We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes to your Saves list
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I too saw some negative views but chose to ignore them as some people are never satisfied. I'm so glad I did as the Hotel was great. The food was great, yes some things were repeated but there were the basics that everyone including the fussy should like. For those of us more adventurous and willing to try something new there was a great choice. There was a towel service which was great as you didn't have to stick with smelly towels all week and each sun bed had a mattress.

Loads to do for the kids, older ones too. The staff were always friendly and courteous and we found the hotel clean and in good condition.

Travelling with my partner and daughter we expected to be changing in the bathroom but the bedroom set up was great. There was a separate bedroom for us and the sofa bed was in a living space with its own door so essentially we had two bedrooms which was perfect. Both areas were spacious not cramped and the bathroom was a good size too. Plenty of hot water the whole time and pressure behind the shower was really good.

The Hotel operates a bus service into Los Cristianos and to Siam Park for just 4 euros return for an adult which is an excellent price. Just one pick up time going and coming back so be careful if you miss it back as a taxi I believe is about 35 euros.

Los Gigantes is a nice walk mainly down hill but hot if done at mid-day. Its quite a climb back up in the heat so be prepared and take taxi fare with you for the return. Only about 3 - 3.30 euros whilst we were there. Make sure you take some bread with you to feed the fish as they are great to watch.

Only real fault was some of the locks and hand dryers in the gents and ladies loos around the complex were not working.

We had a great holiday, hope you do to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Vivian, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed a great time here and were satisfied with the food, our staff, your room and overall the facilities of our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us and we will be sure to pass your comment about the locks and hand dryers in the public bathrooms to the corresponding department so they can be fixed as soon as possible. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    838
    285
    94
    68
See reviews for
1,478
643
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned home from a fantastic 2 week stay,and this hotel is fantastic.i even considered changing my booking to another hotel after reading poor reviews on here before we went.the food cannot be faulted,and if you expect to pay these prices and not see some dishes more than once in 14 days,you need to wake up.if you fill your plate with 5 different choices each meal time,ask yourself why the food is repetitive.the staff work so hard and always have a smile and "ola".it has everything needed to make a great holiday for families.the only negative i can say is the fact that the pool's are 1.40 + 1.50 deep.it would be great to have a shallow end in the main pool's for the kids.but this didnt stop them enjoying the swimming.i found the hotel run club/entertainment to be far better than the first choice,so would advise people to book direct with hotel,and save a lot of money.the rooms are great size and cleaned daily and towels changed.amazing scenery all around area,if you dont fancy the hill coming back,take a taxi for 3 euro

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for being our guests and sharing these kind words for our staff. It is great to know that you and your family all had a lovely stay and were satisfied with our entertainment, the food we offer and especially our staff’s friendliness. We thank you very much for recommending the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes and are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Two active late 60's couple found a spring holiday very well catered for and a massive apartment with free drinks thrown in. The food was excellent in how it was cooked, quality and in quantity but like most mass production restaurants was not always as hot as it could be. The staff were excellent and helpful and for young children plenty to do on site. The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. A delightful range of nationalities were met. We did go out of the school term and thus it was not crowded. The main drawback was you had to climb in hot sun a very long, very steep hillside to get there from the nearest beach or shops. This was certainly a problem for elderly, infirm or if there are young children; though there was enough activity on site for the very young. A car would be very useful for adults. Having said that for a young family it would be a self-contained ideal holiday. Area and the local buses(also down the hill) quite pretty for Tenerife.

Room Tip: All room blocks seem to be in tiers/ledges down the hillside facing the sea and La Gomera and of ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were satisfied with all our services and facilities. We can inform you that the hotel offers shuttle bus to Los Christianos and back to the hotel available for our guests, but it doesn’t go to Playa de la Arena, we will forward your suggestion to the correspondent department. We hope we can welcome you at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to this hotel in Easter holidays. It was superb! From reception, to sun terraces, to accomodation, bars, restaurant, pools and night time entertainment. Food selection was extensive and a really well organised restaurant team ensured no waiting around. The free alcohol included local spirits, draught - wine, sangria, Amstel lager and all the draught pumps faced 'out' so just pour yourself! Plenty of slush and free ice cream for the kids. The cleanliness inside and outside was faultless. Very much a family hotel and our 8 year old son soon made friends and did not want to leave. A nice but hilly walk down to the harbour at Los Gigantes was a pleasant change from the hotel and a trip to Siam Park was also a great day out (if you like water slides!). Cannot recommend this hotel enough but maybe not for those without children or those looking for tranquility.

Room Tip: The blocks are terraced so I would recommend a room at the lowest level which seems like it is the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Firstly I will start with the positives. Hotel is has very big bedrooms we stayed in F102 and it was a 2 storey apartment which was great with 2 teenage kids. The First choice reps where brilliant as was the hotel reps but they're seemed to be a bit of competition on who could shout the loudest! Scottie & Luke (First Choice reps) were brilliant. Hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The pool was fantastic and the high ropes was great too. Negatives - very quiet area not a lot about. Food was ok if you like pork! Pork kebabs, pork casserole etc. It started to become a bit of a joke with friends we made there. Sunbeds - they have a sign on them saying no reserving but guess what they do and to be honest I ended up setting my alarm to put my towels on there too (which I hate doing im on holiday for god sake). The evening entertainment was good but it was on a week cycle so if like us you go for 2 weeks you will soon discover you've seen it all before. Other than that it was a nice break with fantastic weather and we made some lovely friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Angela, thank you for being our guests and sharing your experience with us. We are glad you all had a great time and were satisfied with your room, the pool area and our staff. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your help in improving our standards by sharing your suggestions on what could be changes. We will therefore forward your comments about the selection of food, the variety of entertainment and the sunbed situation to the corresponding departments and hope we can already show you some changes on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We travelled here in June 2013 with our 2 boys aged 10 & 2. It was all inclusive package with First Choice. When we arrived, had a nice and easy check-in with the porter coming to collect us and take us and our luggage in his buggy car to our room. At first we thought we going to be far away from the main hotel building but it wasn't at all. The place is huge but there's lifts everywhere for easy access and it's so child friendly.Our room was amazing! 2 huge bedrooms, 1 with a pull out bed for our eldest and one with a huge bed for us. Both rooms had huge flat screen tvs and patio doors. One room looked over the pool then behind that, the sea and the other had a small patio area just to sit out- a right sun trap! The main restaurant was superb. You get seated right away and served whatever drink you like then you can help yourself to food. There is so much choice for breakfast, lunch & dinner- different every night. For lunch there is also a snack bar with burgers, chips etc if you fancy something different. You can also have 2 nights a la carte at either grill, Mexican or Italian- you need to book this at the table by reception for the night you want, do it sooner rather than later as it gets booked up. We had a Mexican and Italian, the Italian was our favourite. Nice lounge bar serving all spirits, wines, cavas, cocktails with soft live music in the evenings. Entertainment is good in the main club area from 9pm starting with dances for kiddies with the staff up on stage then a cabaret act, really good and went on til around 11pm, which was perfect for us. The crèche is great for the little ones, open session from 12pm-12.30pm so you can stay and play and chat to other parents. We put our little one in for 2, 2 hour sessions at €11 a go- was great and the staff are wonderful and very trustworthy.There's table tennis, crazy golf, tennis etc, just a note, you will need €20 deposit for the rackets/clubs but you do get that back at the end. Also, there's a games room with pool, bowling, air hockey- mostly €1 a time. The pool area is lovely, they have a cool slide for older kids and a smaller pool for littluns. Sunbeds tend to have towels put down early in the morning but we never had a problem getting them as we went down a bit later in the afternoon. The hotel was kept extremely clean and pristine, always cleaners and gardeners around keeping everything in order. Also, a 15minute walk away there are a small selection of bars and shops- just for a change of scenery but be prepared for the steep hilled paths. The only minor issues we had were when we arrived there was no cot bed as requested and they had to be called twice but then they came and all was fine and we flew home on a Sunday- our transfer was coming at 9.30am but the porters don't start til 10am on that day so we had to walk with all our luggage/buggy etc. back to the main building. All in all though we had an amazing time!! :):)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review. It is great to know you and your family all had a lovely stay and enjoyed our facilities, the food we offer and our staff’s friendliness and services. We are glad the issue with your missing cot bed was solved in time and would like to apologize for the delay. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you and your family at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We returned to this hotel in June 2013 having had such a fantastic holiday here last year. For the most part we were not disappointed. The cleanliness, service, food and facilities are all still of an excellent standard considering the size of the hotel and the fact it's all inclusive.

The First Choice Kids Clubs were excellent and both our boys (11 and 7) enjoyed all the activities and were asking to attend. We don't really go in for the evening entertainment but you can choose from either First Choice or the hotel (gets a bit competitve between the 2 at times tho).

The quiet pool end of the hotel where we were staying had new sunbeds this year and whilst some did get reserved, there were always more than plenty that weren't. Whilst we were there, the quiet pool did have an incident of poo in the pool a couple of times (unfortunate but in a family hotel it will happen from time to time). The first time was just after lunch and they closed the pool whilst it was cleaned and treated. The second time was later in the afternoon, although we did get evacuated whilst they cleaned and treated it again, the life guard went off duty at 6:00 so it was hard to enforce the closure. They could do with some signs to put up, but no doubt people will still ignore them.

Our main problem with the hotel this year was some of the British Clientele (not all I hasten to add). As a previous reviewer put, I don't know how they afford it Unfortunately we were located in rooms above one such family. We experienced shouting, swearing & arguments at all hours of the night and day. Doors constantly banging, children shouting and phoning our room. They also seemed to think that climbing over the balcony and trampling all over the garden to reach the pool was perfectly acceptable. Whilst we expect some level of noise from rooms around, this was more than we expected from a hotel of this standard. We did complain to the hotel and first choice about the noise and despite the fact that there isn't much that can be done; they were very sympathetic and tried to ask the family be respectful of their neighbours - special thanks to Natalie for listening and trying to help!

Other families just don't clear up after themselves around the pool or at the snack bar where the staff do their best to keep on top of things.

It's a shame that the behaviour of some families can make you embarrassed to be British but despite this we all had a lovely holiday because after all, it is what you make it

Room Tip: We stayed in Block C which overlooks the quiet pool and has great sea views, whilst still easy to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Cathy, we would like to thank you for returning to our hotel and writing this review. We are glad to know you were still satisfied with the food, the cleanliness and our staff and enjoyed a great holiday with your family. Your feedback about pool cleanliness and issues with other guests will be forwarded to the corresponding departments and we will be sure to look for ways to improve the procedures for these incidents. We truly hope this did not change your opinion of our hotel and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.