We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top nosh top people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CKs Bistro

CKs Bistro
Pasaje Jacaranda 2 | Down the Steps by Bamboo Bar, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
+34 687 71 63 80
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Dessert, British, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We specialise in fresh home cooked food
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Top nosh top people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We went on the first and last night, lovely staff very tasty food. Nice spot out side away from the wind too. Fair prices for the quality. By far the best with lots of choice and no tacky pictures outside. The sangria you could run a car on beware !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    59
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great british food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you want good british home cooked meals, this is the place to eat. Quiet and out of the way but a nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“cant understand the last reviewer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

the last reviewer must have been to a different CK's Bistro to the one I visit... I visit every chance I get and have never known them to do ''fried onions or lyonaise potatos'' also the reviewer must learn to ''spell check''... The potatoes always come with the steak [on the plate ]

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The food is fantastic. The welcome is very friendly. The staff are most accommodating. The atmosphere is lovely. Do you need any more?

Ok, how about the fact that, with prior arrangement, they will do their very best to make you any meal you like (if you're vegetarian, ask for the spinach and blue cheese lasagne).

We ate there 5 times in 11 nights, and can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“worst food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

went there for my birthday .the day before we went book a table asked guy in resturant what fish he was serving we looked at menu plenty of choice. on the nite we went asked for fish on menu we were told very busy all week no fish left. i had lamb shank my wife had steak we had arrived at resturant at 7 30 got meal at 8 50. when we did get meal it was one of worst meals we had in the month we were there in los gigantes, the steak was greasy the onions same tomatoe in mush , side order was laoise potatoes ,these were on plate swimming in grease it was sickening, my husband lamb shank was black and overcooked terrible, only for the wine coming first and unfortunate we opened it we would have walked out, such a nite !!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TenerifeSunset, Owner at CKs Bistro, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Whilst we appreciate all constructive criticism, we feel that in this instance this review does not reflect the quality or standards of our Restaurant. Under no circumstances would it be possible to serve Lamb black, due to the physical improbabilities, we actually do not serve Shanks, but oyster shoulders, it would take a minimum of 3 to 4 hours in the oven to turn it black, also our steaks have been rated the best due to the ageing and cooking process, which means they are finished with butter to ensure maximum flavour and moistness. With regard to Lyonnaise potatoes (which we also do not serve) again they are sauteéd in olive oil and butter for flavour and not finished with white wine vinegar and parsley as is the classic recipie for Lyonnaise. We hope this places this review in context.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CKs Bistro also viewed

Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 

Been to CKs Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CKs Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.