We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and rundown apartments” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Poblado Marinero

Save Saved
You added Apartamentos Poblado Marinero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Los Guios s/n | Poblado Marinero, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
near Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old and rundown apartments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 when we were transferred at the time of the ash cloud in Iceland. I don't know if it was because we had previously been at a hotel in Costa Adeje, but I really didn't rate these apartments. Okay they are large - but so rundown. There is no pool actually on the complex - you have to cross over the road to get to it, but you have to pay for umbrellas and sun beds. The beach was closed due to the landslide where people had been killed the year before. So no beach at all. Thought it was a strange resort- okay the cliffs looked beautiful but just couldn't take to it. There were cockroaches also in the rooms , my son had to help a young mum get rid of some in her apartment! The furniture was old and the kitchen and bathroom shabby- I suppose it was clean but old and sort of depressing ! The town itself was also nothing to write home about. Frankly I'd spend money elsewhere on the island!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    19
    17
    11
See reviews for
36
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Thinga were broken in the room. Has booked a double room, arrives to a twin room and was told the hotel does not have double rooms. Manager was very rude and argumentative. Was told there was wifi through out hotel but could only use it in reception. Swimming pool was not in the hotel complex as advertised but across the road and only open for very limited times. Massively overpriced!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you get an apartment with seaviews, you will be also admiring the Acantilados (cliffs) which are breathtaking. Also, because of being in the west part of the island, you will see the sunset every night, which is quite spectacular here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

They rent self catering apartments overlooking the mariner and cliffs of Los Gigantes. I have been their several times. Recommend you sellect sea view if thats what you would like to see from your balcony. otherwise you will overlook a court yard, cliff face or even a wall of adjacent accomodation. Their is a swiming and eating area across the road that you are issued a free entry pass for on checking in. Reception area has coin operated internet, pool tables & a TV. Their are restaurants and bars close by that provide entertainment. There are 2 supper markets close by. Los Gigantes is a much less commercialised and nicer place than Los Americas.

Room Tip: Opt for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Visited again here at the apartments run by losgigantesdirect.com and had the same chosen 2 bedroom apartment at the end overlooking the Marina and work area of the Marina. This meant we never tired of watching all of the goings one with the boats and the maintenance of them.

People write of the complex in some disapointment but they should know that "you get what you pay for" and undoubtedly the Hotel has some cheap rooms, .....for just a small extra payment you can sit in a starred apartment (described even as "stunning" ) with everything in there you good possibly require,

The complex and marina area it is old but is Los Gigantes so, as said, if you try to pay nothing you get nothing so perhaps people will note and heed this and return pleased and content instead of disapointment and more importantly worry before going.

Our transfers were arranged and a basic food and water pack left in the fridge so we were quickly able to dump our bags to get to the bars and restaurants below without any worry ..... cannot wait to go again ... and re-booking now as it feels like going to another home in Los Gigantes.

Good luck and happy times to those following us in, wish it was us.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a private apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were booked into Poblado Marinero by Travel Agents Bookableholidays.com. They also booked the flights and Airport transfer arrangements. All worked perfectly.
We were advised to request a seaview apartment when we arrived, which we did.
The lady receptionist was terse but efficient. The male receptionist we met later was much more approachable and helpful.
Room 253 was allocated (for 10 Euros extra per night) and it was perfect. The apartment consisted of a bedroom, bath/shower etc., kitchen, large lounge and good-sized balcony. It was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view over the marina and the bay.
We had 3 x changes of towels during our week.
Eating in Los Gigantes was a pleasure. There were so many good places, it was a job to fit them all in during our stay.
Favourites were; Restaurant Asturias in the church square plus the bakery alongside for morning coffee, La Bodiguita and the strangely-named Tipsy Terrace.
A sea trip on the yellow powerboat 'Ocean Explorer' to see the pilot whales was a wonderful experience.
The coastal walk to Playa de la Arena is worth making.
Based on some of the comments we've read and heard from others, our expectations were not high. What a nice surprise to find that our experiences exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the sea-views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week - the accommodation was poor, although probably wouldn't of been so bad for a one or two nights. The complex is very run down, and Room 144 was not suitable to stay in, it was shabby to say the least, and there is a problem with some sort of wood lice which crawl constantly between the skirting boards and other areas of wood. Several of these insects were found whil preparing food on the wooden work top between the kitchen and lounge. The bathroom also had the same problem with insects, even though it was tiled and we also had the problem of sewage coming up into the toilet - I assume from other apartments, the smell was not pleasant. This was a real shame as the location couldn't of been better - quite breath taking, although the view from the balcony was spoilt by the damaged and dirty area below our view of broken tiles and peoples rubbish that had not been cleared. The kitchen was in a poor state of repair and we didnt like to put too much in the cupboards incase the creepy crawlies got in it.
Having said allof this I couldnt fault the staff, and the lovely maid that kept us in clean towels etc.
The transfer service from the airport was horrendous and would not recommend anyone paying for the coach service - no air con, full of engine fumes and took two and half hours instead of 90 minutes for the transfer, we had to pay 50 Euros on the way back to the airport as we could not face getting back onto the coach. The Lido area across the road from Poblado Marinero was a real bonus for us and to be able to sit in the lovely clean area was a pleasure. I would recommend the first restaurant on the corner by the Mariner 'El Ancla' food was fantastic, infact most of the restaurants in the area were good, very high standard in general.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos Poblado Marinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Poblado Marinero

Address: C/Los Guios s/n | Poblado Marinero, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Poblado Marinero 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, welcoming and just a short walk to the resort centre, the Poblado Marinero Apartments are an ideal base from which to enjoy your surroundings. In fact, staying here is all about location. Not only are you just 100 metres from resort, but closer still you’ll find the nearest shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Apartamentos Poblado Marinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Tenerife
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Hotel Tenerife
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Poblado Marinero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.