We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Playa La Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Playa La Arena to your Saves list
Be Live Playa La Arena
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Lajial 4 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not one for all inclusive holidays, a friend and I were desperate for a holiday. We looked everywhere and couldnt find what we were looking for and then using onthebeach.com came across Playa La Arena. So fed up of looking for somewhere we took the plunge booked. Despite nerves of the unknown on arrival we were not only pleasantly surprised but very happy with what we saw. Our room wasnt ready on arrival so we had to wait a couple of hours and during the time of check and this time the staff were less than helpful, however, once we got to our room we were over joyed at the space, cleanliness and view from our balcony. Everything was just as you'd like and more.

Food became repetitive, but always something that you could eat. Drinks and bars were well provided for and we had booked for premium drinks, which meant no local brands.
Entertainment was cringe worthy but something that kept drawing you back, not least for a laugh (not with the entertainers but at).

Overall experience could be summed up by the fact that we intend to return next year with another friend (who is very fussy), as all round it was incredibly good value for money and very restful 10 days.

Room Tip: Definitely go for sea view room as there are some which overlook a housing complex a the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    729
    279
    92
    45
See reviews for
735
740
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned form 10 days at this hotel, the transfer was horrendous we sat on the coach for approx. 1 hour then it took 2.5 hours to get to the hotel. Once there the reception was impressive lovely seating lots of greenery beautiful staircase to restaurant. We upgraded to a superior room overlooking the sea and the pool room 890, I have a phobia for lifts but was ok in the hotel as they were glass so didn't feel so closed in. The room was big enough plenty of wardrobe space tv with english channels. The food was varied but not very warm, although they did cook a meat dish and a fish dish each night fresh, but the rest i.e chips and veg were just luke warm. Some people have said there is nothing around but there are a nice row of shops and restaurants, a bus stop outside to take you to the rest of the island, so not sure what some people want. The hotel did cater more for the French and german which I suppose I knew before going, but didn't think they would be as bad as I found them, the animation team never really put he time in with many english from what I could see, half the time I didn't know what they were saying, which to me was very ignorant. The pool area was impressive plenty of sunbeds, beautiful waterfall, and there are two entrances to the hotel, one you need to room card to get you in and out onto the main road, the other is at the front of the hotel. Would I go back? maybe but would take my chances with he room and wouldn't pay to upgrade as found out other guests were put in similar room at no extra cost, plus the transfer is a nightmare.

Room Tip: side sea/pool view or full on sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013


We have just returned from our 3rd stay at the hotel. As always, booking via Thomas Cook seems to get us the best rooms with stunning sea views. 692 has a great view over the pool and of the sea. Originally owned by Spring Hoteles, the reception area is similar to the Vulcano in Las Americas, with lots of hanging plants. The cleanliness of the lounge area was first class and always smells newly cleaned. The hotel is let down by the less than smiley staff, but our last holiday was a cruise, so we have probably been spoiled by experiencing happy, friendly, smiley staff. The food was ok, we found it all a bit same-ish and unless you had the freshly cooked food, usually it was luke warm. They do have a microwave at the right of the restaurant where the bread is laid out, probably for babies bottles, but ideal for giving your food a blast of heat - so look out for it, not many people seem to have spotted it. You could happily survive without eating out, but there are so many nice restaurants round about, we ate in 3 nights and ate out 4 nights, but didn't feel we had to, it was our choice to do so. The all inclusive superior drinks package means you can have Gordon's Gin, the real Bacardi and Johnnie Walker whisky - your wrist band is a different colour to show you are entitled to those drinks. If you like stunning views, nice coastal walks, good local restaurants and not too much hustle bustle, then this is a good area to be in. The weather on this coast is generally better than Las Americas area too. The hotel was full of French, Polish and Russians mainly, very few British - which means that there was not a lot of queing going on! Plenty sunbeds, even with the hotel being full and there seemed to be plenty to entertain children. There is a mini golf course and tennis courts adjacent to the hotel. All in all, a good clean hotel in a lovely quiet location, but near enough to everything you need. Add in some happy smiling staff and a little variation to the food and you would have a stunning hotel with stunning views.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from 3 days at this hotel at the end of February, it was an excellent hotel, the staff were very friendly, and helpful, food good, what more could you ask for. We upgraded to a seaview room, it was well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Upgrade. We stayed on 8th floor, pool/sea view, well worth the extra money. Large room and excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Travelled here with my wife in February, both in our late 20's. Thought the hotel was really good, nice food everyday, plenty room round the pool for lazing around and nice weather. A lot of Germans and Russians in the hotel, also mostly older people but it wasn't a problem for us we had a great time here and would definately go back. The surrounding area is also very nice, small spanish town with a few shops, bars and restaurants, everything you need really, if you want to go to Tenerife and avoid the bigger places, Los Cristianos and Americas then this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Endorsing previous reports, the entrance lobby is very attractive and welcoming. Our room and balcony were very clean and adequately furnished, blackout curtains worked well, room wasn't very soundproof though! All staff we encountered were courteous, however, restaurant staff were extremely thin on the ground and very busy.
This is a very large hotel and could do with many more restaurant staff to provide a reasonable level of service. We went during term time, but there were lots of children of all ages and many different nationalities. There are no adult only areas and this is quite a disavantage to couples.
Hotel grounds are very well kept and clean. 3 swimming pools; all well maintained, although there were some tiles missing from bottom of cooler pool. Daily aerobic classes were held, but hotter pool was rather crowded with children. We presumed that fully inclusive would include use of gym only to find that this was extra.
Breakfast is manic; get a table where you can. Quite a good selection of food, but juice is not very appetising and coffee/tea & water machine not working on several occasions and cups frequently not replenished. Good menu selection at lunch & dinner, but do be prepared to queue for a while to get into restaurant at evening dinner. At hotel was full when we went we found the eating experience not enjoyable with so many people queuing at the food areas. Lack of cutlery and plates too, although when staff noticed shortages, they were replaced.
Drinks at bars were acceptable, nice to try local beer, spirits and wine. Water in bottles was available at main bar, but again coffee/tea machine frequently not working. Area around bar was pleasant in evening listening to piano. Evening entertainment was mixed.
We talked to guests who had been going for several years, but since the hotel had been taken over were of the opinion that it had declined and wouldn't be going again.
Although our stay was a lovely break in the warm sunshine we would not go there again, it would probably be more suitable to families, not 4 star standard UK hotel.
Los Gigantes is a lovely walk along the coast and a must is a trip to Lount Tiede and Masca.
A word of warning, there are pickpockets about, don't keep wallets in back pockets and have handbags over your chest.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel overlook a road which can disturb sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

good hotel excellent choice of food great location beautiful view from room. all in all it was a very good holiday. rooms cleaned everyday entertainment was good and if you didn't want to watch the entertainment you could go up to the other bar and relax with a nice drink and listen to the man on the piano. everyday there was a very good choice of meals from breakfast to evening meal. enjoyed the English breakfast also the themed nights evening meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Playa La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Playa La Arena

Address: Calle Lajial 4 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Playa La Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Be Live Playa La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Spring Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Be Live Playa La Arena Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Playa La Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.