We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar to your Saves list
Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Bath, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Pros:
Nice reception area
Friendly staff
Large, clean room
Air con included
Reasonable breakfast
Well located in quietish area

Cons:
Uncomfortable very firm bed
Old, worn sofa
Pay TV - only one free English channel
Basic, low quality dinners - avoid
Pay WiFi at €6 per day

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    129
    101
    51
    32
See reviews for
90
174
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed 22nd Dec to 29th Dec 2013. The first thing I have to say is this is not a 4 star hotel, I would struggle to give it 3 stars.The food is very basic with very little choice and we are not fussy eaters. It was barely warm and at times cold,
even shortly after it was brought out.
The hotel is clean and tidy but the rooms are very dated and in need of an upgrade.
The pool area is very small.There is nowhere to sit outside and have a drink in the evenings, the only bar open after 6pm is inside and very dark. The pool bar which was open during the day was tiny with very little seating.
The staff were very nice but that did not make up for a very disappointing hotel.
We would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not a great start, we arrived after the 2 hour transfer from hell on a rickety coach (moved seats twice before we found some which wern't broken) driven at breakneck speed from one side of the island to the other, with a drunken couple having a full scale row next to us for the best part of the trip! Checked in to find all inclusive is largely all excluded here!! Missed dinner as they shut the dining room before the scheduled time, had to pay for a safe (and leave a deposit), same for towels, deposit and payment if you wanted to change them more than every 3 days! if we wanted the English TV channels we were expected to pay extra for them. Then to top it off we dropped our bags into the very shabby room, surveyed the empty fridge and thought we better seek out some water!! Fundamental part of all inclusive you might think, asked at the bar where the bottled water was? They don't even supply that here!! You can have thimble sized cups of water in the bar or dining room (signs not to fill bottles from them though)! Not a great first night before we could hit the shops for supplies the next day, spent the night gasping and the next 6 days constantly tripping off to the shops to lug bottled water back. Generally very run down, worn and grubby carpets, especially in the bar which caused a real smell. Maids visited us twice in our 1 week stay. Kids running riot every evening in the bar - due to lack of advertised kids club actually taking place. Best sun spot here (only real sun spot due to the pool area having fixed in place umbrellas which you could not put down), was the roof terraces. One of these was permanently closed and the other had about a dozen beds, most of them broken. Food really, really poor, dire lack of choice, rubbish in quality and usually cold. Especially New Years Eve, which is really why we went on Holiday to see in the New Year somewhere different. It was certainly different - fine though if you like kids running around blowing whistles all night (one thing supplied by this hotel)! and druken Russians going from table to table singing badly at you. Only plus really was the location, easy to reach the beach and somewhere else to eat!! and the staff were all very friendly. Needless to say we will not be returning here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to Tenerife in January. We were pretty afraid that the weather would be not great as winter time is not that great even on canary islands. We very surprised that it was really nice and sunny there. Hotel was very well kept and clean, staff was really nice and helpful and food in the buffet was always fresh and tasty . There was lods of space in the swimming pool area. The staff helped us with looking for some things to do and see on Tenerife. The only thing is that the hotel should provide some more attractions for its guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Rated as a four star hotel this place is a bit of a joke.
I wouldn't go so far to call it a fraud because sometime in the early 70's this building probably earned that rating, but not now.

As a couple we stayed at Lagos de Cesar for one week (we had incl. bed and breakfast).

The holiday started with a 2 hours transfer on a faulty bus with broken seats and no aircon.
When we finally reached the hotel it was pitch black outside and no sign was lighting up the hotel.

First impression of the reception was that it looked very worn down and out-dated.
The male receptionist was on his mobile phone and at first he didn't bother to serve us.
When we finally got our (only) key to the room we asked about wi-fi for which they charged £25 a week. They took cash only (go figure) and we got our wi-fi.
We soon realised the wi-fi only works in the reception and the receptionist seemed to have been aware of this but admitted that it "not always work on all floors". At least we got our money back. Carpet in hotel was very worn down and it was easy to trip at some places. Paint was also falling of the facade.

The Room: Room was surprisingly large at first glance. We soon discovered that everything was very low standard. Mold was building up everywhere (see attached photos).
The boiler was only efficient to heat water for a one-person 5-minute shower.
Beds were to single beds put together and sheets were very simple.

Doors to the balcony didn't lock properly and the day-cleaners often left them open.
The living room sofa had lovely white stains on it and the old TV was only available for an additional charge.

Bathroom was fairly clean, they switched the towels every day.
Unfortunately that didn't stop the nightly guests to come visiting (see cockroaches).
We asked to change room but that wasn't possible due to "overbooking".
Surprisingly the hotel seemed very quiet and it was far from overbooked as stated, just another excuse.

Cockroaches could also be found on all the public toilets close to the lobby as well as around the pool area. Quite disgusting to be honest. The pool area only had sun after 2 pm and was always fully occupied.

The breakfast was ok but most of the food was low quality and fatty. Scrambled eggs and omelette was clearly made out of egg powder. The service staff was friendly and did the best they could.

Entertainment: Once again the staff did the best they could. The "shows" were borderline embarrassing for anyone above the age of five.

Gym: Looked more like an abandoned store room with broken scrap metal all over the place.
Everything was broken.

Finally, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. It's in serious need of renovation and
far from a 4 star rating. More a 1-2 star hotel. People who claims otherwise in these reviews are either lying or hotel employees. Pay a bit extra and get a room in Los Cristianos instead. Bus from this place to any decent beach takes at least 1,5 hours if not longer. That 4 hours a day wasted for nothing.

Additional comments:

Since my girlfriend is spanish she could understand everything the receptionist was talking about on his mobile when he didn't bother to serve us one night. It was gossip about other colleagues and excuses.

We did see a lot of other people complaining in the reception about everything from cockroaches to theft of expensive shoes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ideal location in a street behind the main road, very little traffic noise. Went half board but ate out most times as food was average with plenty of it! Rooms were great with a fridge but a pay TV for most channels. Pool was fine but didn't indulge in nightly events in the hotel. Ideal for those who want to explore the south and west of the island as the buses are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have been to this hotel before and really liked it. This time it was OK but there were lots of little things that they have cut back on. The room was nice and clean but this time the room was only cleaned every second day and sometimes it was late afternoon before it was done. The food was also fine but not as large a choice as before and the staffing levels had been cut back. We could see that they were rushed off their feet although they were always polite and helpful if asked for anything. There was rarely any staff at the pool bar and often it was the lifeguard who was serving there. Also the drinks bottles were often empty and the counter very sticky although I have to say someone would occasionally come along and give it a wipe. We returned to this hotel because we enjoyed our first visit there but don't think we will go there again. The bar in the lounge was also often understaffed resulting in queues and anyone wanting a drink had to endure the relentless loud music. There was a lovely quiet lounge next to the restaurant with an empty bar and it would have been so nice to have sat there for a quiet drink. Not everyone wants their ears constantly blasted with that racket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar

Address: C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful area close to the beach, the Hotel Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea is ideally located for visitors looking for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is also just a short walk from the nearby Playa de Arena beach and close to the sea and the mountains so guests can enjoy stunning views from their rooms. The centre of the bustling resort is also close by where you will find a great selection of shops, restaurants, cafes and a varied nightlife with bars and clubs, which means there is something for everyone. The Hotel Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea would be an excellent choice for anyone who is looking to be close to the beach and in easy reach of the resort of Puerto de Santiagio. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool complete with sun terrace and a separate section for children. There is also an additional terrace on the roof of the hotel providing plenty of space for those looking to soak up the sun with the loungers and sun-beds provided. The hotel has a buffet restaurant which offers a complimentary breakfast to all guests and is also available for lunch and dinner for those staying as half-board or the all-inclusive option. The hotel also has two bars to choose from, which includes the main salon bar that often features entertainment and music and the pool bar. The 116 rooms at the hotel offer guests a choice of junior suites that are ideal for couples and families with plenty of space for up to four people. The rooms are large and spacious, with some standard rooms reaching up to 43 square metres in size and family rooms reaching 50 metres squared in size. Each suite also comes with an en suite bathroom, terrace with views over the sea or mountains, and a host of amenities including - air conditioning - telephone - payable TV with satellite channels - safe (optional) - sofa bed - hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Lagos De Cesar Tenerife
Hotasa Lagos De Cesar Hotel
Hotel Lagos De Cesar
Lagos Cesar
Blue Sea Hotel Lagos De Cesar Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.