We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Hamilton Menorca to your Saves list
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Agueda, 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
GreenLeadersGold level
devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our rowing team have just returned from an alternative break in the sunshine in El Castell. The Barcelo Hamilton exceeded all of our expectations. The weather was marvellous but so was the hotel and their staff. The hotel was very comfortable and the food was good - our ladies team were well looked after and particularly appreciated the lovely lady chef who cooked us a plate of fresh prawns and lovely treats in the restaurant. We also liked the sweet waitress who could not have been more friendly at breakfast time in the sun on the terrace. The head receptionist went the extra mile in organising transfers to the airport - again first class service!
I will be booking for a return trip with my husband in the Autumn and can't wait.

Room Tip: A sea view room is great and so interesting for ship watching.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good - the hotel uses local produce which makes for interesting eating.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    64
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
170
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel in the lovely town that is Es castell. The staff were friendly and efficient and could not be any nicer. There is a great buffet breakfast and also available for dinner. There is also a fabulous restaurant along the river as you exit the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
412 helpful votes 412 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

High Expectations - Huge Disappointment - A Case of Style over Substance.

When I booked a Junior Suite on the top floor of the Barceló Hamilton for our 38th wedding anniversary my expectations were pretty high and I was anticipating a luxury treat for my wife, but what did we get?

Rude Reception Staff
Slow Service at Reception - 30 Minute Wait
Broken Curtains
Broken Ventilation
Faulty Air Conditioning
Draughty Double Glazing

When you pay over £250 for one nights B&B, you expect a little bit of luxury.

The automatic curtains on the three patio windows didn't work and when I investigated I discovered that the electric motor had been removed. When I complained at reception, I was told that they were waiting for replacement parts, but if this was the case we should have been told when we booked in.

The Air Conditioning was switched off at the controler in the room and overridden by the hotel so we were stuck with cold air blowing when we could have done with warming the draughty room.

The ventilation wasn't working in the en-suite so odours spread throughout the open plan suite and lingered in the lounge area.

Positive Points - From our corner suite on the top floor of the hotel the view of Mahon harbour was breath taking and you are the first person in Spain to see the sunrise.

We had an excellent breakfast served by very friendly and efficient hospitality staff.

I complained at reception, e-mailed the manager and finally contacted the Head Office but customer service is not high on their list of priorities.

Unless you are using Tesco vouchers to pay for your room which most of the guests we spoke to were doing, give the Barceló Hamilton in Es Castell, Menorca a wide berth, there are a lot better hotels available at much lower prices.

* Please note from my other reviews that I rarely complain and much prefer to write 5 Star reviews for high quality hotels and restaurants.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stayed at this hotel during one week for our first trip to Menorca, the Hotel is beautiful, incredible view from the lobby area to the ocean (sadly we didn't get a room with see view, I would suggest to get one), the roof has also an outstanding view, at night it looks awesome with the Jacuzzis, good music and drinks. The food is really good, although is a buffer the quality is excellent and they make an effort to have variety of food (at least for dinner), the buffet restaurant has a grill so you can order at your preference fish, meat, chicken, vegetables, etc. All the staff is incredible friendly and very helpful. The room is comfortable to sleep, good mattress, pillows, good rest for a new fancy day in this beautiful Island. At night you can go walking to Es castell port, the place is brilliant, restaurants, shops, the sea view and boats. We didn't use the pool of the hotel, maybe the only weakness is that the pool is surrounded by the building so no view :( ... however all the beaches in Menorca are better than a pool in summer. It is true that most beaches are far from the hotel but because the island is very small, it won't take you more than 45min to get to the best beaches: escorxada, macaralleta, etc, in Menorca you need to rent a car.

Room Tip: I would suggest a sea view room, it worth the additional price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We visited this hotel in October 2014, although it was the end of the season the staff were helpful and friendly. I had read a couple of conflicting reviews, but if you want to get away to a quiet resort this is an ideal place. Lovely views across the harbour, excellent food served in the restaurant with plenty of choice, in fact we would go full board next time. If you do visit I can recommend a bottle of champagne on the roof terrace whilst sat in a jacuzzi, bliss.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Spent a week here in October. The hotel was excellent in every way. The room was by far the highest spec room we've been in while on these package deals. The food was good and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful and helped to make our holiday. The position of the hotel was excellent and we had a room with a harbour view so that was a bonus.
Delighted to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a superior harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Barceló Hamilton is a lovely hotel, what makes it so fabulous is the great location. It's set at the entrance of Mahon's harbour. You get to see all the ships coming in and out of the port. There is a fabulous roof terrace, which has sun loungers, jacuzzi pools and day beds.

To get a room with a sea view you need to pay extra. It's worth noting that while its great to have a fabulous view of the harbour - you don't get any sun on the balconies at the front of the hotel. So if you're looking for a sunny room book a room overlooking the pool at the rear of the hotel.

The rooms very stylish and modern. Having said that, they are on the small side and the shower and bathroom are in the bedroom! Probably not ideal if this is your first romantic get-away! The maid service is fantastic.

The only thing that lets the hotel down is the food. Breakfast was good, but the evening meals leave a lot to be desired. We booked half-board but only ate in the restaurant twice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Hamilton Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Address: Santa Agueda, 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Es Castell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#4 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Hamilton Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Hamilton Menorca**** hotel has been completely renovated turning it into a vanguard design hotel for adults only. Its privileged location overlooking the Bay of Mahon and its Urban Beach concept makes it the perfect choice for travel as a couple or for business trips. Our 155 rooms have been completely redesigned in-line with the new B-Roomconcept, adapting to the needs of even the most demanding clients. They stand out for being equipped with 180 cm wide bed, panoramic rain effect shower, LCD satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, room service... Among other features. The majority of rooms have balconies and there is free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. All this, as you enjoy enjoy incredible views of the sea. The hotel Barcelo Hamilton Menorca has a dividable room of 200 m², fully-equipped for Meetings and events with its own entrance from the outside. There is a noteworthy choice of Mediterranean and local cuisine at the different restaurants. In addition, enjoy the fabulous 360º views of Mahon from the sky bar while you enjoy one of the cocktails from our extensive range. 2 Outdoor swimming pools complete the facilities, one of them is heated and covered during the winter, sun terrace area, a flotarium,6 hot Tubs in the Sky Bar, a fantastic U-Wellness and fitness room. Discover the charm of the island of Menorca. Relax and enjoy a romantic getaway or holiday with your partner at the Barcelo Hamilton Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Hamilton Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hamilton Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Es Castell
Barcelo Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.