We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant revisited!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caprichosa

La Caprichosa
Cales Fonts, 44, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
+34 971366158
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 38 Restaurants in Es Castell
Restaurant details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A restaurant revisited!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We tried this restaurant some years ago and to be honest were not that impressed, however we decided to go again and try the menu del dia. It was excellent, grilled asparagus for started, followed by steak beautifully cooked exactly as I requested. A dessert plus bottle of wine and all for 15 euros each - you won't get much better value than that!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    11
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a chicken dish that was under cooked, made the mistake of asking for it to be cooked more, very abrupt "owner" needs to take some hospitality lessons .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Long Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

G&T, beef carpaccio , house rioja and great coffee made for a very relaxing lunch with great views. Ver popular at weekends with local people.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful meal do not eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in Es Castell, walked to Cales Fonts took 10 mins. Ate at this restaurant, it was awful. Lukewarm carrot cream soup, lamb shoulder was just warm and surprised at the veg which consisted of 2 slices of potato and 1 grilled tomato, what a rip off. Table next to us sent 2 meals back (cold food). Don't go near it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The worst in Cales Fonts”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Don't even try it. Our experience of the set meal was that having ordered the sole, swordfish arrived and when queried were told "yes I know, the chef got it wrong and I can't change it".
My entrecote arrived stone cold and was returned having been microwaved along with the soggy chips. I complained to the owner/manager who shrugged his shoulders and grabbed my credit card. Why i did not grab it back and refuse to pay remains one of my lifelong regrets!
There are lots of good restraurants in Cales Fonts, Lalola is the best value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caprichosa also viewed

 

Been to La Caprichosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caprichosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.