We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verging on perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Joan De Binissaida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sant Joan De Binissaida to your Saves list
Sant Joan De Binissaida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami de Binissaida 108, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Verging on perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Menorca and spent three nights at Sant Joan De Binissaida. What a perfect place to escape to. The hotel is situated off one of the narrow country roads and has views over the surrounding countryside and the sea. The pool is spectacular and as the hotel only has 12 rooms, is never busy. The breakfast is a wonderful spread, and the lunch and dinners are delicious. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the Rossini Suite which was beautiful, comes with its own jacuzzi and has great views of the hotel grounds and the sea. But the best thing about the hotel is the staff. Harry the manager is super friendly and helpful and his colleague, Bea, is a wonderful asset to the hotel. Bea was there at breakfast and lunch and nothing was ever too much trouble. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a bit of downtime in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This utterly delightful hotel turned out to be even better than we had hoped for. It is beautifully situated and a peaceful haven to return to each evening. Rooms are well maintained and spotless as are all the public areas. There is a large and inviting pool and we enjoyed a light lunch in the pool area on several days. We ate only once at the hotel in the evening as we were joining friends elsewhere, but the meal we had was quite outstanding. Would not hesitate to recommend if you enjoy a small, peaceful hotel run to a very high standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beautiful wedding venue. Beautiful hotel. Fab food. A place to unwind and smell the fresh air.
We have a wedding booked for 2015 and exclusivity for 2 days. Harry is brilliant to deal with and very keen to make the event personal and special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSJB, Director General at Sant Joan De Binissaida, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Treb11,

Thank you so much for your review. We are really glad that you have chosen us for such an important celebration as a wedding is.

We all are looking forward to offer you a truly minorcan wedding experience, horses, local gin&lemon (AKA Pomada), fun, entertainment and so on...

We are certainly sure that'll be a really great day @ Binissaida

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for a lovely relaxing week at the end of May. We were in the Rossini suite which was spacious and well equipped. The position of the hotel lends itself to peacefulness. It was a pleasure to awake to views over the gardens across to the bay. The pool area was lovely, often we were the only ones enjoying the facilities.
We ate in the hotel several times at lunchtime where either a simple snack menu could be enjoyed or a more elaborate choice was available depending on your appetite.
Evening meals were exceptional , the menu isn't huge but is well balanced with a very good supporting wine list with some gorgeous Menorcan wines to boot.
The only downsides for me were the breakfasts which were a very simple affair and the pillows which were far too flat
Apart from that I would have no hesitation in recommending this Finca.
Special praise for Mauri and Rachel , lovely people .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSJB, Director General at Sant Joan De Binissaida, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Parkavenuefan,

Thank you so much for your review, we do appreciate it very much as it is the best way to improve our service day after day.

We would be really glad to welcoming you again at Sant Joan de Binissaida in the near future, and of course with an improved breakfast an a pillow menu.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we went for our 25th wedding anniversary long weekend (4 days) and it was fantastic. all staff from top to bottom were friendly and helpful. the setting is wonderful - a farm house, working farm and immaculately maintained. the food was all local and tasted delicious - we had breakfast every day including room service on our wedding anniversary plus dinner on our anniversary night - all excellent. You do need to hire a car as its in the country - but 10 mins from calla esfonse and mahon. can not recommend this place enough. plus have a massage too!

Room Tip: the room at the far end outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSJB, Director General at Sant Joan De Binissaida, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "nicksge",

Thank you so much for your great review. We are pretty sure that this will help us to welcoming even more tourists, and let people know a little piece of paradise in Menorca that is Binissaida.

We are all looking forward to receiving you again!!!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel for 4 nights 10th -14th May. Our first trip to Minorca, we decided to hire a car which I would recommend if you want to get out and about. The hotel has beautiful grounds which you can wander around and see the chickens and goats, or sit on your terrace and just relax. The restaurant is wonderful, the food cooked by professional chef who I believe is a local celebrity - and the service is excellent. Breakfast was delicious, a choice of cooked or continental, with mostly home made fare, yoghurt, jams and marmalade, tarts etc. The rooms are a good size with a good stocked bathroom and are very comfortable. The pool which we had to ourselves is a good size and very inviting. A small hotel where nothing is too much trouble, and everything to a very high standard. Definitely worth a second visit!
A very relaxing short break and a hotel we will definitely return too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSJB, Director General at Sant Joan De Binissaida, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We really appreciate your opinion and we are truly grateful that you shared your experience with us!

We are looking forward to host you once again during your next trip to Menorca. Sant Joan de Binissaida staff will be waiting for you!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Menorca and stayed in the Sant Joan De Binissaida we had a great week there. We did not hire a car because we just wanted to chill and had been to Menorca many times over the years It was a short taxi ride to Es Castell and Mahon but would recommend a car to anyone who wants to get out and about as the hotel is in a Rural location as is advertised before you visit . We stayed in one of the rooms with a terrace which was very comfortable and had everything you needed.
The food was excellent at the hotel, (thanks to the Chefs) We have now had to book into a Gym to run off the excessiveness of our eating the delicious temptations on offer, there was nothing we didn't like. Rooms are spotless and the staff are really friendly and helpful especially Maurti (hope this is the right spelling) who served us our meals every evening with such good humour and smiles, as did Rachel on the desk and Vivienne who cleaned our room and the young lady with the lovely blue eyes who looked after us at breakfast.This hotel has lovely grounds and the swimming pool area is fabulous and as it was very early in the season we had it to ourselves. This Hotel was so peaceful We thank you Harry for running a excellent Hotel, that we will remember for a long time. Fantastic We wish all the best and will be returning very soon RegardsJan and Mike Davies.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSJB, Director General at Sant Joan De Binissaida, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Jan & Mike,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our little special hotel. Your words give us even more strength to work harder in order to surpass our guests expectations and provide them a unforgettable experience in a so beautiful place like Menorca.

We would be really glad to welcome you back soon @ Sant Joan de Binissaida.

Best regards,

Sant Joan de Binissaida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant Joan De Binissaida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Joan De Binissaida

Address: Cami de Binissaida 108, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Family Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Joan De Binissaida 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sant Joan de Binissaida is a charming boutique hotel located in a XVIII century country house in the east of the island of Menorca, near the entrance to the port of Mahon. It has twelve bedrooms, a gourmet restaurant with its own vegetables garden, twelve acres of gardens and land, a large outdoor pool, kids play area, massage service, meeting room with fireplace and a beautiful venue for all kinds of events. Sant Joan de Binissaida is the ideal destination for people looking for a villa in menorca with charm and personality, lovers of rural tourism, tranquillity and tasty gastronomy, identified sustainable tourism and seeking a friendly and professional care.Sant Joan de Binissaida is a small hotel in Menorca. Its twelve cosy rooms are the ideal setting to enjoy a pleasant and restful sleep. They are all different, each with its own personality. The rooms are named after great composers, reflecting the owner's passion for opera. All enjoy beautiful views over the gardens or the sea. The two Suite Rooms are particularly beautiful: Suite Rossini, with its high ceilings and jacuzzi, and Suite Wagner, with its living room and a large private terrace with chillout area. Both have sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sant Joan De Binissaida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Joan De Binissaida Hotel Es Castell
Sant Joan De Binissaida Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Joan De Binissaida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.