We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vigilia Park to your Saves list
Vigilia Park
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights self catering on the last week of August and vigilia park was very clean,very friendly and a very nice place to sit back and relax. Any problems were sorted straight away and the pools were good as well. As for nightlife yes it is quiet but Los gigantes is not far also neither is playa la arena both easy to walk to but getting back will tire you out. Went half board for 5 days which was 15 euro each per day just to see what the food was like I did find the food to get better but basic and it was nice as well. I can't really state any bad things me and my girlfriend had at this place all was very good. Oh and the cleaners were brilliant 6 times a week. As for the beaches I think the playa la arena might be the best one out of the 3 around . I would recommened staying at this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Adamski198,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays at Tenerife. Thank you also for recomendig us!
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    154
    70
    31
    17
See reviews for
130
140
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the outside it looks pretty old fashioned, and the rooms are quite dated, but the cleaners come in often and do an alright job. The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Can be quite noisy in the evenings but there is a security guard.

There is a swimming pool at the bottom and on the top floor. Lots of sunbeds, never a problem getting one. At the top the views are unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gigantes cliffs, not looking straight out to the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Ms Sunshine909,

Thank you for your nice words from us! We hope you enjoyed your stay in our lovely little island!
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Both families had one bedroom apartments, which were lovely sizes for us all, however the sofa beds were uncomfortable and broken at the bottom and felt like you were not laying straight. The pools were great sizes for the kids, who were 11, 10, 8 and 7, however the lifeguard kept telling the children to keep the noise down and they were not allowed lilos, balls etc in the pool. The only entertainment the hotel had were shows, which were usually from 19.30- 21.00 if you were lucky, then nothing till the bar closed at 23.00, which was early. The hotel was at the top of the hill and there was hardly any entertainment around the area, what with having 4 kids and a pregnant sister, we could not really walk to far. We walked downhill one night and found a restaurant that was not very friendly so did not bother again. The views from the top of the hotel were amazing, however found it hard to get sunbeds by all pools, as other residents had already been down and put their towels on them, there was a sign saying not to do this as your towels would be removed but this never seemed to happen. People would come down early put their towels down and then disappear for the rest of the day, so we had to sit on the chairs near the bar. No air conditioning, just ceiling fans.

Room Tip: Get a room that has enough beds to cater for everyone as the sofa beds are very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Louisewoodford,

Thank you for your comments on us. We are trying to face the problem with the towels on the swimmingpools but sometimes during the year seems more difficult. We apologise for this. Also apologise for the lifeguard, but there are rules on the swimmingpools for not to disturb other guests who want to go for a swim or just to relax on the solarium area.
For your next visit we recomend you to pick up a taxi to visit the Los Gigantes area for more evening entertainment, it would only cost you about 3-4 Euros.
See you soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this self catering accommodation on the internet through Sunmaster and was very pleasantly surprised. We are two families that always holiday together which includes four children of the ages twins at 10, 11 and 12 years.
The Vigilia Park is set at the top of the hill of Puerto de Santiago in a very central position for the resort and also Los Gigantes. If you dont mind the walk up and down the hills, which we didnt it is approximately 10 minutes stroll to get to each of them. If you are less mobile, outside the accommodation there is a bus stop which goes to them and basically everywhere else which we used to go further afield to Playa de las Americas which cost 6 euro return and took an hour each way.
We were slightly apprehensive about the position of the hotel as it is above a shopping centre, but dont let it worry you as it didnt affect our stay in any way. The hotel has three pools, the largest being on the ground floor and a further two on the top of the hotel. The childs pool on top is small but perfectly formed and there is a sunbathing terrace that has amazing views. The pools on the roof are amazing as you are not overlooked and you can see for miles!!
The accommodation itself has everything you would require, my family consists of myself, my husband and daughter and we had a two bed appartment with plenty of space. We had previoulsy read reports regarding this hotel so did request a seaview and I must say definately do when you book as other views not so good. I would also request a high floor room, I think If I remember correctly the rooms are on four floors. The rooms are cleaned daily plus towel changed daily (except Sundays) and bedding changed twice a week. Staff very friendly and helpful with good speaking English apart from one who served us on the upper bar one lunchtime and got our order completely wrong!!
We went to the beach in Puerto de Santiago which is small, the beach is sandy but pebbly to get into the water. The beach in Los Gigantes is bigger and sandy with the water being lovely and clear and a lovely view. We went to Playa de Las Americas for the day which in our opinion is the best beach but would not want to stay there. Los Cristianos is nice too.
Had some fantastic meals in some amazing restaurants but the ones we liked best were Le Meson which is on the main road going down the hill, Le Pescador ( think I have spelt it right) in Los Gigantes which you cant miss. Its upstairs but well advertised and the food and service very classy and professional and not too expensive, went back several times and the kids loved it, El pollo de or is in the shopping centre below the hotel and serves amazing spit roast chicken, didnt find anywhere else that could compete!!
Overall thoroughly enjoyed our holiday with friendly accommodation

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get that high floor with seaview, its well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Thehallschesterfield,

Thank you for your the nice description on our complex and the surroungind areas!
It's great to read that you took time of your life to write your recommendations of your stay. Thank your for this in the name of Vigilia Park and other guests as well!
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we have just returned from 10 days at Vigilia park and we had a lovely holiday there. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a sea view, the view was lovely and the apartment was spacious and cleaned 6 days out of 7. We did not eat in the hotel as we were self catering and ate out every night, there were lots of restaurants in the area as well as in Los Gigantes which was only a 10 minute stroll away. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: definately book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Ms. lana b,

We appreciate for recommending us! It´s nice to hear that you spent some nice holidays with us.
Hope to see you back soon!
Thank you and kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and i booked a fairly last minute holiday in March this year and stayed at Vigelia just for a week.NOT LONG ENOUGH.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment was extremely good,clean and very well equiped
,The only downside was the balcony was overlooking a side street,however as we were content to read after being out all day on the roof terrace and later for a walk and a meal this was not a problem.The little snack bar was just right and catered for our needs during the day.
The good thing is we are returning in 3 weeks time for 2 weeks and really looking forward to exploring a bit more.We have upgraded this time for an apartment with a view as we do like to chill on the balcony and admire where we are.We would not be returning if we had not been satisfied and i think this Hotel should have a higher rating than it was given.See you soon all at Vigelia :))))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Mrs. SUE688,

Thank you for your comments and recomentadions of Vigilia Park, specially on the units overlooking to the street.
We are very happy to hear that you are coming back soon. Please if you can send us an e-mail to make sure that we can give you a nice unit!
See you soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We’ve just returned from 10 days in Tenerife staying at Viglia Park. The surrounding resort was nice and quiet, however there was plenty to do, we were worried at first as the area looks mostly residential, but after a walk around we discovered there are many things to do and see, with Playa de La Arena and Los Gigantes only a 10 minute walk away. Although, do be prepared to walk some steep hills which can prove to be a little difficult in the heat.

The hotel was clean, well-kept and had everything we wanted. The rooms themselves were large enough and the kitchen is well equipped. We stayed in a studio with a sea view, the sea view being a must, however looking back; we should have chosen to stay in a room with a balcony. The rooms are cleaned and towels changed daily.

We spent most of our time around the top pool, which had stunning views of the cliffs and the sea and plenty of sun loungers. As well as the large pool upstairs there was a smaller pool for children next to it and a pool on the ground floor with more sun loungers. Both pools were clean and in excellent condition. All the staff we encountered were helpful and very polite.
We ate out every night so did not try the hotel food.

A few places that we particularly enjoyed were Casa Pedro, a small canarian restaurant with a great selection of fresh fish and meat, about a 5 minute walk away. El Pozo, which was in the shopping centre underneath (with the entrance around the back), we visited a few times and both the members of staff were very polite and the food excellent. And finally, the pizza restaurant on the corner of the shopping centre, this was very well priced for the massive portions that you received! As well as the taste being good. Everywhere we went we found the prices very reasonable for both food and drink.

There were a few boat trips to see whales and dolphins leaving from Los Gigantes and we went with the Marina Princess Dos (Top Class Tours), we saw many whales and dolphins so plenty of photo opportunities, would definitely recommend this for both children and adults alike. (Would also recommend taking a travel sickness tablet beforehand as this was one of our downfalls). As well as this there are plenty of shops to keep you busy, the usual souvenir shops and small clothing shops. There was also a small local art gallery for art work to purchase and a exhibition to view.

Overall an excellent holiday and would visit in the future without hesitation!

Room Tip: A room with a seaview is must, one with a balcony even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Ms. LF-JH,

It is really nice to read your words! Thank you very much for choosing us! Will transfer your kind opinions to our staff.
Hope to see you soon back with us in Vigilia Park!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vigilia Park 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vigilia Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.