We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Door

The Cellar Door
Flamenca Beach 97-101, 03189 Playa Flamenca, Spain
+34 688 41 83 67
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Modern Comfort Food
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Something a little different. Amazing presentation and food. Breaks the typical concrete block style restaurants that are so common in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine T, Owner at The Cellar Door, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear kitkat86

I am always very grateful when guests take time out of their busy day to write a review, so Thank you for doing so !

We really love it when our customers can see that we are trying to do something a little different from the norm, and appreciate the unique character of the restaurant. So thank you for that as well. So happy to know how much you enjoyed our food and the presentation.....Pascal our Head Chef really puts great effort into all his dishes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Warm regards

Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always superb Lorraine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Another visit to our home in Spain and another meal at the Cellar Door. Excellent service and great meals. My son and I had the Steak, it was cooked to perfection as were my Wife's chicken and my sons girlfriends Duck. We feel we know Lorraine well on our regular visits to Playa Flamenca but its about time we..(Karen + Kevin) put our feelings into writing. The staff were great again and overall we had a wonderful experience. A lovely way to finish a hot day on the beach with a superb meal in nice surroundings. Well done Lorraine and keep up the good work will be back soon...Karen/Kevin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine T, Owner at The Cellar Door, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Kevin W

Many thanks for this fantastic review on The Cellar Door. I am always so grateful for the continued support from so many of our lovely guests. Thank you for letting other TA users know how much you enjoyed your evening, and for recommending us to the Public.

It was lovely to see you all on your last visit, and I hope that we can have a proper catch up the next time, when it is not as busy.

Until then ...take care

Love Lorraine xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't do enough for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited the cellar door whilst on holiday and it was lovely.
The staff could not do enough for us and my fussy needs. Well worth the money and food was amazing :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine T, Owner at The Cellar Door, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Katie C

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cellar Door.

It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed our food and our service....it makes all the hard work worthwhile ! So thank you for letting us know !

My team and I look forward to seeing you again,

Warm regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent value for money - couldn't believe the prices for the quality of food! The daily cocktail was delicious, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. My friend visited the week before we did; and she has a long list of allergies that they accommodated, even going so far as to invent a desert for her that she could eat! We went for a birthday celebration and they really made it a special night.

The food was amazing on top of the excellent service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine T, Owner at The Cellar Door, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear LottieB123

Many thanks for your kind review of The Cellar Door. I am always happy when our customers appreciate the quality of our food and consider us good value for money. The team here really try hard to provide the best experience possible for our guests, so it is great to know when we have succeeded .

We hope to see you again soon,

Warm regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Cellar Door is a gem in a neighborhood of substandard restaurants. Consistantly good food and really excellent service. We have with my wife searched for good restaurants in Costa Blanca and the Cellar Door is among the top 5.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine T, Owner at The Cellar Door, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear TTH1959

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cellar Door. My team and I are always glad to receive such good feedback, and I am delighted that we are in your top 5 favorites.
It was a great to see you both again on your last visit, and thank you for your continued support.

Until the next time, take care

Warm regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Door also viewed

Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
 
La Zenia, Costa Blanca
Playa Flamenca, Alicante Province
 

Been to The Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.