We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic family holiday. Great time for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes to your Saves list
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday. Great time for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we returned home from this fab holiday in the early hours of this morning. Anyone who has a bad word to say about this hotel is wrong. We travelled as an extended family myself, husband and our two children aged 4 and 5months and my parents 60+. the hotel catered for everyone. We asked for rooms close to the amenities for my disabled father and this was granted. We were in block k right near the restaurants and bars and central to all the pools. This is a large complex so here we'd be great to stay however if you are in further away blocks the staff are more than happy to take you by golf buggy.

The first choice kids club for my little boy was fantastic running for 2 hours each morning or afternoon or both if you require, he had loads of fun making, playing and adventuring around the hotel. The intel also have a full entertainment programme running throughout the day for both adults and children. The are a quiet pool which also accommodates a snack bar, my only advise here is that the food is only warm not hot and there is not a bar here. They do have self serve beer pumps and wine pumps plus soft drinks however for cocktails and spirits you need to be around the main pool or go to the lobby bars.

The mini golf, football etc and kids pay areas are great. So much here for children to do. Towels are free around the pool but you do get charged 15 euros per towel if not returned upon check out.

Our room was great over looking the sea and the main terrace, mini bar was stocked up daily with coke, beer and water Nd rooms were well cleaned and towels and bedding changed regularly.

The hotel itself it spotless and always being cleaned. All staff very helpful and smiley. The evening entertainment is also good. Some AI resorts are rubbish at this it here. There are 2 evening venues, the main venue hosts the kids mini disco at 8pm then a show and finishes at around 11pm. The Beatles show was fantastic they also had Michael Jackson, a parrot show and eagles show plus comedy circus shows etc. really good. In the other bar near the lobby they had a nightly singer/artist on. Mum and dad tended to stay in here and was catered more for couples and older guests.

Breakfast food was fantastic everything you could want. Lunch and dinner were well catered for all nationalities and the was always something for everyone to eat. Some days more than others but overall a good variety. Lunch was sometimes better than evening. There was always a meat and fish on the grill. If it wasn't cooked enough for you just ask them to leave it on a bit longer and they will. Lots of lovely cakes and desserts too.

Overall this was a great holiday, we would all go back and I highly recommend it to all. Especially those with a young family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    834
    285
    94
    68
See reviews for
1,473
642
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Perfect accommodation and a first class hotel.
My wife and I arrived here for a winter break, planning to get away from the cold British Winter weather, during the first week of February 2013. The very warm days were just what we wanted.
We arrived at the hotel by coach after an uneventful 45 minute journey from the airport and were very quickly checked in, and then jumped in a golf buggy with the bell boy to be taken to our room.
The first impressions were of a well run hotel, and the first impressions of the room were …wow. Standard rooms are suites, with a separate living room, and balcony, with a sea view. We were in block D, which was situated at the quiet swimming pool and had fantastic views.
Room had a huge clean bed, free safe; two TVs with a few UK channels on it, mini bar with beer and coke topped up daily, the lounge had a nice big comfy couch and a table and chairs. There was plenty of space for hanging up all your holiday clothes too. We asked for extra pillows and got then almost right away.
Food was perfect, plenty of variety, and the cooked to order food were fantastic, bottles of wine and water were served at the table, with lunch and evening meal. You would have to be very nit picky to complain about the food. Drinks during the day were also perfect, the main bar was open plus you had a choice of either pool bar, we occasionally enjoyed having a drink from the main bar and sitting outside watching the world go by. I didn’t try the snack bar food, at the pool, but it looked far better than I have seen at any other AI hotel, perfect if you have kids and don’t want to drag them indoors for lunch. The A la carte restaurants were also very enjoyable and a nice change from the buffet.
Thee was a huge entertainment theatre, with various acts on every night which we never went into (too many kids), but it seemed lively and popular. The main bar had musicians on every night and was ideal for us to have a little relaxation after a meal.
The hotel was spotless and very well maintained, with plenty of sun beds available and was priced much keener than others with similar facilities. I actually picked the hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, seems to be the way to do things these days.
I would easily go back to this hotel, the accommodation, food and the laid back atmosphere worked for me, there seemed like plenty to do for everyone, my only slight disappointment was that there were so many kids when there were no school holidays in most of Europe, but that has of course nothing to do with the hotel.
All in all a genuine four star hotel, which is well reviewed in Trip Advisor, it even has the Trip Advisor plaque at reception, so they are obviously aware that their high standards need to be maintained.

Room Tip: The rooms at the smaller pool are obviously quieter, families might prefer the closeness of the bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for February half term, it was our second time in 3 years. The children absolutely adore this hotel (10+7) there is an abundance of things for them to do. The high wire course received a massive thumbs up and the kids club cannot be faulted. They both miss Charlotte and Mara who both work there, and they look forward to (hopefully) seeing them again next year. We paid to upgrade to the splendit package and were more than happy with the level of service. As we arrived on a Sunday the check in was fast and courteous. They both thought it was a nice touch to be taken to their rooms in the golf buggy. The food is plentiful and well presented, none of us had any stomach complaints and the choice was enough for my fussy daughter to even find something she liked. We managed to reserve a table for the themed nights in the separate restaurant, there is a separate children's menu so you needn't worry about them trying anything too "exotic". There certainly was plenty of space for all guests in the hotel, during the children's disco seating becomes a bit sparse but once that finishes the tables soon empty. In all it was an excellent break from the British weather and we are looking forward to going back next Feb half term.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here in January 2012. I loved our hotel room and the food was great, especially the desserts. Although I enjoyed our vacation, I think this hotel is more suitable for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here feb half term week and the hotel was full. But there was a feeling of space and plenty of sun loungers, chairs etc, nonetheless. The hotel was clean, friendly and spacious. The kids-5&6- loved it. Hotel run kids club was fantastic esp as parents could stay and that everything was free, t shirt painting, biscuit making, horse riding, cinema etc etc etc, not like the first choice one where you have to book your kids in the day before and incur extra charges for certain activities. Food was excellent, plenty of choice for all nationalities. Staff were polite and helpful. Entertainment was great. Stuff going on all day for all ages, but plenty of quiet areas too for those that wanted to chill. The fixtures and fittings were all of a high quality and I agree with the 4*+ rating. It really felt luxurious. This is the only place we've ever been where I could have stayed an extra week, and was not ready to come home at all. I am normally ready to return home after a week but not here. The kids cried when we left as they'd had such a wonderful time. We have already booked up to return next February, and are bringing the grandparents-there really is something for everyone. Regarding complaints I've read, re not suitable for couples, it is advertised as an all inclusive family hotel, and it is exactly that; only one bar-rubbish, there are at least three!! Check in being a nightmare-yes it was a slow process, but they copied your passports on arrival rather than keeping hold of them, which always unnerves me anyway. I think this is why it took longer than normal. A hint would be to go to the bar downstairs with the kids during check in and get them a drink from one of the self serve drinks machines, then return to whoever waits in the queue-only one person needs to stay in the queue, although every member needs to be present to have all inc wrist bands attached. Evening ent was great for little ones at first then for older ones later on. Cannot wait to return next year. ( one tiny grumble-both adults had dodgy tummies at one point or another. I think this may be due to the cheap version of baileys...) but didn't spoil our holiday at all. This is our favourite hotel and you shouldn't hesitate to book. I feel saddened that ppl have very unfairly given this 1 star. It seems some people just like to moan!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
On behalf of the Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Team we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your very kind words. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday to the fullest! It is a great honor for us that you have already booked your next stay. We are looking forward to having you as our guests again next year. Thank you very much for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel should be avoided.
- Food was plentifull but the quality was terrible.
- The hotel was understaffed. If you had any query, it was a potential mess.
- If you are a couple and expect some peace, good luck with that, as the place is full of children.
- Room had twinbeds, not a doublebed as we had requested.
-The air-conditioning produced a foul smell and it was better if we let it off even when we needed it.
- Not much space for the number of people that it acoomodates. Pools are overcrowded.

On the good points
+ the hotel offered LOTS of activities for children which seemed quit good as well.
+ location was great.
+ The SPA was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel and will be sure to pass your complaints about the food and lack of restaurant staff to the respective departments. We understand that some of our guests find it to be stressful to have kids around them on their holiday and therefore implemented an ‘adults only’ policy to some of our hotels in Mallorca. We kindly invite you to have a look at our website for those hotels for a future stay with Luabay. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Seivice and cleanliness could not be faulted. Good variety of food at all meal times. A little out of the way of local attractions but I found no real reason to leave the place. Entertainment varied from first class to average. Fine venue for children. Dining room was a bit of a war zone. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in ground level suite and found it to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.