We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Hotel but 2 Star Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Playa La Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Playa La Arena to your Saves list
Be Live Playa La Arena
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Lajial 4 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“4 Star Hotel but 2 Star Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for a week in November, first time abroad. Fantastic lobby, friendly hard working staff.
Large room and bathroom space for all our toiletries. View to Mt Teide through the large glass windows above reception. There are two decent size pools plenty of sun lounges and the hotel was full. There is a good gym with 3 separate rooms with free weights, machines and cardio
equipment. the is also a masseuse. We didn't like a lot of the cooked food. We found it lacked seasoning, herbs and spices. There is plenty of fresh fruit and salad available and nice breads. The ice creams are delicious. But there isn't a decent coffee to be had anywhere in the hotel. There are good restaurants nearby and an English pub just round the corner. I hired a racing bike for 12 euro and cycled up to Mt Teide. The beach seems to drop away quite quickly and doesn't look safe for kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    723
    278
    90
    45
See reviews for
731
735
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just got back from Be Live Playa La Arena and I wish I was back already! Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for a nice, relaxed break to enjoy the sun, and that’s exactly what we got! I was worried that the surrounding area would be too quiet, but the small streets of shops were lovely to look around at night, it had a friendly atmosphere with all the essential shops and local restaurants if you fancied it! The black beach was surprisingly pretty as it glistened in the sun; however the sea is rather rough so I avoided the water! The hotel was always clean, the reception is light and very spacious, the rooms are large, with good powerful showers, however bring your own hairdryer as they aren’t very good at drying your hair. The pools are lovely and clean, one is heated, which was the busier pool, where there were families, however the other pool wasn't heated and was a lot more quite, but was lovely to cool down in! There is a slide for the children, and around the busier pool there is sometimes some entertainment which was quite good. I think that this hotel is suitable for all ages; however the elderly are very rude and thought they owned the place. The food was lovely, there was always a good selection of foods, and the soups were very nice. The entertainment isn’t the best, compared to other 4* hotels, however some shows where better than others and we had a good laugh! Overall for the price of the hotel it is fabulous, I am extremely picky having travelled extensively and you can’t go wrong, i would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, it is worth it as you get to see the beautiful sunset going down on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Could t have asked for more!! We arrived at the hotels reception which is simply breath taking!!!! We're dealt with quickly shown to our lovely spacious room and massive bathroom with TWO showers! Food was repetitive as all inclusive always is but couldn't fault it. Unlimited beer wine water (even bottled!) slush puppies and ice cream. I didn't take my purse out until we went home!!! The pool area is lovely and had no problems getting beds each day. Large luxurious towels are available for a deposit so save on ur allowance and don't take towels! The beach we gave a miss as it was black sand and the sea was wild!! I took part in the activities at times although the team were not pushy, one negative was that a lot of the communication was French even at nighttime. We had a baby with us so rarely saw the entertainment as we were in the room which had bbC and Itv and was peaceful so slept great. Would deffo return!!! It's also only about 1/2 hr drive to airport. The locality is great for walking and jogging

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We flew out to this hotel on 2nd January and were impressed with the very friendly reception staff welcoming us to their resort. Our rooms were lovely and spacious and overlooked the pool and the sparkling sea on the horizon. We had upgraded to premier drinks and you just showed the bar person what coloured band you wore and you had your choice of all named drinks. The buffet style meals were always hot and replenished all the time. Ice Cream and drinks were available as a self service all day long down by the pool area. The sunbeds were plentiful and we never had a problem finding one around the quieter pool. The main pool hosted games throughout the day and had a water slide for everyone to enjoy. The evening entertainment was passable but mostly in French for some reason, but they tried their best. The upstairs lounge was a piano bar which was nice to visit later in the evening for a coffee before bed. We were very impressed with this hotel and did some lovely walks around the area. We recommend this hotel for a winter break although its up a slight incline and if you like walking be aware its mostly up and downs hills! The weather was the best as we had eight days with wall to wall sunshine and not a cloud in the sky and it reached an amazing 28 degrees! superb!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a seaview room, it is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were delighted with all aspects of this hotel. It was very clean. The swimming pools were heated. The food was very good - great choice for the kids. The room was big. The balcony safe. The kids entertainment in the evening was well run. The staff were friendly and very nice to the kids. Watch out for the very large measures of Gin in the G&T's!

Room Tip: Pool view room is recommended. As for one away from the stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel excellent. Resort not so good. Very hilly. Not a lot of places to walk. Need a car. Good bus service. Good taxi service reasonable price. Plenty of places to visit around the area. We were originally, or at least we thought we were going to another hotel at Adeje. Mix up. Have to say think we came out with the better hotel. Although the Adeje resort would have been more to our liking.

Room Tip: Pool rooms would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had half-term with the kids in November to get a bit of winter sun. Great hotel, friendly staff, food great on all inclusive especially with kids!
The marbled entrance is lovely, and the pool was big enough for the time of year we were there. I would imagine it would be rammed in summer!
There is a nice clean beach opposite, and a nice walk along the promenade, which isnt too commercialised.

Overall - great hotel, great location, fantastic staff - we will be returning same time next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Playa La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Playa La Arena

Address: Calle Lajial 4 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Playa La Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Be Live Playa La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Spring Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Be Live Playa La Arena Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Playa La Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.