We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and simple place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Sombrero to your Saves list
El Sombrero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Maritima 28, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A quiet and simple place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have stayed at these apartments a few times now. Yes, the accommodation is a little dated but we have always found it to be very clean with generous sized apartments and in a good location in the heart of Los Gigantes. The area is quite hilly but there are pleasant walks over the cliffs to Puerto Santiago and beyond. The square near the church is a nice place to have a morning coffee and there are plenty of small supermarkets which stock everything you need.
The down side is that the beach is very small and the nearby cliffs keep the sun off it at certain times of the day. There are a variety of restaurants in the village-enough to keep you busy for 1 week but probably not 2. It is a lovely place for couples who like a peaceful break, but I wouldn't imagine that teenagers would be impressed!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    122
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
176
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Or else..........dont. It's up to you. I was there in the first 2 weeks of May 2014, and it was Fab. I'm going back to the area in Aug/Sept for 2 weeks, but I'm staying self catering (again) about half a mile away in P Santiago (cos it was a bit cheaper - I hope the coastal pathway is open this time)
It's great to be in the town of Los Gigantes, knowing your accom is only 5 mins walk away. I was very happy with the apartments, in general. Minor,minor, minor gripes - a psychotic, noisy finch in a palm tree for much of my stay - I wish I'd had a water pistol to have some fun with it/ their Spanish Omlette, which was fine, but I expected it to be slightly bigger for the (low) price. Try their Sangria.
If you like a good steak, go to El Pozo in P Santaiago old town, up the hill across from the Post Office.
I feel very at home in this area!

Room Tip: All are next to the small main road & bus station (ha ha!). I'm ver pernickety about traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrived for an 11 day break and when we got to our room( No 32) we were a bit disappointed with the quality of it. A lot of modernisation is needed( electric wall sockets especially), and the furniture is pretty old. HOWEVER, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was spacious and immaculately clean. It was cleaned regularly by the hard working staff and by the end of our holiday, we were more than comfortable in it! The pool is big enough and clean but once kids got in, it became pretty noisy and busy and they need to enforce the no lilo/ball ban! The pool beds were plenty but were not adjustable and there was never any rush to get one. The gardens and paths around the apts were immaculate and the staff all friendly and helpful. The apts are literally seconds from the bus terminus and the buses run regularly. A short stroll takes you to a variety of bars and restaurants, all moderately priced. It was beginning to get REALLY hot by the time we left and busier and we would return, but not during school holidays!! The town itself is quite small and pretty quiet, which suited us and made it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed 10th to 20th June.
We did not arrive until 2:30am at the hotel but the staff were fantastic and as we just wanted to get us to our rooms with our 6 year old daughter. Room was amazing! We had a fantastic time here and will return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at El Sombrero. We were accompanied by our 10 year old grandaughter. We found the accomodation of a very good size, spotlessly clean ,and with an excellent daily cleaning service. The reception staff (particularly Juan ) could not have been more helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The pool was well presented and clean, in fact I had a hard job getting my grandaughtr out of it!
Location is no more than a 10 minute downhill stroll to the harbour. Los Gigantes itself is a pretty resort with many good bards and restaurants.
I will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

El Sombrero Appartments We stayed there for 2 weeks in July, it is Ideal for all ages with a nice sized swimming pool and also a pool for the Children, they have a small place on site where one can get cooked meals and drinks, the appartments are kept spotless by the hard working daily cleaners local shops and restaurants are within a few minutes walk, there is a small beach with black sand, it is the second time we have stayed there and highly recommend it. Los Gigantes is built on the side of a hill and the roads and paths in places are steep hard work for a person with a disability but on saying that if you take your time you should hopefully cope.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Childrens pool area and pool table are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Christmas 2010. Los Gigantes is a nice tranquile village. Totally different than Playa las Americas. We were lucky with our room. We had a view of the cliffs from the balcony. All in all recommended. Great value for the price you pay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sombrero

Address: Avda Maritima 28, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sombrero 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Sombrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sombrero Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
El Sombrero Hotel Los Gigantes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.