We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Villalba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spa Villalba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spa Villalba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera San Roque S/N, 38613 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Vilaflor
Langen, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spend a week in Villaba and enjoyed it: quiet location, spacious rooms, 1500m high and near Teide NP ... If you dont need disco and beachparty, we can highly recomment the Hotel .. Breakfast and Restaurant ok ... Spa not highend, where you would spent the day, but good relax after a day out in the mountains

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have spent a very relaxing week last year at this hotel and we always think back at it with pleasure! The room was comfortable, the spa was great and we were the only residents enjoing it during our stay:) The only negative remark is related to the restaurant: the food was not really worthy... after one dinner we decided to explore the Vilaflor restaurants and not eat at the hotel anymore. The surroundings are beautiful and the fresh mountain air great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great staff, perfect rooms, nice spa, and this all for a perfect price.....the hotel and the rooms are really spotless....the staff is very helpful, also in giving maps for hiking, the breakfast is more then average, we would have liked the restaurant to serve a bit more simple traditional food, but everything is very OK

Room Tip: Ask a room on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My now Husband and I had our wedding at Hotel Villalba and stayed for 5 days in December 2012, our guests also stayed for the duration, some longer than others. The whole process of booking, communication and the stay were made very unpleasant by their hotel management.

We have holidayed to Hotel Spa Villalba in December 2011 and May 2012, on our trip we noticed that there were young children staying there, yet when one of our guests were booking accommodation for one night they were told that the hotel does not allow children under any circumstances, it was only after I emailed the hotel myself they stated that they would allow only as it is a special occasion and are guests of ours.

I had then made several attempts to contact the hotel, I did not receive any reply until a month later, which made it very had to continue planning and sorting everything out for the wedding.
I then emailed the hotel again as we wanted to have the service and canapés at the hotel but not the meal, this was confirmed to be no problem, but my wedding planner was told that they would not allow it, this is very unprofessional and as I have proof that we were told this would be ok it should be within customer rights to proceed.

We were now at a point where we did not have much trust in them and their services and were considering holding the wedding elsewhere, if not for the lack of time we had left to plan everything this would have been the case.

When our planner sent across the brochure with the canapés and meal choices, we chose to have the Duck but one of our guests does not eat duck or beef, this became another problem that should have been very easily and simply sorted out, yet was turned into another stressful situation. Our planner asked the hotel if they would allow for that guest to have fish, but they said they would not allow this, I did not and still do not understand to this day why you would not allow this as you offer a vegetarian option for guests that are not having the meat for their main. They eventually came back after a push and said she could have beef, yet she does not eat beef. I do not understand why they would allow her to have beef or a vegetarian option but not the fish; it does not make any sense?

We then chose our 3 hot and 3 cold canapés from the list, to our surprise, on the day, we did not have ANY of the chosen canapés, and only had 4, yet on the menu it states 6 in total, I believe we had paid for 6 so should receive 6 and they should be the ones chosen. As these were chosen in advance I do not see any problem as to why they could not get it correct.
Also, regarding the meal, we opted for the children’s meal of €40 consisting of the pasta, fish fingers and ice cream, he received the starter of pasta, but when everyone’s mains came out he did not get served anything. I asked the waiter what was going on and he asked the kitchen, he stated that they do not have any fish fingers and can offer chicken nuggets – he does not eat chicken nuggets which is why we had chosen fish fingers, and also everyone was now halfway through their meal, not the service you receive for a meal that had been booked in advance and the kitchen knowing what was to order. They didn’t out of courtesy even offer to give us anything for the trouble, but we asked for a bottle of wine for the evening to replace this, considering that the meal had been paid for and not received this meant that we had paid for this bottle of wine. When we asked for the bottle in the evening it had already been opened and had a glass drunk from it, when my guest asked for a whole bottle the waiter seemed to suddenly not be able to speak English or understand us, at this point we had had enough.

But still it goes on:

Due to everyone being full up from the meal no one was able to eat the cake, so we had each piece wrapped and taken for later. When my husband and I came back from our photos we asked the kitchen staff if we could have the rest of our cake, another waitress then came out and asked if we wanted the rest of our cake? No communication between staff. She came back and sincerely apologised but the kitchen staff had eaten the rest of it! This was a disgrace; we had paid €95 for our cake and were not impressed to be told that it had been eaten by the kitchen staff!

When our wedding planner turned up on the day, she was very rudely spoken to by the management, but it seemed she was not the only one, as when the father of the groom and his party turned up they did not have their passports as they had been staying at another hotel and were only staying here for the one night, the management spoke down to them and was very abrupt. Also, when his party were due to check out of their room on the wedding day at 12noon (which they were aware of) they received a call at 10.30 stating that they need to vacate the room on time as the cleaning needs to be done, not exactly what I would call good customer service, I must also add that we had not been called on either of our previous stays to be told to vacate on time.

The best part of our stay came when we checked out; we had been charged for 2 gin and tonics which were not ours or our parties. When we stated this to a particular manageress she hastily said that they were and demanded we paid for them, the person who had signed for them was not even anyone in our party! After eventually backing down we paid for the guests who used the facility for breakfast but not the falsely accused gin and tonics. I said to her that I had not been happy with the service we had received, she rudely stated in these exact words while looking down her nose at me ‘well I know you would not be happy with anything we do for you’, in a shocked voice I said to her ‘excuse me’, she turned her back on me, ignoring what had been said and walked into the office.

Throughout my whole life I have never received such rudeness and bad customer service from a business that relies on tourism and the satisfaction of their clients. On both occasions my reviews on trip adviser were positive. This is certainly not the way to treat guests, especially ones that have brought in a number of guests and created custom for them, we will not be staying at any of their hotels again after the experience we have received, especially from the manageress. They have lost loyal customers that have been visiting year after year, but now we will stay elsewhere. We have stayed at several hotels where we were given gifts for our Engagement and Anniversary Engagements, yet did not receive anything from Villalba, not once did we even receive a congratulations from them either. This was meant to be the most special and memorable day and holiday of our lives, yet these are the memories that we have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Sussex, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. We stayed the week before Christmas for 2 nights and more or less had the place to ourselves which only added to the peace and serenity we experienced! The location is stunning, the views from the sun terrace were amazing. If you want peace and quite, this is the place to come.

Our room was HUGE and very comfortable. The spa is really well equipped and one of the best I've been in though the swimming pool was invigorating to say the least (i.e freezing!). The hotel restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with lost of variety. Vilaflor is only a short walk (downhill!) where there are a handful of local restaurants. We ate at El Rincon De Robert one night which was great value with delicious local food and very friendly staff. It's a 15 minute walk back up a steep hill to the hotel but good for walking off dinner.

There are great walks straight out from the hotel or within a short (slightly nerve-wracking!) drive you can walk to the Paisaje lunar. Tip: Take the left hand path and do the circular walk anti-clockwise. It's much more pctureseque than the right hand path.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back of the hotel which had a lovely balcony which got the sun in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent a special few days here for a family wedding, attractive hotel, love the stained glass windows, the room was spacious with such a peaceful view overlooking pine trees. The spa facilities were a relaxing bonus, except for the VERY cold swimming pool - would have used it if just a bit warmer! Easy to go walking for brilliant views, and some excellent alternative restaurants in the nearby village. The lounge area in the hotel is a cosy retreat after an evening out, though disappointing that the bar closed early every night.

Room Tip: 1st floor has better views, and rooms at the back could be more spacious and definitely have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this excellent hotel. It is very good for walkers ; the the GR131 runs right past the hotel so with careful use of buses/taxis there are two fantastic linear walks literally on the doorstep. The drive to the Canadas is under 1/2 hour so it is convenient if you want to enjoy the walks near Teide. The hotel is family run and owned with friendly professional staff. The restaurant serves excellent food and there is a beautiful spa. Everything to the hotel is to a high standard. Its definately a place for adults - an attraction for some visitors. The hotel is high above the coastal resorts so can often be swathed in mist in the afternoons and does get cold ; when the temperature drops there is a log fire in the residents lounge. All this comes with hefty price tag so it's a treat to savour.

Room Tip: room 121 is a mini suite with a separate seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spa Villalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Villalba

Address: Carretera San Roque S/N, 38613 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Vilaflor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Vilaflor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Villalba 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Spa Villalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villalba Hotel Vilaflor
Hotel Spa Villalba Tenerife/Vilaflor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa Villalba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.