We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did exactly what it said on the tin ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vigilia Park to your Saves list
Vigilia Park
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Did exactly what it said on the tin ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a great time in these apartments. If you're not a snob and just want some where to sleep and a shower ie a base for your holiday then this is the place for you. The hotel is ideally located for los gigantes or playa de la arena , bus stops are located just out front of the hotel. For sunbathing I recommend the rooftop pool. We would stay here again and recommend this place to anyone

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    60
    29
    16
See reviews for
120
127
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a gem for the money! Great hotel, the staff were really friendly and helpful (printed our return boarding passes for us) and as we arrived early and as our room was not ready we were upgraded to a two bed duplex with view to Mount Tiede one side and toward the sea the other. Lovely clean, large apartment with comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Kitchen had fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, cooker etc, although we ate out every night. Lovely selection of restaurants and we didn't have a bad meal. Ideal situation - Los Gigantes in one direction, Playa del Arena the other, both easy walking distance. Nice quiet hotel - were not disturbed at night at all, despite the fact the apartment faced over the shopping arcade. Breakfast was varied and plentiful - sausage, bacon, egg, beans, tomatoes, omlette, selection of three or four cereals, five or six fresh fruit, canned fruit, yoghurt, two types of toast, cakes (a little dry), fruit juice. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our fifth visit in this great hotel, and I must say, that we'll definitely come again. First of all, don't expect luxury resort for this money. Hotel is basic, but great, rooms are big, clean, and kitchen is fully equipped. Ideal for self catering. Lidl supermarket is just five minutes of walking. Staff on reception are very helpful. We didn't try food in hotel restaurant, so I can't say anything about that. Views from room if you pay for sea view are really stunning. Overall, very good value for money. If I can suggest something about improvements, than maybe give wi-fi and safe hire free for hotel guests. I think it'll make people happy and hotel will not loose anything, since wi-fi and safe are there anyway.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've just come back from holiday in Tenerife. Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for fifth times already and we definitely will stay in the hotel next time. It's got light and big rooms, fully equipped kitchen, six day cleaning service, very helpful reception, there is sauna, two swimming pools and gymnasium available. I cannot to say anything about a food, because we had self catering. There is also entertainment every evening. Hotel has not its own parking, but there is plenty of spaces around the hotel or on the street. There is also the Lidl only two minutes walking. Overall, rooms could be renovated, but they are very clean, big and light and for the price it is very good hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1st the good points:
Weather in Tenerife in November was perfect, 28c hottest day and 24c on coldest!!!
Location of apartments pretty good if you don't have mobility problems. These are located on the side of a hill with an approximate walk of 20 mins and 200m all down hill to various bars and restaurants. Not bad going down but a tad steep coming back up.
The new Aldi is a god send when staying in self catering, 200 yards away, enough said.
The restaurant El Marques approx. 100 yards away was superb on the 3 occasions we dined there. well worth a visit.
The two swimming pools were well maintained and looked after, the lower one behind reception was warmer than the roof top one.
Because of the time of year there were plenty of sunbeds without the normal frustrations of "reserved beds with towels".
The views of the cliffs were stunning from the top of the apartments.
Now the negative comments.
the rooms are in need of a complete overhaul. Dirty and stained floor tiles tired bedding and towels. very basic equipment in rooms i.e Tesco value kettle, microwave, pans and plates. All useable but very basic. The bathroom was so small you could wash your hands whilst sat on the toilet!!! the door would open only 75% of the way due to it colliding with the toilet!!.
The bedroom had 2 single beds not very romantic and not much better when they were bolted together due to the 4" camp bed mattress they had on them.

In conclusion come for the weather put up with the basic "70's style Butlins accommodation" and relax as much as you can.
P.S. there is no beach what so ever at this resort

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at these apartments staying on a self catering basis.Have to say,that was impressed about everything. Sea view ,food,location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will be back for sure next year.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Just returned from a week at these apartments staying on a self catering basis. This was our first time to Tenerife and Puerto Santiago, so a little unsure of what we would find. The apartments are about 40 minutes from Tenerife South airport - 50 Euros in a taxi - so all good.
The apartments offer various boarding arrangements - all inclusive, half board etc. We had decided to opt for self catering because research showed that the area is as close to typically Canarian as you can get - friends have been coming to the area for 15 years and helped to convince us.
The apartments are over a small shopping complex. Don't worry - it's not noisy and was fine. We had opted for a two bedroom apartment so that my daughters could have their own room. The apartment was spacious with a huge amount of storage - mirrored wardrobes everywhere - which the ladies loved!
A separate kitchen area had all cooking facilities - 4 ring hob, microwave and oven. Nice fridge freezer. Probably the best thing for us was the electric kettle and a teapot and milk jug - oh and a corkscrew! I sound like my dad, but it was great to get up in the morning and be able to make a pot of tea and sit on the balcony.
Oh yes - we paid extra for a sea view - we were on the 1st floor - higher would have been better ( 4 floors), but the view was still fantastic looking out to the sea and Los Gigantes mountains.
The lounge area had a TV with a couple of English channels - but we didn't come away to watch TV, so that wasn't a problem.
The nearest beach is about 10 minutes walk - very steep so not for the faint hearted - but worth the descent and the climb. Two pools at the apartments, both with bars. We only used the rooftop pool which had great views towards the next island and the mountains. Drinks were very reasonably priced - 2.75 euros for a pint of beer and 2 for a glass of wine. Local bars are much cheaper.
The one thing to remember is that the complex is rated as two star - expect two star and you'll be pleasantly surprised. Not everything was perfect, but the area is so relaxed that it didn't seem to matter. Many small supermarkets close by including Lidls a few minutes away - but the locals are pretty much as cheap. There are quite a few restaurants to choose from within a few minutes walk - you can spend as little or as much as you want to. Our evening dinners ranged from 33 euros for wine and pizza to 100 euros for fillet steak and wine .
If you're looking for a quiet place to stay with no frills, but providing all basics - with lovely beaches restaurants and beaches close by - this is the place to be. Remember though, that it's two star and you'll be fine.
The apartments were a little tired - the lounge ceiling fan was a bit noisy and the balcony doors could have done with a bit of maintenance to make them slide open easier. The shower could have been a bit more powerful. But we didn't complain - so that was our problem - all in all a very relaxing week here.
Apartment cleaned daily and new towels. Bedding changed once during the week - more frequently would have been better, but not a big deal.
Would we return - yes. Just remember its 2 star - very relaxing, great views, spacious and everything else takes care of itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear George C,

Thank you for your nice and detailed comments on Vigilia Park and the surrounding áreas.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and (we hope) for your next stay please don't hesitate to contact our reception desk with any fault or problem in your apartment so our technical man could fix you the problema straight away!
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vigilia Park 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigilia Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.