We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranis Indian Restaurant

Ranis Indian Restaurant
Calle limon, centro comercial citrus, Urbanizacion Horizonte | Playa Flamenca, 03189 Playa Flamenca, Spain
+34 966 19 76 77
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 107 Restaurants in Playa Flamenca
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Playa Flamenca, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Best Indian food in the area. Lovely atmosphere, good prices and family friendly. Definitely a night to remember.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Flamenca, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere and service with a smile :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed so many evenings eating at Rani's Indian Restaurant. The food is excellent but what also makes the evening so special is the friendly helpful service from Rani and her daughter Tasha. They create a warm, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy great food and, if you fancy it, good wine. We highly recommend you try it for yourself. A highlight of the week is the Monday "eat all you can" buffet menu which, with its reduced selection of dishes, is a great asset to people who would like to try Indian food but are not too sure what to order from the extensive main menu. However, even on a buffet Monday, the chefs are more than happy to prepare any dish from the main menu so, go on, indulge yourself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Burns night but burning the midnight oil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Me and my partner booked in for a Burns Night dinner although it was a day after Burns day. It was €15.95 a head plus your drinks. It was to celebrate Robert Burns.

We arrived at 7.30 p.m. prompt as requested when we booked. We thought we would have our own table but it was in an assembly line fashion and we were sat next to a couple we didn't know.

To start with one of us had Haggis Pakora and an Onion Bhaji and my partner had an Onion Bhaji and a Chicken Pakora with a dip and a salad. For main we had rice and nan bread with 1 chicken Korma and 1 Chicken Madras.

Then we had for desert which was very poor a Piece of meringue the size of a 50 cent coin a little bit of squirty cream and slices of strawberry.

For afters we had Oatcakes,Cream Crackers,Short Bread,Ritz Biscuits and Mild Cheddar Cheese.

In between we had readings and toasts and poems some which was in very bad taste read out in a foreign language I believe called Glasweigian we couldn't undertstand a word and children were present and looked bored as were we. The person reading out the poems etc was going on far too long. This meant inbetween meals it took a hour per course. We were very tired by the end of the night as some people did not turn up on time and we were there from 7.30 p.m.un til past 12.00 p.m.4 and a half hours minimum. The bag piper playing tunes in between was a little deafening and seemed to go on for at least 30 mnutes 4 times of the evening meaning you couldn't hear yourselves talking.


The Decoration was nice but the table clothes were a bit dirty with stains on them!

As for the Hosts and Manager Rain her self they were very nicely dressed, chatty and very friendly and couldn't do anything wrong. Service was good but just could have done with being a bit quicker at serving the courses of food.

We will go back again of course but not to another Burns night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr Manjit Gill. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We benn coming here for a year now each time it's been great. Rani and Tasha are do hospitable and treat you like family. The chef is punjabi like me and always gets it just how we like it back home
He did my chicken desi style. Perfect. The tandoori roti nice and fresh straight from the tandoori.
As an Indian it's the most authentic Indian restaurant I've found around here. I will keep dining here over and over again until they give me reason not to. Keep up the good work Rani.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Made to make you feel part of the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been here twice in one month and on both occasions ordered from the Al A Carte Menu.
The starters are quite small but after all it is just a starter but that´s a good thing because the main courses are Huge. We both had rice each and a Naan bread to share, We have tried a a variety of Main Course dishes and all were delicious. We have also tried their own Mango Cream Desert. We swished our food down with some of their wine and even tried a beer and a coffee.

They have a nice warm smile as soon as you enter the place, I must admit the square looks rundown but that doe´s not reflect on the restaurant as once inside it is beautifully decorated and the owners who are the staff are really nice,genuine and honest people, the nicest we have ever met anyway. They go out of their way to serve you at a high standard. The food has a authentic taste too. The restaurant itself is very clean and you get nothing but 5 star service. This is one restaurant you want to try if you like Indian food, and we for one shall be definitely going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranis Indian Restaurant also viewed

Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
 
Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
 

Been to Ranis Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranis Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.