We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar to your Saves list
Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in the hotel during the second half of June. The room was large and spotless, with a large fridge, hairdryer, plenty of cupboard space and TV showing over 20 channels in a selection of languages. The balcony was also large with a clothes drier. The view from our room was of a patch of waste land but we preferred that to being poolside so we were happy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and contrary to other reviews never stopped smiling. laughing and joking - especially with the younger children. The buffet selection was varied (not so much for the vegetarians), was not cold and was replenished frequently - the only down side was that it reminded me of school dinners! The entertainment was also varied and fun, with games and kids clubs during the day and family entertainment in the evening. The pool area was on the small side and if you didn't queue for a sunbed in the morning you weren't getting one - although often we noticed this was because people were putting out towels then wandering off for the day! The hotel has 2 roof terraces with sunbeds although these have no shade. At the side of the hotel there is a garden area with a swing bench. The hotel offers WiFi, a hairdressers, tumble drier and car rental. The reception staff were very helpful when asked for directions and can book many excursions for you. The hotel is located near 3 supermarkets and countless shops, bars and restaurants. We were there before the season properly kicked in and even then we found there was plenty happening in the evenings. The bus and taxi services are reliable and frequent and will take you anywhere you need to go. We preferred to walk and take our time, the surrounding areas are quite hilly but you can find everything you need in Puerto Santiago or neighbouring Playa de La Arena. The beach was clean, with lovely soft black sand and you can hire sun loungers and parasols for 3 euros a day. The hotel is not 4 star as others have also said, but they are trying (we got the impression that there has recently been a change in ownership and the hotel is in a transition period). We found it to be worth what we paid.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little bit more when booking to avoid an inside corner room as these are very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    101
    51
    32
See reviews for
90
174
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our first time to tenerife and after reading the reviews was worried to say the least.Thankfully we didnt experience any thing that others say they experienced.We arrived just after 11pm and the reception rang through to the bar so we could get a drink.The room was spacious and very clean .We was ove rlooking some waste land but as the economy has come to a halt the buildings were not finished. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and never once did we get cold food.There is lots of variety and the waiting staff are very polite and friendly. The pool is small but fine for a dip to cool off.The sunbeds are few and far between and not enough for everyone so you do need to wait by the doors at ten which does spoil your holiday.The pool bar has a very large choice of drinks both hot and cold,and also hot dogs and burgers are avalible throughout the day.was this a 4 star hotel !!! i would say a 3 star max . Would we go there again. definatly

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

stayed here for a week i have to say was not my best holiday i have had i would rate the Hotel as a 4 star ish we arrived at 10.30pm checked in reception didn't really want to know about anything we had to ask where our room was we just made it in time to catch the all inclusive bar as A / I stops at 11pm

the main let down for this Hotel is the tiny pool area which is a complete joke theres approx 60 beds and at 9.45/10.00 every morning you will find people queing at the doors either end of the pool the lifeguard opens the doors and they run to grab a bed within 5 mins they are gone and they are so close together the pool bar is self service

food was good compared to some places the only food i found to be cold was breakfast bacon beans etc but not a problem theres a microwave lunch and evening meal was always hot and plenty of it as soon as something ran out it was replaced deserts was really nice waiters was always freindly the work really hard you will always see them working between Restaurant ,pool Bar ,and then evenings in the Piano Bar

area was quite but enough to see and do beach was spotless and sunsets was amazing even free wifi on the beach theres a taxi rank just down the road and also bus stops which we used a few times for days out really easy to use

shows of a evening was typical Parrot Show ,Snake show etc, Shakey Shakey Bing Bing Bingo was twice a week which is free so money to be won Cocktail from the bar and a bottle of wine if you go you will know why i put Shakey Bingo ..........

while we was there we seen people check out and also have there A / I bands on after 12 when you check out we checked out and was told we have to have our bands cut off that just about topped the holiday off after standing there argueing at reception to be told well it must of been who was on reception at the time so good luck

i wouldnt say to anyone not to stay at this Hotel as its good value for money just a shame to pool area really lets it down

feel free to ask any questions

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After reading some negative reviews of this hotel, we where pleasantly surprised at the service, and food. What ever instigates people to write bad reports on this hotel, we can not understand? The rooms wherea large, and spotlessly clean. We stayed their for two weeks from the begining of May until the 15th, just a couple of minutes walk to the beach, and plenty of bars, and shops. Buses are regular, and cheap. We didnt eat out except for one Sunday, when we hopped on a bus to the market in Christianas. We found that the food was excellent, with plenty of choice, and the draught sangria very strong, which we found more to our liking with meals. I can only assure anyone going to the Lagos de Cesar, that you will be well cared for, and have a terrific time. Barry & Sylvia

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Meal times were enjoyable as the staff greeted you with a smile. A reminder of no vest tops and shorts at dinner time. We did witness a couple of men who were politely asked to change as they were not wearing suitable attire. I personally believe that you should treat dinner time as if you were going out to a restaurant and dress appropriately.)The room was lovely - we had two balconies so were lucky to have a view of the pool and of the sea. You don't need to take towels as they are provided and changed regularly. I really enjoyed my time at this hotel. The food was lovely - it's different to what we normally have so you need to go with an open mind and be willing to try new things. The buffet had soups, hot food, a huge salad bar, a wide range of fruit, ice cream, small canape style desserts and a hot pudding. There was a wide range of food so hopefully you can find something you like. If you are still hungry after a meal then I highly recommend the burgers and hotdogs from the pool area. You can also help yourself to hot drinks, slush, water, soft drinks, lager, wine, sangria and lots of spirits. We invented many cocktails! There is also pastries and buns, nuts, olives, bread, fruit, cheese and ham. You can make your own toasties using the toaster and a microwave is there too. The entertainment on an evening was typical holiday entertainment but I found it to be very enjoyable. There was a snake show, a dancer, a parrot show, bingo, a quiz. You can order drinks at the bar - again, you can have cocktails, hot drinks, soft drinks.
My only criticism is that of reserving sun loungers. It clearly states that towels cannot be left to reserve them as they will be removed however this was not put into placed. The same people woould reserve towels and that would be them for the day. If you go down at about 9.45 and wait until the pool area opens then you will get a lounger. After 10 o clock and you don't have much chance, I'm afraid.
Would definitely go again!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

hotel was maybe 2 * not a 4. the food was virtually always cold in the restaurant. we had a lovely view of a building site and waste land. the staff never smiled or passed you by in the bar to serve the non brits. the area was so hilly and not really much to do unless you took the bus for over an hour to las americas. entertainment was pretty good some nights and bert the compare was hilarious and always very friendly. would we ever go back..........................never again..my partners first ever holiday abroad and now she is put off by it all.................stay away brits

Room Tip: get a different hotel in a better area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel was excellent!!!! We went for a quiet relaxing holiday and that’s exactly what we got (apart from a few drunken nights)! We are so happy with all the staff our room got cleaned daily even if not needed fresh towels were provided every day. We tested other reviews (about the cleaners pinching) by leaving 3 euros on the side and when we returned it was still there. The entire bar staff were lovely and remembered our drinks every night which is in my eyes fantastic customer service! The food was ok and was not repeated!
We just got back yesterday and want to go back again in a few months’ time. The made us feel so at home and as it was my 1st holiday without my parents I thought this wouldn’t happen and I would feel home sick but I could live there!!!
I can’t express how happy I am with everything!

Room Tip: Any room will do because its a beautiful hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar

Address: C/Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful area close to the beach, the Hotel Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea is ideally located for visitors looking for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is also just a short walk from the nearby Playa de Arena beach and close to the sea and the mountains so guests can enjoy stunning views from their rooms. The centre of the bustling resort is also close by where you will find a great selection of shops, restaurants, cafes and a varied nightlife with bars and clubs, which means there is something for everyone. The Hotel Lagos De Cesar By Blue Sea would be an excellent choice for anyone who is looking to be close to the beach and in easy reach of the resort of Puerto de Santiagio. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool complete with sun terrace and a separate section for children. There is also an additional terrace on the roof of the hotel providing plenty of space for those looking to soak up the sun with the loungers and sun-beds provided. The hotel has a buffet restaurant which offers a complimentary breakfast to all guests and is also available for lunch and dinner for those staying as half-board or the all-inclusive option. The hotel also has two bars to choose from, which includes the main salon bar that often features entertainment and music and the pool bar. The 116 rooms at the hotel offer guests a choice of junior suites that are ideal for couples and families with plenty of space for up to four people. The rooms are large and spacious, with some standard rooms reaching up to 43 square metres in size and family rooms reaching 50 metres squared in size. Each suite also comes with an en suite bathroom, terrace with views over the sea or mountains, and a host of amenities including - air conditioning - telephone - payable TV with satellite channels - safe (optional) - sofa bed - hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Lagos De Cesar Tenerife
Hotasa Lagos De Cesar Hotel
Hotel Lagos De Cesar
Lagos Cesar
Blue Sea Hotel Lagos De Cesar Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.