We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sun Resort to your Saves list
Royal Sun Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Greeted on arrival with a cocktail set the scene for a brilliant week. We hired a car and easily found the hotel, our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Large bedroom, massive bathroom and fully equipped kitchenette, we were two friends and one of us slept on the sofabed when we realised how comfy it was. The balcony was also huge with great views. The staff were all really, really friendly and made our holiday. The pool is beautiful and not busy, food in the pool bar was reasonably priced and generous. The little shop was extortionate, don't use it (if you have a car, head out of town towards the airport, really nice supermarket about a mile away). We were B&B and breakfast set us up for the day, amazing poached eggs (other eggs also available!), fabulous staff and delicious pastries! We walked down to town and got a taxi back everytime - 3.5 euros well spent, though you could totally do it if you aren't as lazy as us. I really can't overstate how great the staff were. We may well go back (and I'm one for believing there are so many places in the world you shouldn't go anywhere twice).

Room Tip: I think they all have sea views, not sure you could get it wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Royal Sun Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for you next stay in Tenerife.

Sincerely,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    125
    25
    3
    10
See reviews for
107
195
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Royal Sun end of Sept./ first week of Oct. after viewing it the previous March when staying at another hotel in Los G. We had a lovely apartment, with a fabulous terrace, comprising of bedroom, bathroom and dining, living kitchen. However, the bathroom could do with updating- enormous circular bath with shower over it that flooded the floor. We solved this problem with a rolled up towel placed strategically. Air conditioning needs to be installed as it was very hot at night.
The hotel was immaculate and the cleaning was of a high standard both in the apartment and in the public areas. Linen and towels were changed frequently.
The breakfasts were good with a cold and hot menu. Loved the basket of mixed croissants. The coffee was good and all of this was waiter service , except for the cold buffet.
Had dinner a few times and can recommend the fillet steak and the tuna. There was also a dessert called bienmesabe-a delicious alternative to other hotels' crime caramel! It was delightful to eat al fresco with a stunning view of Gomera in the distance. Waiter service as well.
The hotel is located high above the village and can be accessed by car or by a steep walk from the village. We believe there is now a courtesy bus but it was not available when we were there. A taxi was 3 euros ish.
The hotel is international with a good proportion of visitors being Russian.
Would we visit again? Yes,a different experience from the other hotel we have stayed in for years,
But please install air con.

Room Tip: Only top floor has air con I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest

It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions. We will be very glad seeing you next time you come.

My sincere regards
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just returned from a week over Christmas. Firstly, the good. The view from the hotel is awesome and the balcony is big enough to hold a cocktail party on with 2 sunbeds and a table and 4 chairs. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a 1 bed apartment which was huge and clean but a bit dated. It had it's own kitchen with oven, microwave, dishwasher and fridge (although the fridge was definitely under temperature which was a bit worrying). Iron, ironing board and a hairdryer in the bathroom. It had a large television and we found how to change the language into English on some films on the remote which was handy. We had asked for twin beds but had been given a double bed but it was large enough not to be a problem. Now the bad. The bathroom had a large corner bath with a tiled surround and trying to get in and out without slipping was a work of art. Do not go to this hotel if you are elderly or infirm!! These bathrooms are an accident waiting to happen. The bedroom seemed a bit pongy with a smell like a lot of hot sweaty bodies had slept there. We never had a change of bedlinen in the week we were there which I think is a poor show for a 4* hotel. Also they seem to allow smoking at breakfast which wasn't pleasant. And finally the ugly. The food was absolutely awful! We had booked half board and everything was served lukewarm or cold. The coffee at breakfast was disgusting so we tried the tea which tasted like sweepings off the floor. We only stood it for half the week then we self catered as we couldn't face the food anymore. Fab balcony and views and we had beautiful weather but won't be going there again.

Room Tip: High floors are better as not so overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest

We deeply thank you, as well as many other people, for taking some of your time to write your comments about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Needless to say, that they are of great importance to us, since they help us to set new strategies which allow us to prevent inconveniences to future clients.
We are truly sorry for all the inconveniences you had during your stay with us and for that we offer you our apologies. You can consider our hotel as your home in Tenerife and we would to have you here again and in that way to have another opportunity to do whatever it is in our hands to fully satisfy you and with that we highlight the image of our hotel.

Sincerely
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came to this hotel just before Christmas, had a great time, Just had 4 days to enjoy Los Gigantes and wanted a room with a view. I wasn't disappointed.

The balcony patio was spacious, the room was spotless with a sunken bath and Large flat screen TV (although the only English channels were RTV & BBC). The kitchen equipment worked...maybe it's just me, but it matters!! There is a private hotel supermarket with reasonably/competitively priced food and drink. The hotel/Rooms are rated at 4 star but I've been in worse 4/5 star establishments.

If you want a quiet less commercialised holiday and like views then this is the hotel for you. The hill was a challenge but there is a free taxi on from 9 to about 6.

This hotel caters for all nationalities but noticed a large Russian contingent for which I had no problems with. All the staff spoke English and were very courteous, especially the restaurant staff.

I love photography and have some excellent pictures of Los Gigantes to remember the experience. Thanks Royal Sun, Just the Tonic!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the sea so I can't see any problem. Maybe a one not quite as close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your comments. It is very nice to know yours expectations were fulfilled and that you enjoyed your stay among us. Hope to see you here once again. You can consider our hotel as your home in Tenerife.

Best regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel lived up to the excellent reviews. We loved the location, right at the top of the resort. Balcony views were great. We had no problem with the short walk down and back up to the hotel and didn't use a taxi once.

The privacy of the balcony and the views were what made the hotel perfect for us. The apartments were spacious and well stocked and cleaned most days in our 7 day stay.

Free wifi was a plus although did go down for most of one day. Staff seemed friendly but we didn't try the restaurant as we preferred the walk into the town/village.

Nothing more to add to the other reviews. We did hire the hotel towels for 20 euros which was refunded at the end of the holiday. We didn't choose to hire the safe in the end.

We never go back to the same place twice but would make an exception for this hotel as it was such good value for money if you like privacy, quietness and time to relax away from the hustle of the resort centre but close enough to access if required.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear guest

It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions. We will be very glad seeing you next time you come.

My sincere regards
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had high expectations after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. These apartments are absolutely gorgeous - fabulous large balconies - all with stunning views of the sea and cliffs at Los Gigantes - all with sunbeds and table and chairs. The balconies get the sun all day - so good and the pool is absolutely beautiful - really clean, nicely finished, never crowded. Food and drinks by the pool cheap and tasty. did not eat in the restaurant as enjoyed venturing into town - would definitely recommend La Boguitea - ate there four times in a row !
It is a ten min walk into town and there are free buses down and only 3 euros to get back. shop at the hotel is very reasonable and super dino supermarket absolute bargain.
Very relaxing holiday - apartment has everything you need - dishwasher - a HUGE bath sooo good, large tv -bring an hdmi cable to watch your own films etc. free wifi what more can I say. Plenty to do - the Flipper Uno trip was brillinat - saw dolphins and the Ocean Explorer was great for pilot whales but please do not go to Loro Parc or the Dolphiniarium as they are terribly cruel and it si so much better to see these animals in thee natural environment. Loro Parc should be banned it is disgusting to keep Orca and dolphins in captivity - watch Black Fish for more info. Have a lovely holiday.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for yours comments. We always appreciate comments as your and above all to know that we met the expectations of our clients.
That is our main goal and the best reward to our every day effort.
You can consider our hotel as your home in Tenerife.
It will be very nice to meet you here on your next visit.

Best regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Following an excellent week's holiday here in July we booked for 3 weeks in November and noticed the same very high standards are maintained whatever the season. Large, well equipped apartments, with stunning sea and harbour views, come as standard. The pool area was comfortably spacious with plenty of sun beds for everyone; in addition every room has a large balcony with its own sun beds. We found all the staff (restaurant, pool, reception, mini market, room attendants) extremely helpful and efficient and clearly take great pride and satisfaction in their work. Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice, and the staff provided a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We have no hesitation whatsoever in unreservedly recommending this hotel - many thanks to all.

Room Tip: All rooms have large balconies and beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.