We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Hamilton Menorca to your Saves list
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Agueda 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Discount
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel in October 2014, although it was the end of the season the staff were helpful and friendly. I had read a couple of conflicting reviews, but if you want to get away to a quiet resort this is an ideal place. Lovely views across the harbour, excellent food served in the restaurant with plenty of choice, in fact we would go full board next time. If you do visit I can recommend a bottle of champagne on the roof terrace whilst sat in a jacuzzi, bliss.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    63
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
8
164
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Spent a week here in October. The hotel was excellent in every way. The room was by far the highest spec room we've been in while on these package deals. The food was good and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful and helped to make our holiday. The position of the hotel was excellent and we had a room with a harbour view so that was a bonus.
Delighted to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a superior harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Barceló Hamilton is a lovely hotel, what makes it so fabulous is the great location. It's set at the entrance of Mahon's harbour. You get to see all the ships coming in and out of the port. There is a fabulous roof terrace, which has sun loungers, jacuzzi pools and day beds.

To get a room with a sea view you need to pay extra. It's worth noting that while its great to have a fabulous view of the harbour - you don't get any sun on the balconies at the front of the hotel. So if you're looking for a sunny room book a room overlooking the pool at the rear of the hotel.

The rooms very stylish and modern. Having said that, they are on the small side and the shower and bathroom are in the bedroom! Probably not ideal if this is your first romantic get-away! The maid service is fantastic.

The only thing that lets the hotel down is the food. Breakfast was good, but the evening meals leave a lot to be desired. We booked half-board but only ate in the restaurant twice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had high expectations of this hotel from the reviews given in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We had not visited Menorca before, but still did not plan to sightsee much, as this was a much needed relaxation holiday. We fell in love with the location, the hotel etc, and plan to return to the hotel next year, and see a bit more of the island.

Would recommend getting a taxi from the airport as it is only 17 euros and is direct, the 10-15 minute transfer took 30 mins with all the drop offs and much longer going back. We will not use the coaches again, just direct taxis.

We arrived to a fast, efficient and friendly check in – the only negative we could see here is for a hotel of this calibre there is no luggage portage - not a big issue as there were lifts and the room was not hard to find, just nice to have help with cases and to orient people to rooms with hotels of this ilk. Yes there is a fee for a room safe, which is 5 euros per day, plus a deposit for the key of 30 euros which was returned on leaving, but this was clearly stated when booking and most hotels charge for a room safe AND wifi, and in this hotel the wifi is free and although is a better signal from public areas, it worked in our room and on the balcony.

We had booked a superior sea view and we were so glad we had, the views were amazing, and apart from only being 2nd floor (we had asked for a higher floor on booking and had emailed the hotel with this request, they did not reply to email or acknowledge the request), we found we could look past the car park in front quite easily and onto the fantastic vista of the sea. The views from the front of the hotel are exceptional, and although the rooms with pool views are cheaper, the extra money is worth every penny.

The room was very modern, with large beds, ours was a double but was more like 2 doubles zipped together, plenty of room. The air con was free, but we found it did not cool as much as we would have liked on a couple of nights – no problems really as it did not get that hot you could not sleep at the end of October and you could always leave the balcony door ajar as we did not see one mosquito the whole week. We had a kettle, and they did provide some coffee, tea etc for no charge, but we had already taken our own. Note some people say they charged for this, maybe because we had booked a superior sea view? The sink in the room was very different, but we liked it, the mirror above the sink as a divider was both sides so 2 people could use the mirror at the same time. Enough wardrobe space for 2 people but not enough hangers (luckily I always travel with some of our own) and the wardrobe has lights inside which helps to see things better. Plenty of free toiletries etc, even shaving and emergency tooth kits – with hair dryer located under the sink to one side. The bed linen was of a good quality and there were 2 pillows per person so no having to ask for extra pillows. There is a full length mirror inside a wardrobe door, a flat screen tv that gets some English channels, only watched BBC news as do not go away to watch tv, when there is a beautiful view to appreciate.

The hotel is on the front line of the estuary from Es Castel to Mahon and to watch all the shipping passing was so interesting. We saw tall ships, cruise liners, ferries and other boats from little fishing boats to multi million pound ones. To sit on your balcony and have a cruise liner right in front of you, so close you can see into some windows was so interesting. We took more photos of the boats than we did ourselves! It is a lovely waterfront, going left from the hotel leads along the paved coastal walkway into Calas Fonts, a lovely little harbour with restaurants and bars, all be it some were closed as the very end of the season, enough were open for us to sample a few. A five minute walk is all it takes. Turning right out of the hotel and then immediate left takes you into Es Castel itself, with a few shops and bars, and some of the most friendly people we have met in our travels. Being a small place, and not busy at this time, we found locals remembered us on our walks and we would chat to some, a shouted hola or a wave, such lovely people. We were even given a little gift on Halloween of some pumpkin shaped biscuits from the local bakery shop after only shopping there on 2 occasions for small things.

The food at Barcelo Hamilton was superb, I really do not know what people have complained about, the choice is immense, only put out in small amounts and filled constantly, is very fresh, well presented and tasty. There would always be a choice of prepared ready to go meals of a couple of meats, a couple of fish and some veggie, but there is also a chef there who will cook you at least another 6 choices per day. We saw steak, lamb, chicken, pork, so many different fish, all there to be cooked to your specification or if you do not want to wait then choose from the prepared section. I know that they would even cook you something else if you had any allergies etc, you only had to ask. The breakfast was again a good range of choices, everything you could want and again a lot was cooked to request with some prepared. There were some lovely salads, soups, desserts etc – not once did we go away from breakfast or evening dinner unsatisfied. Lunch is a bit different, it is a la carte from a limited menu, and whilst we were there it was served in the pool bar up the stairs, but for those who could not climb the stairs they would serve it to you around the dining part of the pool area itself. There would be 4 choices of starter, main then dessert but we found this a little restrictive as there was always an egg dish (we both have egg allergy so that was out), often a lamb dish (we don’t eat lamb either lol), so we would be down to 2 choices only. Would like to see a larger choice here, with a salad always offered, (was only on 2 days), at least 2 different meat choices, as would be one meat and one fish some days with a pasta dish. We did have these lunches a few times, and others chose to skip lunch or just ask for a part of the menu not the full a la carte. We did eat out one night, just for a change, and had been recommended to Nikki’s in Calas Fonts for a fabulous fillet steak and we were not disappointed, probably one of the best fillets we have ever had.

The pool area is lovely and clean, well maintained, bleached decking, lots of palms, plenty of good quality loungers and tables and chairs with the addition of four poster beds available for a premium, which we heard was about 40 euros a day! For this you got to lie on the beds, a bottle of bubbly, a fruit skewer and that is about it. In the whole week only saw one couple use one of these, and it rained that day, did wonder did they get a refund for that? To be honest if they supply “palapa beds” in most resorts they are free and first come first served. The indoor pool was freezing, though it said heated and did not see that used. All the pools were very cold, they could have put a little heat into them as this is not a cheap hotel. As for the under ground flotation tank, it was a freezing cold and I mean freezing knee high darkened cave like area and supposed to be relaxing. Have been in a flotation tank before, it was warm and womb like and very relaxing. This was so out of the way, so cold, that I feared if somebody went into there and nobody knew, they could have got hypothermia and think the hotel should do away with this, on a health and safety issue. There is no way of knowing if a guest is in there and how long they have been there, a disaster waiting to happen. The pool bar is open from 10am until 5pm and there is always a smoothie of the day (try the strawberry its great) and a cocktail of the day. Only the cocktail of the day is on the AI, but most of the drinks at Barcelo Hamilton are branded, eg Smirnoff vodka is AI, Bacardi is AI, there are whiskeys and gins etc all branded BUT when it comes to brandy there is only one on the AI, a Spanish one, which is one of the worst brandies we have ever tasted and there are some fabulous Spanish brandies, avoid the Veterano and order the Spanish Carlos 1, or branded ones, they only charge you 50% extra so for 3 euros if you want a cognac to end the night, make it a decent one. The drinks choice at this hotel is absolutely excellent. The bars were only open until 12 midnight with the AI ending at 11pm - pay after and in all the week we did not see one person drunk, all the guests were having a good time but chilled and relaxed and many of them well travelled The standards were high, I am sure the previous reviewer actually has the wrong hotel as there are no children's areas, it is not 24 hour bar service and the guests were mainly British and Spanish.

The Blue Sky bar on the roof – wow to the views, sitting up there with a drink looking at the views, oh wait a minute, they closed the bar totally for the whole week though on arrival we had been told it would be open 12 to 4pm each day! This was wrong, they should have at least had a portage service for drinks. We had to go down in the lift for 5 floors, through the pool area, then order drinks and carry them back up again! This results in spills in the lift and we discovered there is a lift from the pool bar area (staff access we think as behind the bar) that covers all floors! I know the hotel was not full, and they were cutting staff but this spoiled the ambiance of the roof top. There was a young couple on their honeymoon (Mark and Lindsey we wish you a wonderful future and thank you for the night we tied one on and put the world to rights lol) who had chosen this hotel because of the roof bar, which they did not realise would only be open at night in summer, but it was not even open in the day! Communication break down here, and something a hotel of this calibre should address. Drinks aside though, the roof is a great spot to sunbathe, dip in jacuzzi’s (beware they are not all heated – 2 are), watch the ships sail by and generally relax.

The entertainment – erm well shall we say we enjoyed the duo on the first night, the Spanish guitarist we could hardly hear as there was no amplification, and the entertainment lady, although she worked hard, both during the day and at nights, left a lot to be desired. 3 quiz nights!!!! (no microphone so could hardly hear her), one night was jukebox night where we were all asked our fave songs and they were played from You Tube and they had left on the music from reception area, so it was one tune in one ear and another in the other ear. I did feed this back and noticed on the music quiz night they turned off the reception music (shows they listened at least). We are happy to make out own entertainment but when it is advertised as each evening, we did expect a little more than quiz after quiz. One quiz a week is enough but at least they did not play bingo!! We often retired to our balcony with a drink as did many others.

Now the staff, what can we say? Fantastic, lovely, helpful, smiling, happy, hard working we could go on and on with praise. Did not learn everybody’s names but Nury on the bar, and the small older man on the bar at night were fantastic. They would watch you and know when you needed another drink – didn’t even have to ask some times! The lady in the pool bar, forgotten name but absolutely lovely and helpful and made us laugh. In the restaurant everybody was lovely but in particular we have to mention Petra for her advice, smiles and professionalism. There is not one member of staff we came across who we could give anything but praise, the manager was about a lot, this is one very well run ship apart from the odd problems which we do think were because it was end of season. We were actually one of the last 4 people to leave the hotel, after we left it was empty. The last night there were 14 of us left in this large hotel and we watched the staff getting ready for the party as the hotel closed, some great fancy dress outfits – hope they had a great end of season party as they deserve it.

The hotel was spotless, not a speck of dust was seen all week. One lady had a serious fall, not in the hotel outside but near to hotel and the hotel staff were wonderful, helping her, getting her the first aid help she needed, calling an ambulance, making sure everything was sorted for when she came back from the hospital with a broken arm, they just could not do enough and I know this was appreciated by the lady and her husband and very much noted by other guests. We could not fault the cleaning in public areas or rooms. We have stayed at more expensive hotels that did not come as close to such cleanliness as Barcelo Hamilton hotel. As a result of a fantastic week, even with a couple of small problems, we will be returning to this hotel and hope to see many of the staff again. Thank you Barcelo Hamilton, you are a lovely hotel, with fantastic staff – just try to sort out the little problems and you will be truly world class.

Room Tip: Superior sea views are a must - higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Es Castell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I had a lovely stay at this hotel, staff, views and quality was fantastic. Would probably suggest taking a walk for you evening meals would be best; as there are some pretty/tastier places to sit and eat.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant week at this hotel from the 18th -25th October. The hotel is situated on the harbour wall in the suburb of Es Castells about 1.5 miles East of Mahon. Great views over the natural harbour towards the Fort and open sea, in particular from the stylish roof sunbathing and hydropools terrace. We were on a half board deal which we booked direct through barcelo hotels.com. Breakfasts were very good, taken outside on a nice terrace. Evening buffet could have been better. The variety was good but because the hotel was only half full due to the time of year, some of the food stood under heat lamps for some time. There were dishes that could be cooked to order so you could get fresh food if you wanted. This is my only gripe so in all a very nice hotel. We hired a car and there is ample free parking infront of the hotel and in the streets nearby. Es Castells bay, just around the seaside walkway is very pretty with some lovely bars and restaurants. Very relaxing and I wouldhighly recommend this hotel and resort for couples wanting to unwind and relax rather than party.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

The hotel was pretty amazing the place is super clean and the staff very friendly.

The room was very nice modern with a great shower. Room was very clean on arrival with a little fridge in (although you are not allowed to bring drinks in from outside we went crazy and smuggled them in!).

All three pool areas are very nice indoor and outdoor are great and the rooftop bar with mini swirl pools was fantastic. We came in October so the hotel was nicely quiet but not dead. It meant we never had any issues getting one of the swirl pools although I wouldn't fancy your chances in high season.

The food was okay to good enough choice without being spectacular, quality again not bad considering it's buffet, the only thing I would say is I wouldn't fancy all inclusive there as it seemed lunch was the bar menu and not a lot else (this may be because it was not high season)

Not a huge amount in the surrounding area es castell has lots of nice little bars and restaurants to enjoy. Other people have mentioned about the bus to Mahon but we just walked took about 30mins to the harbour or 40minutes to the town centre.

Overall a really good hotel and a great little holiday!!! It didn't get 5 star because it just wasn't as good as the shangrila's we were lucky enough to stay in and that's the standard for 5

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceló H, Assistant Manager at Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

The reason we do not allow the entry of food from the outside is due to reasons of health and safety standards, considering that if guests becomes ill, we could not detect the source of food. Also this can sometimes create the proliferation of insects among other reasons.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed the pool areas and the facilities during your stay with us. It is true that we offer different outdoor areas in order to relax and enjoy.

We are constantly working and improving our menu and we have some different suggestions that we are changing very often in the restaurant. I hope that you will enjoy it your next visit.

We look forward to see you soon.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Hamilton Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamilton Menorca

Address: Santa Agueda 6 | Villa Carlos, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Es Castell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#3 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Hamilton Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Hamilton Menorca**** hotel has been completely renovated turning it into a vanguard design hotel for adults only. Its privileged location overlooking the Bay of Mahon and its Urban Beach concept makes it the perfect choice for travel as a couple or for business trips. Our 155 rooms have been completely redesigned in-line with the new B-Roomconcept, adapting to the needs of even the most demanding clients. They stand out for being equipped with 180 cm wide bed, panoramic rain effect shower, LCD satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, room service... Among other features. The majority of rooms have balconies and there is free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. All this, as you enjoy enjoy incredible views of the sea. The hotel Barcelo Hamilton Menorca has a dividable room of 200 m², fully-equipped for Meetings and events with its own entrance from the outside. There is a noteworthy choice of Mediterranean and local cuisine at the different restaurants. In addition, enjoy the fabulous 360º views of Mahon from the sky bar while you enjoy one of the cocktails from our extensive range. 2 Outdoor swimming pools complete the facilities, one of them is heated and covered during the winter, sun terrace area, a flotarium,6 hot Tubs in the Sky Bar, a fantastic U-Wellness and fitness room. Discover the charm of the island of Menorca. Relax and enjoy a romantic getaway or holiday with your partner at the Barcelo Hamilton Menorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Hamilton Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hamilton Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Es Castell
Barcelo Hotel Es Castell
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.