We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Pedro / Casa Pedro

Restaurante Pedro / Casa Pedro
Calle La Sirena 12, Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
922860169
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This restaurant is situated on the hill near Spanish Corner. We were attracted in by the menu and the restaurants general appearance which was charming and overlooked the sea. Unfortunately the food did not come up to the standard we were expecting. My wife decided to have the spicy chicken which was recommended by them. When it arrived it consisted of chicken legs covered in sauce, which was fine except for the fact that the chicken has cold on the inside and somewhat red, so much so that she was unable to eat it. It was obvious that the chicken had been cooked earlier and the sauce applied when served. I had the local beef stew which was O.K. When the plates were being taken away we were asked by the waitress if we had enjoyed the meal. I told them of our concerns and did not receive a response. From personal experience I could not recommend this particular restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas & sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We ate here three times during our holiday. The food is very fresh with a good variety of options. Its worth going just to sit and watch the sunset. The restaurant offers an uninterrupted view of the bay. No kids menu but our kids were happy to eat some of the tapas such as french fries, chicken/chorizo croquettes, Spanish omelette. Well worth a visit. The owner (Pedro I presume!) is very friendly and is happy to recommend dishes to try whilst making you feel like a special guest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as it was raining quite heavily on our first day and had no idea what to expect.
It turned out to be a little gem very good food friendly waiter and very reasonable prices, it's very old time Spanish feel about the place and gives a seaside feel to it, worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Mixed experience but well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went twice to this restaurant after having it recommended for local food. The first time was on a rainy night and we were virtually the only people in there. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly. They don't offer a children's menu but would make half size portions at half the cost. The kids tried food they might not have done normally and the bill was very reasonable. However, they were closed Sunday night and when we returned Monday it was both busier and had different staff on. The food took a while, there was a restricted choice, the staff were less friendly and our experience was not as good. Still I would recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best value puerto santiago meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Found it quite hard to locate tripadvisor restaurants in the area but this one was very obvious and so after some failed searching of other places decided to give this place a try. The exterior looks very generic touristy type restaurant with a huge menu sign in different languages but couldn't be more deceiving. Was pleasantly surprised.
The food here has a very homely rustic feel and it's a good quantity, tasty and very reasonably priced. I think it's the best value that we tried of the restaurants in this area. Highly recommend the canarian beef stew it was tasty and there was a good amount. We also had the seafood paella and for its price was pleasantly surprised with amount of seafood and the quantity. Service was very good, we got given a welcome treat. Other people in the restaurant looked like they were having a good time. Didn't sit on the terrace as it as a bit cold for us but there are great views off the cliff of the sea and La Gomera.
Best parts
- Great value
- Good stew
- Good for families
- Capacity for larger groups
- Terrace and sea views
Least good
- Interior decor (can definitely be forgiven for the food and the value)

Try it! Highly recommended

Hope this helps J :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Pedro / Casa Pedro also viewed

Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
 
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante Pedro / Casa Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Pedro / Casa Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.