We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Costa Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Definitely never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We checked out after three days. The food was terrible, Luke warm all the time. Rooms postage stamp size, mattresses disgusting state, entertainment non existence . Night check in was fast, but unhelpful . There's nothing to do around the hotel apart from look at a skip when having a drink on the terrace! Snacks in the afternoon are dried up leftovers from breakfast. Not enough staff anywhere, just plain horrible. Glad we changed hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear NB1018,

First of all let us thank you for taking time to write an opinion regarding your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are extremely sorry to hear that your holidays with us did not meet up your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will use them to improve our service.

We also regret you did not find any activities to your liking either in the hotel, or in the surroundings. We believe our animation team works really hard and offers everyday activities to guests of all ages. For instance, we offer activities such as tennis, football, zumba, ping pong, as well as water activities in the pool, among many others. Our younger guests are always welcome in our miniclub, children´s playground and the game room. For the most active guests we offer our panoramic sea view gym with last generation equipment. Guests who prefer a more relaxing type of holiday have an option of using our spa and wellness center and treat themselves to one of our special treatments. There are also quite a lot of options in the area, such as water ski, dolphin and whale watching and shopping tours.

We would like to strongly encourage you to give Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and Tenerife another chance and show you that excellent service and guests´ satisfaction are our crucial objectives. We sincerely hope we could have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and make your holidays enjoyable and pleasant.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    723
    258
    90
    64
See reviews for
1,309
524
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

this is our 5th time at this hotel in 3 years, there have been a few changes but it still has very high standards, if you have any problems they are soon rectified by the reception staff, the food quality is always good with fresh fish and meat cooked while you wait, we have been here twice at Christmas and the food is fab second to none, every where you look cleaners and gardeners are always busy, just returned from 2 weeks and we did the bali beds well worth the price you get a bottle bubbly and fruit kebabs twice a day, I am disabled and our room was a bit far from resturants so thy gave us another with out any fuss, take no notice of the moaners they don't no what there talking about

Room Tip: all rooms are good but m block is good for pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kath and Jimmy,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and thank you for being such loyal guests and choosing our hotel once and again for your holidays. Be sure we will share your comments with all our staff, as it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and keep on doing a good job.

It is great to know you had the opportunity to try one of our latest novelties – bali beds. It is very satisfying to know that our improvements are appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes next time you visit. We would also like to recommend you to contact us in advance and send us your room request. We will do our best to assign you a nice and comfy room of your liking. However, we never give guarantees, as it depends on our room availability. Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
The Managament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this very large nice hotel.As we travelled without children we decided to upgrade and paid an extra 300 odd extra euros.This seemed a good idea and I think certainly enhanced our experience.You get a better beverage selection,papers delivered daily to our room dressing gowns and slippers (whoopee !).The best things obviosly are the booze options and the fact that you can book the Ala Carte restaurant every night if you wish..! Along with your meal you can have whatever bottle of wine (or two ) you like.My wife does not really like semi - secco and was able to have a bottle of Cordiniu ( brut ) when she wanted.I like Havana Club and so had that whenever I felt the need or bottles of Heiniken export.
The last couple of days we booked the "special beds",two days for 50 euro or 30 per day.The only thing was they only served the semi-secco and if you wanted the better stuff you had to go to the main bar and get it yorself..! A bit silly really as we would have given a generous tip to a member of staff if they could have got it for us.I think they are missing a trick there.
We had a nice room in C block which is near the area where the Paella is cooked and snack bar / restaurant.The food was generally very good and if you went for lunch in the restaurant you could have Pork chops,steak,chicken cooked fresh and so Hot.
We asked for a recommendation for a good restaurant and where given two names.Had a drink in the main bar and made our way past the tennis courts and walked down the hill to the local beach area to look at the first recommendation Pancho ( I think ) and decided to have a look at the other recommendation..!The other restaurant was called Juan Carlos and a long walk along the coastal road into Los Gigantes itself.We did not realise how far it was.Stopped off at a local bar/restaurant and had a couple of nice local beers called Dorado Especial and the wife a couple of very good vodka and tonics with a bit of Tappas and came to 7 euro 30 excellent.Finally got to Juan Carlos to find it fully booked..!Jumped in a cab and back to the first and had a lovely 8 or 9 tappas dishes and two half literes of the house red which was very good and it was 41 euros very good.
We found the staff and the service very good except for one evening in the Ala carte with a particularly rude waiter who was replaced within minutes by a colleague who realised and replaced him.
As you can see a great place even for those without youngsters with them.For those with kids it seemed to be equally great with a lot of entertainment.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet spot try for C block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear George Madiga,

Thank you for taking time to write your opinions regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear you decided to try our special Splendit service and had such a lovely time in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We always do our best trying to make guests feel comfortable and have enjoyable holidays in our hotel. We are very grateful for your nice comments about our staff, food quality and service in general. We also took a note of the minor details that could be improved to make your stay in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes even more enjoyable.

We are sincerely hoping to have you back in our hotel and offer you yet another wonderful holiday!

Yours faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice enough. Good food variety and the 'hot plate' issue mentioned by reviewers below was manageable by timing the use of cold and hot food pick up. Spa was little tired with quite a few fixtures needing fixing in a few places. Good poolside access despite being full on our visit. A bit soulless, but probably what to be expected from an all inclusive.
Biggest complaint was the staff attitude that their guests were an irritation interrupting their holiday, as they gossiped in front of the food so that we couldn't help ourselves; or the hospitality lady who was never at her post at the advertised hours leaving a huge queue of waiting customers. 20% of the staff were really lovey. But really only 20%.
In summary 3 stars feels a bit mean, but 4 stars are unwarranted when the flaws could be so easily fixed.

Room Tip: Suspicion is that all the rooms are good. The non-sea views might be a bit dark. But all seem clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear AJ,

Thank you for choosing Luabay Costa Los Gigantes.for your holidays and sending us your feedback. We are glad you appreciated the food variety we offer in our restaurants, as we always try to satisfy all tastes. We also took note of the flaws and we assure they will be taken in consideration. We regret that the service received by some members of our staff was not entirely satisfactory and will look into it in detail.

We would like to encourage you to give us another opportunity and show you that Luabay Costa Los Gigantes is a hotel with a soul that can offer you lovely and relaxing holidays. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

just returned from a lovely holiday at the Luabay Los Gigantes with friends, After reading some of the bad reviews we didnt know what to expect but i can honestly say the hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious n cleaned everyday with towels and bedding changed everytime. The food was always hot with a great selection at every mealtime. the snack bar at the quiet pool did an amazing seafood paella also a veggie option (equally as nice). We visited the a la carte restaurant twice, one night was italian night which was amazing the other night was steak night which was absolutely gorgeous, i had a veal entrecote which was cooked to perfection. the pool areas were spotlessly clean and there was no shortage of sun loungers, the help yourself bar was great with cold beer, wine, spirits n sangria on tap also ice creams n soft drinks for the children. i have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: rooms in E block have sea views and are close enough to everything but far enough away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Helen T,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your holidays in our hotel. We will share your reviews on the food quality, room facilities and hotel facilities in general with all our staff, as it so gratifying to know our hard work is getting its results and appreciated by our guests. We are also very pleased you tried some of our a la carte options and found them to be so amazing.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Sincerely yours,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading some negative reviews on this hotel i was extremely worried what to expect when i arrived, but i would defo say this has to be the one of the best hotels my family have stayed in for a long time. Firstly i never found at any time i ate at the hotel my food was cold??? the food was amazing, especially in the a la carte restaurant where we tryed the grill night and the mexican. At lunch we usually went for the bbq by the pool as was more relaxed and again food was excellent. Even the alcohol was of good quality and the facilities for children are 10/10. we did 2 day trip out to siam park and loro parque and both were truely amazing, we only arrived back yesterday and truely missing tenerife and the luabay and will definetly return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear 834kat,

Thank you for sharing such fantastic comments about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes. We are extremely pleased to hear the hotel exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your holidays so much! It is great to hear you appreciated our food variety and quality. Such a feedback always encourages us to continue doing a good job and provide an excellent service to our guests. We will definitely share your comments with our staff, as they are so gratifying and very much appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear you are thinking of visiting Luabay Costa Los Gigantes again. Please let us recommend you to contact us in advance and send us a room request. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is lovely, incredibly clean and the staff we encountered were always friendly and helpful. We are a family of four, our children are 3 years old and 5 months old.
The room was great, again very clean and spacious too. We had a suite with seaview, which was a bedroom with twin beds pushed together, with plenty of space for the cot, lounge with option of pull-put double sofa bed (not particularly comfortable but we didn't use it as a bed), spacious bathroom with bath and shower over, and average size balcony with two chairs and table.
We didn't leave the resort in the week that we were there so can't comment on location. We picked this hotel so that the vast array of facilities meant that we didn't have to leave - our son is 5 months old and we are at the weaning stage which meant venturing far from the hotel would have potentially been a nightmare and our 3 year old isn't that keen on the beach anyway. There are shops, games room with bowling alley and arcade games, crazy golf, go-ape style ropes assault course, outdoor but shaded soft play area, playground and the option of kids club which we didn't use as kids too young. There is a kids mini disco every night from 8pm in one of the entertainment rooms which my daughter absolutely loved.
Everything was great - we had a good holiday but our main gripe was the food. We didn't have one item of hot food during the entire week. At best it was luke warm. Even the carvery meat was sliced from cold and then put under a heat lamp - topped with room temperature gravy! We are not fussy eaters but even my 3 year old commented that she didn't want cold pasta. This is obviously somewhat of a common theme as there are microwaves dotted around the different restaurants for warming up your own food. Also although there was a reasonable variety of food available, I'm sure they were using '1000 Ways To Cook Pork' cookbook as there was at least 5 variants of pork every single day. Breakfast had the best variety. Lunch buffet restaurant is so cold that we had to bring cardigans to lunch.
Getting hot water to warm up baby bottles and baby food also seemed to be an alien thing to ask for. We ended up warming them in our room using the kettle.
All in all we had a good holiday but it could have easily been excellent with a few improvements.

Room Tip: We had a sea view suite in Block B which is situated up by main reception - view was good but did ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Director General at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Rachel99171,

Thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience on tripadvisor. We are very pleased you appreciated our room facilities and found them to be spacious and clean. It is also great to hear you did not have to leave the resort and found everything you needed here. We do our best to provide anything our guests might need during their holidays.

Our animation team works very hard every day to offer various activities to our guests of all ages. We are excited to hear that your little daughter enjoyed minidisco so much!

We also appreciate your comments regarding the food variety we offer and took note of the problem with food temperature to address this issue immediately. Such feedback always helps us to get better in what we do.

We would like to suggest you spending another great holiday in Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and this time we promise you it will be excellent!

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Costa Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Our 1800m2 spa will help you to wind down and if you’re coming with the family, you couldn’t do better; our suites with independent lounge are all you could ever ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Costa Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.