We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“But oh! The music!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Rosas Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto de Santiago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Rosas Apartments
Save
You added Las Rosas Apartments to your Saves list
Calle las Rosas, 2 | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“But oh! The music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

There are many positive aspects to this resort, most of which have been written about below and with which we concur. It is situated well in a quiet area of Los Gigantes with stunning views of the famous cliffs and out to sea towards La Gomera. (As nothing can be done about the high-rise hotel which dominates the whole area, there is no point in beefing about it, unless you are a vacationing planning inspector who may learn something from this tragic mistake.) But oh! The music! If only the management would think a little about what they are doing round the pool area. As any supermarket manager will tell them, the choice of music in a venue is crucial. Las Rosas hasn't quite understood this. There sit or lounge - sometimes beached - a clientele which is mostly - how can I put this politely? - of riper years. They are there to soak up sun, chill-out and read their books. Yet all day, and sometimes into the night, the speakers in the restaurant push out thumping disco music. This musical style is designed for 15-25 year olds dancing at 2 am. Its sole purpose is to thump at around 125 beats per minute to quicken the heart and make the juices flow. Brilliant for an aerobics class, but it is not the music of choice for a relaxing day by the pool with the occasional dip into the water. If music is required at all (and why is it?) it warrants a much more thoughtful approach.
I shall say nothing of the live music in the evening. It simply wasn't to my taste, but I observed others were enjoying it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments especially regarding the music. This matter has been drawn to the additional of the resort manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

First the minor deficiencies:
1) You have to hire the safe in your accommodation for Euro9 per week. I can understand a deposit but can't remember when I last paid to hire a fitted safe.
2) The paella is not made in front of you if you turn up at the designated time (Sunday 1.00pm); it is already made). You can get better paella's made just for you at numerous places in the area.
3) You need to pay for Wifi or to use their computers.
Now the positive aspects:
1) My wife and I shared a spacious one bedroom flat which was kept very clean with a twice a week clean
2) The site was kept quiet at night
3) Being outside the main resort centres you did not suffer from late-night noise; although we were able to sit on our balcony and listen to the Abba Tribute Concert from down in the town that we would otherwise have needed to pay for.
4) We found it useful to have hired a car, but when we walked down into Los Gigantes a taxi back up the hill was only Euro3; well worth it.
5) Although a small shop exists on site we didn't use it as the only English Papers stocked were the Sun and the Express, other items stocked were very restricted, Opening hours were restricted and a bigger supermarket was only 5 minutes walk away. We did our main shop usually at the main supermarket at the other end of Puerto Santiago when returned from a day out (you can't drink the tap water and we were buying 8L bottles there for Euro1.
6) Entertainment en-site depends on your taste. We enjoyed the Monday & Friday act (even though he said that he had been performing for 41 years) but not the others
7) The pool was not crowded, but then the resort was not full during our stay.
Would we stay again if returning to Tenerife? Yes, we would.

Room Tip: Some units involve a lot of steps to get to them. We were lucky, but if this is important to you, en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return. The minor deficiencies you raised have been noted and will be passed to the resorts director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

we have used the las rosas apartments for about six years on and off always around march/april time. the complex is very good all the public areas are kept spotless and the staff are very hard working, the bar is well stocked and the food is good we have eaten there several times with no complaints. the only thing we found a little offputting was the evening enterainment which wasnt are thing but the rest of the guests there enjoyed it. the apartments are very comfortable and spacious we had a one bed room apartment that had two roll out beds in the lounge which were comfortable so a family of four would have no problem with the appartment, there is a small shop on sight that sell the basics which was more then adiquate. with two large supermarkets about a ten minute walk away,the only drawback to staying at las rosas is that is at the top of a hill so if your not to good on your feet this may not be for you. but then again the views are worth it. i am writing this review two months after are last stay because i find it hard to believe that people moan about key safes , deposits for towels and children running around enjoyng themselves this is a first class resort run by first class staff

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we hope that you enjoy many more holidays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Las Rosas, after a recommendation from friends. We could not have been more delighted. The service and staff at the resort was excellent, everyone was so helpfull, cheerful and friendly, I even received a bottle of bubbly on my birthday. Villas are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Pool is very nice again spotlessly clean a lifeguard always in attendance. Gardens and surrounding areas very well kept. A little shop on site where you can get essentials. A bar where you can eat drink and where there is good family entertainment. You can chill out and take in the wonderful views or walk into Los Gigantes if you wish. We will definitely be making another trip, I highly recommend Las Rosas to all ages.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that Las Rosas lived upto your recommended expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have a time share here and have been attending this complex for at least 10 years, virtually every year. The reason we enjoy it so much is that it is relaxed, and well presented. The villas are very clean and very well maintained. The on-site restaurant and bar area is again well run and welcoming. The pool is always warm and there is a lifeguard who maintains the site rules over the use of the pool and sun beds. If you are after a relaxing break in Tenerife, away from the rush of the Island, this is a good start. Los Gigantes has some stunning cliff views and a short walk to the harbour results in some good restaurants.

Room Tip: We have a 2 bed villa - which can sleep 6 (2 in the lounge sofa beds) - all rooms have TV and DVD pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you have continued to enjoy Las Rosas for the last decade and find the resort relaxing. The area of Los Gigantes has a lot to offer for those not wanting to stray far or it can be a great start point for exploring the whole island of Tenerife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was our 6th trip to Las Rosas and the standard of the complex was as high as ever.Very friendly staff ,beautiful views and spotless apartments.It doesnt get any better than this

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to offer you many more enjoyable holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a timeshare type of complex which is very highly maintained. It has an excellent heated pool, brilliant pub which serves snacks during the day and full evening meals at night. They also have a buffet on a sunday where the chef makes paella in front of all the customers. Accomodation is at the end of a cul de sac making it great for children. The only downside is the number of stairs in and around the complex. I would very much reccomend this fantastic complex

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Las Rosas Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are proud to boast of having one of the largest heated pools in Los Gigantes among our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Rosas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rosas Apartments

Address: Calle las Rosas, 2 | Los Gigantes, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Las Rosas Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Las Rosas Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Rosas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.