We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Flamingo to your Saves list
Bahia Flamingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Gaviota, 3 | Urb. Varadero, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family holiday ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just spent another week in this hotel , last visit was October. Still no complaints staff friendly and helpful food very good desert to die for especially the cakes. Visited lora parque this time a must place to go for kids

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    110
    83
    33
    20
See reviews for
79
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orpington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed all inclusive at this hotel in June 2013 and loved it so much we went again a couple of weeks ago. The staff remembered us from the previous year and were very welcoming. The food is good and they even had 'themed' days. For instance a Chinese day, a Spanish day with some of the menu reflecting this and the entertainments staff dressed in costume to represent the country. I would take this opportunity to remind anyone going to Tenerife that they DO NOT farm any produce except for bananas (this will also discontinue in a couple of years). All their food is imported. So it is best to keep this in mind in any hotel on the island if you are expecting lots of variety. Given what they have available they certainly manage to provide quite a bit of variety. The hotel has had some refurbishment in the addition of a small terrace for the pool bar. Also they were taking delivery of new beds and flat screen TV's while we were there and repainting the exterior. The hotel is only 4 floors high, not one of those awful tower blocks with no personality and therefore the staff develop a good rapport with guests. Car hire and excursions can be booked at reception and they are very helpful with their advice, giving you various options for what may be most interesting and economical. Entertainment if basic but anyone who has been to the Canaries will know that what you see in one hotel is the same all over the islands (just shown on different days all year), e.g; the parrot show, flamenco dancing, the snake show, the magic show and a couple of singers. Bare in mind that these entertainers work on a small island so getting some fresh new act is not an option. If you overlook that fact it's ok for a laugh and they always do it with enthusiasm. Los Gigantes is nearby and in the other direction you can walk to Alcala which is about 3k distance and has a natural swimming pool on the beach (Alcala town itself is not attractive so I would only visit for the beach. A little further along is Playa San Juan a very pretty little beach with some nice little cafes. I had a rather nice Barraquito here, and then another!

Room Tip: The balconies facing south/east get more sun although you won't see the sunset from there. Corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We went on holiday here last June to July and the minute we arrived at the hotel it looked hideous from the outside. We had a deal on this hotel, however it was still supposed to be 3*, it was more like a 1* hotel, the worse we have ever stayed in. The rooms were clean, however there was a consistent smell of sewage coming from the water in our bathroom and around the poolside. The food was constantly cold, and there was not any variety. My partner and I are widely travelled and were astounded by the food, some days we would only have chips, which isn't helpful for anyone's diet. We had to dine out about 4/5 times throughout our ten day stay, as we could not stand this. On a weekend the locals will arrive and all sense of even the slightest relaxation was gone, they would be shouting and screaming until the early hours and extremely rude to other guests. I spoke to a receptionist on our penultimate night, as one of the spanish children threw a drink over me from a balcony and this was not actioned. The receptionists were rude and the hotel needs to be closed down and revamped to ever be a 3*. You can't access anything from the hotel, very far away. In 2012 we stayed of the Globales Aparthotel Tamaimo Tropical and that was 100% better and far more enjoyable experience than at the Bahia Flamingo. We still have ongoing disputes with Lowcostholidays.com in regards to this holiday and we advise anyone to avoid this holiday and just pay that little bit extra for somewhere ALOT nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for nine days and thought it was very pleasant. The staff are very polite and hard working. The food was delicious, hot and plentiful, with good variety (even for fussy eaters). The pool was lovely (although chilly) with an attentive lifeguard, and the sea views and proximity to the beach were great. Entertainment was provided each night, however, it was easy to do your own thing and get some peace if preferred. Local restaurants were excellent and good value if you fancy a change. The beach was busy but had good facilities. The rooms were spacious and clean (albeit fairly basic), and were cleaned daily. Other guests were a total mixture of families with young children, couples and groups of older people, so something for everyone. Overall it was just want we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

just back after 9 nights at the bahia flamingo hotel and again we had a great stay.the food was good and always hot, plenty of it . the staff in the dinning room were all very nice. we were on the 3rd floor but it isnt too bad for stairs although if you struggle with stairs i would ask for ground floor room.. our room was clean and the balcony view was amazing,, the area round the hotel is pretty quiet but you can take the bus to los gigantes 5 mins up the road. take one of the excusions on offer as they are very good value for money..we hope to return same time next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for a week over Christmas I would not recommend this hotel to anyone needs a good refurbishment and showers that actually have hot water coming out of them this hotel is not for older people or very wheelchair friendly as there are no lifts just stairs. The hotel Is very far away from the town centre cost us 30 euro in a taxi each way and we had to travel on the bus for hour each day to be near any of the shops, bars and attractions. As for the food it was shocking everything we ate was stone cold we did not have one decent meal at the hotel we ended up eating out every day and night even though we was all inclusive and as for the variety of drinks you get on the all inclusive it was very minimal and the glasses were very tiny you had to keep going to the bar and the que at the bar was terrible as there was only ever one member of staff on. The staff were not all that friendly and the entertainment was the same thing most nights but I must say the girl that does the entertainment works extremely hard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Room 401 = 49 stairs, yes I did count, hard work for an older person but the view from the large balcony was something else, fantastic! The room was in need of major refurbishment although I understand it had not long changed ownership and maybe the refurb was in hand. The staff could not have been better all round great service. Food top notch for a three star, never hungry or wanting. Pool freezing, maybe good for summer.
Would like to go there again in a year or two to see what improvements have been made to the rooms. Overall lovely experience just go if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view there are plenty but you could get a no view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Flamingo

Address: Avenida de la Gaviota, 3 | Urb. Varadero, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bahia Flamingo offers a very satisfactory, located in an area of ​​the island with beaches, cliffs and many adventure activities .. hotel low cost prices you have to enjoy the large swimming pool, entertainment area, bar and restaurant. Being located in the population of Puerto de Santiago is a great variety of stores. Next to the hotel are the public transport links for exploring the rest of the island comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotetur Bahia Flamingo Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Flamingo Tenerife
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
Bahia Flamingo Hotel
Bahia Flamingo Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.