We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Espana

Bar Espana
Carrer Victori, 48, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
971 36 32 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 restaurants in Es Castell
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have been to Bar Espana same as Nikki's, Good simple traditional food, lovely service from Salvador always a smile, has seen our kids grow up. Mitch xx

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    45
    17
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nowhere better in Es Castell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can't add to the superlatives for this restaurant. Food and service with a smile. Don't know how they do it for the price - actually obvious - they treat customers properly and serve consistently delicious food. We will be back again and again and...........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Every time we go to Menorca, we have at least one meal at Bar Espana in Es Castell. And every time we have been, they have never let us down.

Returning to Menorca after a lapse of five years, with friends who had never visited this beautiful island, we went to Bar Espana one evening. We were amazed to see that all the staff were the same as five years ago, the menu was as we remembered it and the prices did not seem to have changed.

This is a restaurant that prides itself on serving excellent food in HUGE quantities. One of our party had the starter of whitebait - there was enough on his plate to feed us all. Every time we have been, I have always ordered the fillet steak with roquefort sauce - my mouth is watering as I write this!! There is a good selection of beers and wines; and the bread is always fresh (not like some of the restaurants that tend to serve their bread on the stale side).

For a hearty, good value meal served with plenty of Spanish charm, you can't do better than visit Bar Espana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first visit to Menorca and Es Castell. A great choice of restaurants but our favourite has to be Bar Espana. During a week's stay we had dinner here three times. The staff are very good and extremely friendly and the food is excellent. We opted for the 'menu del dia' twice and a la carte once and were not disappointed.
It was good to see that it was patronised by Spanish people as well as English.
At a quiet time for the town it always had a good number of customers which says a lot for its service and food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great recommendation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were charmed by the staff and delighted by the presentation, quality and good value of the meals. We had to return during our week in Es Castell just to try out some of the other tempting items on the menu of the day. We were once again very happy with our choices. It deserves its position on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Espana also viewed

Es Castell, Minorca
Es Castell, Minorca
 
Es Castell, Minorca
Es Castell, Minorca
 

Been to Bar Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.