We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Duquesa Hills. Cno del Pedraza s/n | Urbanizacion Los Hidalgos-Sabinillas, 29692 Manilva, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Manilva
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon and had to wait for the receptionist to finish his cigarette before he came to help us, then he gave us the key to our apartment which was dark and smelly with a terrace over looking nothing!, we complained but had no other apartments available, also the apartment had the tube from air con running from the box inside and into a bucket right next to the tv!, very dangerous especially when you have a two year old.
We did not get any sleep that night due to the noise level from apartment above us, we could hear everything and everytime they turned on tap or flushed toilet it sounded like there was a waterfall in our apartment. They continued to play music and had kids running around untill 2.am when i eventually had to ask them to please be quiet.
The next day they moved us to a top floor apartment which was much better lovely views and good size rooms and terrace, we were much happier until one night we were kept awake again by the apartment below us who had gone out all night and left their dogs alone all night to bark constantly, in the morning they still continued, when i went to reception they told me the owners had left the dogs all night and still were not home!, aparently everyone in the apartment block had also been to complain.
The complex is tired and quite grotty in areas, the pool area was unkept and full of flies, we only spent one hour around the pool in ten days as we felt it was not acceptable and the flies drove us mad. We went to the local beaches every day which was a much better experience.
You do need a car really, we did walk to the beach as we like walking but the way back up the hill may be very hard for some people.
We used the car to go into other villages.
I am sure this place was great when it first opened but it really needs some care and attention and we will definately not return although the apartment we ended up with was not bad there is just too many issues with the complex.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    41
    27
    9
See reviews for
58
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Apartment was quite nice, spacious and well equipped and clean, with a nice balcony facing the pool area. It does seem that apartments differ quite a lot in terms of where they and their balconies face, one apartment seemed to have a balcony facing the ramp to the underground garage.
The hotel has a restaurant, but it did not look very appealing and we did not try it. There is a supermarket 1 km down the hill, and 2 km down the hill is the Port of Duquesa which is a lovely area with lots of restaurants and bars, and the beaches extending to both directions. We did not have a car on arrival, as our previous stops in Marbella and Gibraltar had been ones where a car would be more of a burden than an asset, but on arrival it became obvious that you need one. Able-bodied adults with good shoes can walk the distance to Puerto Duquesa in 20 minutes, and for the return trip up the hill there are plentiful taxied, but with kids and trafficking back and forth to beach and supermarket and restaurants a car makes more sense. The reception was able to fix a relatively reasonable rental car for us within two hours, and arrange it to be left at Malaga airport, so that worked out fine. Service we found to be friendly, though at times not quite as efficient as with the car. The cleaning was supposed to take place every three days, but during our four-day visit did not happen, though more towels were delivered.
The beds are indeed quite hard, the pool is nice but gets crowded in July. All in all, worked very well, with the car.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great apartment. Very spacious with three bedrooms two bathrooms (one with jacuzzi) and a large terrace looking onto the countryside.
The apartment was very clean and tidy with brand new furniture and very well kept.
The area is a bit out of the way and up a steep hill so having a car is almost essential and the tranquility makes up for it.
There is a pool but i felt it was a bit small and i suppose in summer it must be quite cramped but otherwise i found the area very well kept with some gardens.
the only drawback i found was that it is a bit out of the way, but if you have a car, there is ample parking underground and its free by the way, then i would'nt hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself, hubby and 2 teenage kids stayed here in August 2010 (bit late in submitting my review!) and absolutely loved the apartments. The previous year we had stayed in some very basic apartments in Majorca, so this apartment felt like a palace in comparison! LOVED: the cool stone floors, the air conditioning (bliss!), the well-equipped kitchen, the spacious lounge, the roomy balcony with views over the hills to the windfarm windmills in the distance and the clean bathroom. Not so keen on the beds - like previous reviewers have said, the beds are very firm, but I would rather have a firm bed than a saggy, squishy bed! I found I had to lie on my stomach or back, rather than on my side as usual, as the bed was so firm it would make my hip ache!!! The pool area was excellent - plenty of beds, umbrellas, and clean, clear water. The staff were friendly and helpful; no complaints at all. Yes, the apartments are up a hill, but this meant they were back from the busy roads, and quieter than if situated in the town. It is walkable in the evening, but too hot during the day in August! A rental car is definitely advisable! Car parking is underground, in designated bays - again, very much appreciated in the heat of the day.
I can't understand the negative reviews for this place, as it felt quite "posh" compared to some of the bargain-bucket holidays we've had in the past!! Give it a go!

Room Tip: Apartments facing the hills are quiet and have good countryside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Absolutely basic quality accommodations - beds squeaked every time someone rolled over, threatening to break. Tiny second bedroom. Insufficient plates, glasses, kitchen ware for 4 adults. But a full sized fridge which was handy. And the woman who served us breakfast (horrible processed ham and cheese!) had a lovely smile and was happy to bring a second coffee.The window shutters were annoying as when open during the day, they banged against the exterior wall during the slightest breeze - had to keep them closed at all times. The patio door shutter we propped open with the balcony chair. Low quality finishes, furnishings, maintenance needed throughout the complex. Located on the last street up a long hill from anything, guessing it would be 30 minute walk to the water front (after crossing the highway). With so many other places available, go else where.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked this apartment as part of Manilva 10 promotion for 1 night. Very fortunate as although the apartments are well appointed there is no sound proofing whatsoever and the beds are similar to lying on rocks. There are no amenities functioning - both the bar and restaurant were closed at lunchtime which was inconvient as we had to wait until 3pm to enter our apartment. The whole project needs care and attencion particularly the little terraces for the ground floor properties which are totally overgrown with 3ft high weeds. The reception staff appear totally disinterested in the needs of clients.

Room Tip: If you need to stay there you must choose a top floor apartment as the noise from people on top of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

apartment great, location top of a hill, nice pool area, rock hard beds but great value, great base to visit gibralter and tarifa etc

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel

Address: Urb. Duquesa Hills. Cno del Pedraza s/n | Urbanizacion Los Hidalgos-Sabinillas, 29692 Manilva, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Manilva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Manilva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel Hotel Manilva
Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel Manilva, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo El Goleto Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.