We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill fast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea to your Saves list
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Third visit, since the last in January the food is poor Burgers by the pool used to be made fresh for you now left all day in a heater tried one, one bite then bin, WiFi used to be free now 25 euro a week but still only in same reception area. I took a picture of the pool in January you can see the tiles at the bottom took one November you cannot see the bottom of the pool it is not clean you used to see them make regular tests on the water did not see one. New entertainment guy Burt has gone the Afro hairstyle is back personal opinion I prefer him nice and friendly and none of the annoying shaky shaky. Less staff during meal times cleaning tables. The bar staff are still the same so there is still some hope for this hotel. My last review said good value now its cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    159
    124
    54
    35
See reviews for
109
202
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my partner arrived at 9:30pm after 2 1/2hours to get to the hotel from the airport when the driver said it would take an hour. Arrived at hotel to a strong smell of sewers, two guys at reception were the most unhelpful, uncaring people you could ask for! Got given cold meat, soggy cabbage and chips. We asked for a double bed with sea view and we got given 2 singles with view of four cranes and in the bedroom there was one socket on the wall with one lamp as light. Tried to get the sofa bed out it fell to piece on my partners leg and he had a big cut in his leg, and the people at reception told us we shouldn't be touching the sofa bed..why are they in there then!? After the bed broke on my partners leg, another couple got put in that room and tried to get bed out and it was still broken and the hotel charged them 400 euros!!!!-it was already broken! We got moved rooms three times in the week we were there! The food was very poor, was like soggy school dinners every night was the same thing. We only ate there one night and went out for dinner the rest. There was no 'snack bar' and if your all inclusive you still have to pay for drinks such as malibu and proper vodka. Overall was a very disappointing hotel...its not 4 star, grotty area.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or you'll be looking at cranes! Make sure you get your passports back from rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positives - Arrived at the hotel and directed to our room which was lovely. Pool and sea view with a balcony and separate room with a sofa and a tv. Lovely for relaxing during the evening. Entertainment was brilliant. Snake show, parrot show, dancing shows and bingo every night which was entertaining. Also things to do in the hotel during the day e.g. killer pool/killer darts. Always a bit of fun. Good location, by several bars that do kareoke in the evenings if you want something to do after the piano bar closes, also two beaches and several shops nearby!
Negatives - Pool was out of use for the whole of our stay with no real explanation of why this was even when we asked staff. Bit disappointing! General communication within the hotel was poor e.g. being told that the restaurant was closing early one evening with no explanation. Later went to the bar to find that there was a presentation of trophies for pigeon racing which we knew nothing about! And neither did the staff! Also got asked to leave the bar early that evening to allow them to have an after celebration. Following this, lots of noise in and around the hotel which was disruptive that evening. Food wasn't brilliant. There's something for everyone but food is quite plain and often looked like leftovers from the meal before. But feel that we did get what we paid for and it was good value. Also liked the fact you could pour your own soft drinks and beer. Saves queues at the bar!

Room Tip: We were top floor corner room next to the solarium and it was lovely. Lovely views and sun reaches i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went for one week's break returning 6th November with wife and two kids aged 5 & 8. Considering the awful weather, we enjoyed our break and thought the hotel provided superb value for money. Two thirds of our holiday cost was for the flights and the hotel cost less than £20 per person per day, which for all inclusive is cheap by anyone's standards.

The food is never going to please everyone and it might be a little repetitive if staying for two weeks, but we generally all found something we liked most days and we all put on weight, so it can't have been as bad as some others suggest. I was generally pleased with the food & the quality of meat.

The swimming pool and surrounding area was a little disappointing in that there is a tiny baby pool and then a main pool that has no shallow end. So, other than a baby pool, there is nothing for children unless they can either swim fairly well or they wear arm bands. The sun loungers around the pool are often in the shade due to permanent parasols that can't be lowered; not great for the sun worshippers, though there were more on the roof of the hotel where you could sunbathe.

There was only one member of staff in charge of entertainment/activities and he had the personality of a piece of wood. The kids club consisted of colouring or playing Wii games and only lasted for an hour and a half per day. The evening entertainment was truly awful with the same man starting proceedings with a mini-disco that had no music or dancing (I’m not kidding), just one quick game per night. Entertainment for the family was generally even worse and it comes to something when the parrot show was one of the best evenings.

The drinks were self service during the day and there were only small queues at night. There were bar snacks available around the pool all day and fresh fruit as well. There was also a free towel exchange service, which was very useful.

The rooms were clean & spacious with free, efficient air conditioning in both rooms, and the beds were comfortable (especially if you moved the double mattress off the creaking settee onto the floor).

The local beach is only a few minutes walk away and is very pleasant if you don't mind black sand and there is a good choice of restaurants around if you fancy a change from the hotel food.

Some people complained of very long transfers from the airport (with various drops at other hotels), but if you don't mind paying 50 Euros each way, there are literally dozens of taxis waiting at the airport and it takes 40 minutes maximum.

All in all, I've been to better hotels, but I've had to pay more money for them and I thought this represented cracking value for money if you can live with the negatives I've highlighted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for a week from the 15th oct
We were two friends with 5 children between us ranging from 3-12 including my daughter who is in a wheel chair. The airport transfer was very long and we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere when we got to the hotel and we were a bit disappointed on arrival with the tired look of the hotel, but for the whole week we were there all of the hotel was spotless, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was typically Spanish. The children and me always found something we could eat and generally it was tasty.i think people come away expecting the food to be like it is at home and when it tastes different ( which it will as they cook it their way ) they complain. The hotel could do with a re vamp but our rooms were clean and spacious and we had a lovely sea view. We never once had to queue for a sunbed although in peak season I could see this would be a problem and the sun came around the pool at 11am not 1 pm like previously mentioned.its not a massive pool area but the pool is a good size an the kids loved playing in both pools all day .
The entertainment was a bit naff but again it is a small hotel and I think they did a good job considering I do think the kids mini games could have been for a big longer as all the kids did join in an enjoyed it. I think for the money we paid we had a lovely holiday we meet some lovely people and I do think it is a child friendly hotel but holidays are what you make them as well and we had a brilliant time .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We really can't understand what people are complaining about having just returned from a 10 night all inclusive stay at this hotel. We are a family of 4, our children are 8 and 4 and have to say that they loved every minute of it. The entertainment was great, something different every night, whether it was a snake show, birds of prey, poodles, exotic dancers, parrots, rhythmic gymnastics it was good and kept the kids (and us) entertained. The guy organising the entertainment did a great job, with kids club in the morning, activities in the afternoon and kids games and bingo in the evenings, he definitely deserves some praise. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the rooms were spacious and comfortable and were cleaned when we requested them to be (and sometimes when we didn't). The pool was fine, yes it's deep but there was always a friendly lifeguard watching over it, even assisting with helping children to learn how to swim. Maybe we stayed during a less busy period but we never had to fight for a sun bed, there were plenty to go around. The food was good and there was plenty of choice and we (and our sometimes fussy children) never went hungry. The self service pool bar was also handy with toasties, hot dogs, burgers, drinks (alcholic and non) pastries and ice cream available throughout the day. All in all, we spent some quality family time together in a comfortable, clean and friendly environment and also met 3 other families who would all confirm what I have said - great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After being dropped off at the door of the Hotel we were welcomed by a strong smell of sewage from the front of the Hotel. Sadly this smell hung around the front of the hotel for the duration of the holiday. The exterior and Reception looked tired with worn carpets and peeling paintwork. We went to check-in and were allocated a room on the first floor. The room was dark, the settee could not be used as the springs along the bottom were all broken, the bedroom had 2 small single beds with old duvet covers, the bedroom window couldn’t be opened because of the large tree against the outside, fittings were old and basic. It was hardly the Junior Suite which was advertised. We immediately went back to Reception and asked for a change of room but were told the Hotel was full.

The following morning we asked a different Receptionist if we could change our room – again he said the Hotel was full. After a lengthy debate we told we were shown to a top floor room, large balcony, sea view. So the Hotel wasn’t full, what a result, we thought !!

Three days in a row we woke up with no power and had to continually flick the switch in the electricity unit to make it work (not very safe for guests to be doing this on a daily occurrence). It took 2 days for the Electrician to supposedly sort the problem which was noted as the air conditioning unit, however, when we woke up for the third day with no power it was obvious there was something more major. Reception advised this would be fixed by the end of the day. When we returned late afternoon we were told the water heater was broken and there would only be enough hot water to shower in the evening. The following morning we had no hot water so were unable to shower. We were offered no alternative use of a bathroom, bearing in mind it was not our fault the water heater had broken. It would have been helpful if staff had been a bit more sympathetic. On return later in the afternoon we noticed the old boiler had been taken out and a new one fitted in its place, but the workmen failed to clear up after them – the floor was covered in plasterboard, screws, chipped wood. On informing Reception the women advised ‘what was she expected to do' - there were no staff to clean the room of the debris so the Receptionist had to do it !!

The day before our departure we asked for a late check-out and were told ‘no’ as again the hotel was apparently full. When asked where to shower later in the afternoon, we were told to use the open showers on the roof top terrace or the open showers (in full view of all sunbathers) at the side of the swimming pool!!

We went for dinner on the first night and waited what seemed like ages at the front opening of the Restaurant to be shown to our seat – waiters just walked up and down until finally one acknowledged he had guests and said sit anywhere! Although food was very basic and luke-warm, we let this pass as we thought it was because we were one of the last couples to eat that evening due to our late arrival. WRONG !!

Throughout the week we ate in the hotel for breakfast and only 3 times in the evening. Breakfast was of poor standard but evening meals were worse. Lack of choice, lukewarm, salad not fresh, flies over salad, burnt fried eggs, half cooked bacon, half way through dinner service we asked for more cheese and were told there was none, cheese left to sweat on counter and not kept cool. The tablecloths were dirty, chipped cups and plates, supposedly clean plates were covered in a ‘film’ from dishwashing, some clean plates were still dirty, we witnessed one waiter carrying far too many dirty dishes, dropped them, which resulted in a guest being splattered with yoghurt and failing to mop up! Staff were not interested in guests, in fact some seemed embarrassed to work there.

The restaurant rule of long trousers at dinner was totally ignored and men wandered about in shorts and vest tops, waiters never challenged anyone. Non-All Inclusive guests used the all-inclusive bar and were never challenged.

We ate out for four evenings as we couldn’t face the food in the hotel – what a waste of money paying half board, when you have to eat out anyway.

We would never return to this hotel and would never advise anyone to stay there – this Hotel could learn a lot from taking a short walk to neighbouring hotels to see how they approach customer service and satisfaction and cook edible food.

We holiday abroad regularly and have seen better standard of accommodation in much poorer countries - very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea

Address: C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting views of Tenerife's stunning landscape, the 4-star Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar is perfectly located a short transfer ride away from Tenerife South Airport and is close to the sands of Playa la Arena. Its peaceful setting is ideal for those in search of a relaxing family-friendly holiday. The 116 modern, spacious rooms include junior suites, which make the perfect accommodation for families in need of extra space. Suites are equipped with an en-suite bathroom, private terrace and a host of amenities, allowing residents to unwind in complete comfort. With its location just a 400m stroll from the beach, guests can enjoy views of the glistening sea, as well as the surrounding mountains. The tranquil setting makes it hard to believe Hotel Lagos de Cesar is situated in the heart of the bustling resort of Puerto de Santiago, where there is plenty of shopping, dining, sports activities and nightlife to be enjoyed. Featuring a large outdoor swimming pool that serves as its social hub, a separate children's pool, sun terrace and rooftop lounge area, the residence also offers a gym and mini club for active visitors seeking a little action. A buffet restaurant and two bars offering entertainment and music mean the needs of every guest are catered for. Hotel Lagos de Cesar even counts a hair salon among its facilities, making the hotel ideal for visitors in need of some serious R&R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Lagos De Cesar Tenerife
Hotasa Lagos De Cesar Hotel
Hotel Lagos De Cesar
Lagos Cesar
Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.