resort , Playa de arena , this is a 5 min taxi ride (5 euros) or a good half hour walk.Playa de arena itself is very good with plenty of places to eat shop and drink!.Back to Los Gigantes, the main harbour at the bottom is very busy and full of activities from whale watching to jet skiing.Again along the harbour front there are numerous places to eat and drink.

3 days out of the 7 we spent the day at "oasis swimming" which is situated by the harbour and right next to the sea in an elevated position.It is open to the public and as the name suggests is an oasis.A lovely clear blue pool with slides for the kids,a bar (very cheap beer!) and a restaurant which does a superb paella for 6 euros.The poolside area is clean and surrounded by palm trees and soft grass. Its free to get in but you have to hire sunbeds and parasol which cost us 10 euros each time.Well worth it and we had 3 very relaxing days.

Try the flipper uno boat.20 euros each 3 hours whale and dolphin watching and food and drink! Ive done a detailed review of this aswell.

So all in all a nice relaxing holiday and would definetly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in February.

PROS:
Nice view
Good location

CONS:
Big noise from the street which is quite intensive, lots of BUSes passing buy
Reception is hardly ever working
Not very convienent with small children
No air condition which could be big disadvantage during hot days

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Los Gigantes is a lovely quaint, small town, with a harbour, church, town square and enough bars and decent restaurants to cater for anyone looking for anything other than the Las Americas/Los Christianos experience. If you are looking for activity, you will also be able to find enough to occupy you: Whale watching; jet skiing; walking (from Masca); Kayaking; Trip to Teide, etc.

The Colonial Parque is situated on the cusp of Los Gigantes and Puerto Santiago at the top of the towns and as such has fantastic views down to both, out to sea and across to La Gomera. La Palma can also be seen on clearer days.
BE WARNED – These views are only unhindered if you are on the 5th floor or above!
Note: There are no rooms at street/ground level, only an Italian restaurant and a beauty shop, either side of the steps to reception. ‘Reception’ is on the 1st floor, along with a number of rooms. The lift starts on the 2nd floor of the apartments, but is not difficult to access. It only goes to 6th floor.

Colonial Parque is not all it’s cracked up to be; a few couples we spoke to while we were there, were less than pleased with this accommodation.
It is a combination of residential apartments where locals live and privately own apartments, used as holiday lettings. Despite who you book your trip with, the lettings seem to be managed by a lady called ‘Lillian’.
There is an office inside the front door which is classed as a reception, but it is not 24hr.
We stayed for a week, 21 – 28 Jan 2012, for an early blast of winter warmth. I booked through Travel Republic on the strength of comments on their site, but also on the 2 reviews on tripadvisor, relating to the views of La Gomera, sunsets, large balcony with sun loungers, table/chairs etc.
Our room (51) on the 2nd floor (lift level 1) had no view to speak of. We could see the sea through the eucalyptus trees, but certainly not La Gomera, which is blocked by a large hotel further down the hill in Puerto Santiago. (See photos). This level of accommodation is completely enclosed and covered by the balcony above, only catching the sun late in the day, as it drops and begins to set.
Colonial Parque is located at a junction, which is the main turn for the one way road into Los Gigantes. As such, all manner of traffic going to the town has to use it. This includes buses/coaches and Lorries. Many of the vehicles get confused by the turning and there were frequent blasts of vehicle horns.
There is also a viewing point (mirador) at this junction, which seems to be included as a stopping off point for coach trips/tours. The driver will stop on the road-side at the junction (which often confuses other vehicles) and all the passengers will get off, take photos across Los Gigantes and then get back on. The driver will very rarely turn the coach engine off, while the passengers spend approximately 10 minutes at the mirador. This wouldn’t be too bad if it was just a few coaches a day, but on one day I counted over 10 before 1000 hrs. This ‘stop-off’ seems to be on the morning route after pick up in town, but also later in the day when coaches arrive from other towns & resorts on the island, to visit Los Gigantes.
The rooms were ok, but having seen other rooms, the standard seems to vary, as many are privately owned. Ours had very narrow twin beds, with mattresses that rustled. The couple directly below, had a pine double bed, with much better bedding. The bathroom was dated, but ok; kitchen/diner was ok with reasonable furniture and equipment. There were no glasses, so we had to buy some. Our room did not have a safe, despite what I read on travel republic.
There is a small pool near the top of the building which had sun loungers and a roof terrace at the very top, again with some loungers. Both of these are available to use, but the lift only goes to level 6. The views from here are fantastic and the traffic noise level reduces the higher you go. When on the roof terrace, you can see another viewpoint (mirador) which is situated slightly higher and behind the building, offset to one side on the road out of town. This has a café and you can be seen by those stopping there, although this was not really intrusive.
If you go for the Colonial Parque, then I advise you specify a room at level 5 or above. The traffic noise reduces the higher you go, you will have a better view and a guaranteed larger ‘exposed’ balcony with table, chairs and loungers.
All bars, restaurants and entertainment in both Los Gigantes and Puerto Santiago are downhill from the Colonial Parque. This is a 10-15 min walk on a reasonable gradient, with some steeper sections on the turns. This is not too arduous, but is dependent on your fitness and mobility levels.
If you’re ok with this, the walk into Los Gigantes is actually quite pleasant. Less so, to Puerto Santiago.
We hope this helps.

Room Tip: If you go for the Colonial Parque, then I advise you specify a room at level 5 or above. The traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Colonial Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Colonial Parque

Address: Avenida Maritima 73, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Los Gigantes
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartments Colonial Parque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments Colonial Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Colonial Parque Hotel Los Gigantes
Apartments Colonial Parque Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Colonial Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.