We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Village Plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Save Saved
You added Luabay Costa Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
neath
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Holiday Village Plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked this via First Choice as one of their holiday villages,having stayed at others in Rhodes,Costa Del Sol and Majorca. On our arrival we were amazed to find that this holiday village was just part of a large complex, offering additional pools,entertainment, kids club etc.
We stayed from August 23rd. to September 6th. and had a fabulous time. We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels over the years, and this hotel is up there with the best. Our room was N315, yes it was a 5 minute walk from the main building, but when the walk was on a path that on either side had the most beautiful plants,shrubs,flowers etc you looked forward to it. The restaurants was on the 2nd.floor and overlooked the village of Playa De La Arena and the sea. You would find it extremely difficult to find fault with any of the 2 main buffet restaurants. The choice and quality of the food was excellent,and the waiters were friendly and hard working. Two of our party have a gluten intolerance and were advised by the chefs which food items to avoid and were given gluten-free bread every morning.
There are 3 places that you can walk to Playa de la Arena (10 minutes), Santiago (15) and Los Gigantes (20) each of these places has something different to see. get a taxi back to the hotel ( 3 euros/ 3euros 50).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Gill and Jim, than you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay with us. We are glad to know you had a great time and were satisfied with the food we offer in our restaurants and the services we offer. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we and we hope we get to welcome you as our guests again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    670
    235
    81
    58
See reviews for
1201
467
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we went to this hotel for 2 weeks all inclusive in november 2012. excellent animation team....great for kids. only 'niggles' were outside rooms sometimes not cleaned well . other thing was very tiny ants in bathroom. the staff were quick to resolve ant problem.would go again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Brian and Ruby, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are glad you had a great time and especially enjoyed the animation. Your feedback about the cleanliness of your room will of course be passed to the corresponding department and we hope we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here in January 2013 for a week of winter sun with my parents before returning to university. It was the first holiday that I had picked for my family and its safe to say we were all pleasantly surprised and I have been allowed to choose every family holiday since!

The room was great and felt more like a hotel suite than a standard family room for three. Winter in Tenerife usually means you have really great weather or absolutely terrible, however we were lucky and had temperatures reaching as high as 32 degrees.

The pool area always had plenty of beds, all with great positions in the sun. Unfortunately the pool was absolutely freezing to the point where anyone that attempted to enter was watched by the rest of the poolside population and given a round of applause if they made it in without running out!

The food was fantastic and the theme restaurants were amazing! There was always plenty on offer and it never felt repetitive.

The evening entertainment wasn't bad; pretty much the same shows that you see in every other Tenerife hotel. One night three men performed acrobatics; the best show I've seen in any hotel worldwide.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. My mum recommended it to a friend when we returned and she booked it straight away, she's also booked to go again in 2014!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a previous guest staying here this hotel and facilities once again did not disappoint.
The hotel reception staff were great and as we didn't have a room over looking the pool asked if we could swap rooms on arrival which they promptly sorted out. The food was again top class and a wide variety for all fussy eaters like myself. The adult and kids entertainment was brilliant and a couple of entertainers remembered our family from our previous visit and made the kids welcome as always. First choice staff all friendly and very helpful and also keen to help you have a great holiday. We went on the submarine safari and I would advise anyone going to Tenerife even if you are sea sick to go on this safari as you won't regret it. It's just like being on a train no need for travel sickness tablets:-).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for returning to our hotel and writing this lovely review. We are glad you still liked every part of the hotel and enjoyed a fantastic holiday with your family. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here Christmas 2012 also stayed 2 years earlier the hotel still has quality rooms and the staff are helpful and polite but the food standards have slightly deteareated in the buffet restaurant but the alcarte meals where good. The animation is now split into two teams which seams daft.The Beatles tribute band was good and plenty of shows for the kids. Only downside no sky sports anymore .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent a week here in early August,myself,my wife,and 12 year old son.It was our fourth time here,and had an enjoyable holiday.The rooms are excellent.Yes,like everywhere else,the sunbed situation is a little crazy.Families taking up 6 beds,and using 2.Annoying.Whats the answer?We think standards have dropped slightly since we first visited however,especially in the main buffet restaurants,where a dirty plate/glass was not atall unusual. They need more staff during peak season,as it could take a while to clear away dirty plates etc.Entertainment staff work extremely hard-Steffi,part of the hotel animation team was,as in previous years,superb.You must,if brave enough,try the high ropes.It may look scary at first,but once youve done it,you will be back every day,like we were.The first choice babes running the high ropes are fantastic.One even has a white tattoo-COOL.Mara,Fiona,Simone and Nia could not have been any nicer,all hardworking and totally professional.Without any shadow of a doubt,they made our holiday.Thanks girls.Siam Park is a great day out,if a little expensive.33 euros for an adult,22 euros for a child.Book your bus there and back through hotel reception-It costs 4 euros only.On arrival at Siam Park.it may be advisable to purchase fastpass bands,allowing you to jump some queues for the popular slides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ian, thank you very much for returning to our hotel and writing this review. We are glad to hear that once more you had a fantastic holiday and all enjoyed your rooms and our staff’s friendliness. We appreciate your comment about the quality and speediness of service in the buffet restaurant having slightly dropped compared to your previous stays and will forward this to the corresponding department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again soon and present you with the same restaurant service standard you have come to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thought I shall put in some of our experience in TA concerning our stay in Costas Los Gigantes. I booked this as a last minute holiday and First Choice had sold out. I booked via Luabay website for hotel stay and easy jet. I had to look at various forums to get a feel for the place and so I post this to help others like me. There is no proper website for the hotel if I am not mistaken
My comments
1. To start with - OK for 4 star and note is about 40 minutes from South tenerife airport.
2. Reasonably clean
3. It's huge - almost like an travel industry. Generally courteous staff, but don't expect very personal service
4. Restaurant was clean , some flies occasionally, but so was the case in Tenerife airport !
5. I liked the quality of food and the variety. My children started moaning after few days, although there was some repetition, the food was varied and seem to have some theme on a daily basis. There were reports of uncooked food TA, but did not seem to be tha case now. In one corner, there is a hot food freshly prepared and served.
6. On top of your usual buffet, we were given 3 choices - Mexican, Italian and grill bar. Make use of these, the Mexican and Italian food was very good. This is all part of all inclusive,you can leave a tip if you feel like.. Make sure you book ASAP - we checked in on Friday and the earliest booking available was Thursday. I think you need to stay for at least 5 or may be 7 days to qualify.
7. The resort is aimed for family/ children and there will be loads of children. Seem to attract a decent crowd, many Brits and other European countries. Unfortunately the most unruly ones are the Brits acting as though they own the place. Made me cringe many a times..
8. Evening entertainment was kind of basic , but okay
9. Went scuba diving. Good service @ Riaanans dive centre down at the hill from the resort. 65 euros will pick and drop at hotel
10. We also went to aqua land , but SIAM PARk would have been better - looked more posh and there is a bus service from the hotel.
11. I feel the best rooms are in C block, they are 16 euros more , but close to quite pool and snack bar which serves barbecued meat everyday between 12.30 and 3 or so.. It's open however from 10 to 5 and always had some hot snacks, beer, hot/ cold drinks. Saying that - K, L and M blocks are also good if you want to be opposite the other louder pools and has the advantage of better drink bar which serves more than beer unlike the one in quiet bar - but no snacks!
12. Truly all inclusive - except for high end alcoholic beverages which were again not very costly
13.On the whole a good place for an all inclusive holiday with Kids - about 5-6 days seem to be the right amount of time.
14. Walk down the hill to the 'main street' , there are many shops. About 10 minutes from the resort, but its a good climb uphill takes about 20 minutes. Shops in the street are cheaper than the one within the resort
15. Make sure you use the complimentary SPA ticket - worth a visit

Room Tip: See my comment 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Hariharan, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review about your stay. We are glad you and your family all enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and were especially satisfied with the food we offer in our buffet restaurant and the a la card restaurant. It is great to know that our service and facilities were to your convenience and we would be very delighted to welcome you as our guests again for your next family holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Costa Los Gigantes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Our 1800m2 spa will help you to wind down and if you’re coming with the family, you couldn’t do better; our suites with independent lounge are all you could ever ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Luabay Costa Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.