We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at es castell, bit disappointed with hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artiem Carlos III

Save Saved
You added Artiem Carlos III to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artiem Carlos III
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Carlos III 2-4, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Es Castell
East Lothian
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great week at es castell, bit disappointed with hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Third time in last four years we have been to es castell, first time at this hotel. We love menorca, es castell and espescially the adjoining fishing village cala fonts. We had a relaxing and very enjoyable week. We had really been looking forward to staying at the Rey Carlos having read the excellent reviews here. Initially we were not disapponted, great welcome, beautifully appointed room with panoramic view. The staff were uniformally polite and helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The food however was a disappointment, whether this was because it was the end of season but choice was not great and chicken nuggets being offered as a main meal at dinner is not what we would expect at a four star couples only hotel. It did look to us as the hotel was searching about in the back of the freezer to enable a menu of sort. Overall a good experience but the hotel really has to keep the standard of food up even in the last week or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    62
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
179
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had 9 nights in this wonderful hotel, which is in a lovely spot. Woke up each day to see Isle de Rey from the balcony - in fact I could even see it from my bed. The staff were all good and so helpful and the food was plentiful and well cooked. Lots of choice and fresh and hot. Hotel was convenient for buses to Mahon where you could catch one to other places on the island. Very relaxing time and intend to go again.

Room Tip: We had a sunset room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I LOVED this hotel! I'm usually more a fan of self catering accommodation than hotels as I find that they can be quite impersonal, but that was not at all the case at the Rey Carlos. The staff here were amazing. It was almost the end of the season and they must have been ready for their winter break, but they never let it show. We're not exactly difficult customers, but nothing was too much trouble. They always went out of their way to greet us and to ask about our stay. Facilities are much better suited to this hotel now being "Adults only". There are lots of lovely seating areas in both the shade and the sun, inside and out, and plenty of sunbeds available. We were on a bed and breakfast board basis. Breakfast is buffet style, but the choice was fantastic. There was fresh fruit, bread with jams, cheese and meats, a large selection of sweet and savoury pastries, cereals, 3 or 4 different types of bread, a large choice of cooked items, and omelettes/crepes cooked to order. We also ate here twice in the evenings from the buffet which was equally as delicious, and had an a la carte lunch of a delicious salad once during our stay. We charged these additional meals and quite a few drinks to our room and were astounded at how cheap the bill was at the end of our stay. I'd have had more if I'd known!! The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a fantastic shower. Towels are provided for use at the pool/beach. The hotel is on one edge of Es Castell, and we timed our walk from the hotel to the edge of Mahon harbour at 30 minutes, but the bus is easy and goes from a stop just 5 mins from the hotel. All in all a fantastic stay. I'd happily recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our room (332) had a "side Sea View", but this was not one where you have to really crane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing holiday- hotel rooms very good , staff very friendly, lovely setting , my only suggestion is that just because it is the end of the season they should still try to keep to the standards that they would have all year round , Ie choice of food was not the same, and lacked a little entertainment so I'm told , but on the whole I would recommend this hotel, and resort. X. Keep up the good work. Xxxxxxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic stay to celebrate my birthday the position of this hotel is stunning the views also breathtaking will be back again next time longer 3 days not long enough to experience the fantastic area. The cava went down very well at breakfast and watching the sun come up sat on the terrace enjoying a yummy brekie will keep me going through winter months.So thank you again to the staff for a lovely stay sharon michael

Room Tip: you have to have a sev view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week stay and we had a marvellous relaxing time at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we where greeted with friendly smiles and this continued all week, not one grumpy face . Reception staff lovely, restaurant staff very attentive and friendly . We where on the 3 rd floor and had a lovely view of the harbour. The rooms where spotless and had tea,coffee and even a carton of milk provided . Large walk in shower with rainfall shower. The hotel and resort was very quiet as it was end of season but no queues for meals or drinks. Short bus ride to Mahon if you want something a bit livelier. Will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room on 3rd floor with sunset view and still had lovely view of harbour. Got sun late after...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week of rest, relaxation and reading in September. Excellent find I have to say by him and would highly recommend this hotel - all the staff were of the highest quality nothing was ever too much trouble. Great to be able to be only 20 minutes or so from the airport!! Breakfasts were a feast and cater for absolutely all tastes and sets one up for the day! 1st visit to Menorca and will definitely will be returning - loved it!!

Room Tip: Would recommend one looking over the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artiem Carlos III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artiem Carlos III

Address: C/ Carlos III 2-4, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artiem Carlos III 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with great charm, completely renovated in 2012. Located in the historic harbour of Mahón in a prime waterfront position. Only a few minutes walk from the village shopping centre of Es Castell, and from Cales Fonts, a traditional small fishing harbour. The white sanded beaches of Punta Prima, Binibeca and Cala Mesquida are less than a 10km drive away.Rooms with panoramic views. Friendly and welcoming staff, always very much appreciated by regular clients, who are considered friends. Hotel for adults only who are seeking to explore the true, authentic Minorca while enjoying the comfort offered by a modern 4 star hotel. A wide range of food is served from the restaurant and terraces overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Artiem Carlos III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Carlos Iii Hotel Es Castell
Artiem Carlos III Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artiem Carlos III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.