We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Sun Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Sun Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here with a large group of friends for 4 nights in March. We all descended at once so felt a bit sorry for the reception staff but they soon had us all in our rooms. Apartments are huge with everything you need with great views of Los Gigantes from the large balcony. The sunloungers are large and comfortable but the pool was cold - a good wake- up/ hangover cure!! Staff are friendly and really helpful. The town is a short pretty walk away but only a 4 euro taxi ride if you don't want the uphill walk back. If you're thinking of visiting the area then I would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    80
    16
    2
    9
See reviews for
72
150
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came here with a large family 6 altogether, and stayed in a luxury 3 bed apartment.
The balcony is big enough to play football on ;) and two Hugh bathrooms, sofas and flat screen television.
The staff especially the bar men are great they are fun and can't help you enough, I recommend this hotel for all the above and the price was more than reasonable.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

just got back from a week in los gigantes where we stayed at the royal sun,the apts were large and had a large terrace with sunbeds,table and chairs and retracting sun canopy,there was everything in the apt for the self catering holidaymaker from coffee maker to iron and ironing board.the staff,food and cleanliness were all impecable,they just couldn,t do enough for you and every requirement was met gladly,and on top of that they gave you 2 free taxis per day,couldn,t complain about anything,had a really great time,thanks royal sun,it was a pleasure and the pleasure was all ours

Room Tip: all rooms have incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filipstad, Värmlands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we had to pay for wifi that did NOT work in the hotelroom. and no warning about it!!!!! only in the lobby or at the pool/restaurant. 14€ for 7 days. thats much for someting that did not work. when we asked in the reception they only said that the signal goes up and down. the restaurant never listen to what we did order. it was wrong food everytime. only good thing was the free taxi down to "town" i really liked the receptionists , but not the guy. he was not pleasant!!! the cleaning in the room was okey. different all the time. sometimes they didnt clean the floor. the pool was okey. but it wasnt so fun that you always needed a taxi to go anywhere. next time i will choose another hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Before travelling we checked that the pool was going to be heated. The hotel confirmed in writing that it was, but when we arrived it wasn't. The water was so cold we and our two children could not use it. We understood the hotel to be completely re-furbished, but only half of it was completed. The gym and squash court, although advertised as attractions were not actually there, or certainly not in use! The rooms are 3 Star at best, the bathroom smelt and the shower leaked. There was always a shortage of hot water, particularly if baths were required. The lock was missing from the main bedroom door which led directly to the balcony, therefore security was nil at this entry point. WI-FI was available (at an extra charge), but this did not work properly. The restaurant had a very limited menu and our final meal had to be sent back as the lasagne was frozen solid. We also had to pay extra for a hair-dryer and the TV remote control!
Do not expect a lie-in because there are 2 caged parrots on the restaurant terrace squarking for much of the time.
The hotel enjoys a good location with fantastic views from very large balconies, and the majority of the staff were friendly, but this is as far as "plus-points" go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2005

The Sun Royal apartments are well situated 5 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the town. The apartments are in a large complex and are generally well equipped and a good size . 2 large pools. Probably the classifaction of 3* is about right.A good base for a winter holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.