We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Costa Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've enjoyed every minute of our stay.Great hotel,lots of entertainment for kids,good food and drinks and overall good value for money!We'll be back soon as they offer free kids places!
Just book it and enjoy it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    723
    258
    89
    64
See reviews for
1,309
522
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from 2 week family holiday. Grandparents, parents and 2 kids (age 5 and 8).
Nothing to fault, food, cleanliness, staff, animation team all really good!!
Didn't really get involved too much with kids clubs ( our kids just don't like them) but our youngest loved the hotel mascot Luby and the mini discos!! We now own the CD too!!!!

Eldest did the high ropes and was petrified but loved it!! Great facilities!

Evening entertainment was as expected! Watch out for cheeky Charlie Chaplin!! Very funny!!

We were there for Valentines Day and the food was amazing, lobster, fillet steak, king prawns etc etc restaurant decorated with heart balloons and ladies given a rose!!!

Would recommend for a great family holiday and will hopefully return!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, Hayley! We are glad that all generations of your family enjoyed their stay at our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words for our staff. It’s great to hear you had a good time as a family and that we were able to add to this special experience with our restaurants and entertainment. Luby and the entire team of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes are looking forward to welcoming your family at our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a week with my family, and we had a great experience. The room we stayed in (a suite) had a great size and balcony wich was very nice if one needs some time away from all the happenings. The beds though, were not as soft/comfortable as we could have wished, but I suppose this is to exspect from most hotels. The buffet restaurant was superb, fresh lovely food with a little of everything for every taste. The buffet included a wide range of hot and cold dishes, aswell as great selection of cheeses and fresh fruit. For lunch and dinner you can also have ice cream and cakes. The hotel is quite large wich does, that all the guests are spread over a large area and you never feel over crowded. The area is kept really nice and clean, thanks to the very friendly and helpful staff. Going with, or without, kids you really should remember to use and try all the facillities the hotel has to offer, this includes: tennis, ping pong, football, miniature golf, etc.. AND for all those of you (children and adults) who has the need for a little adrenalin kick, you simply must try the high ropes. If you are up for some relaxation, the Luabay Spa is a great visit. All in all a great hotel with a superb all inclusive programme. I would recommend this hotel to families with kids (in all ages) and everyone else who doesn't mind a little noise from happy kids running around having an ice cream in the sunny weather.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for a week in February as a family of 4 (6yr old and 3yr old) and had a amazing holiday ! The hotel was extremely clean, staff polite and everything was kept to a high standard. We couldn’t have wished for better weather, it was fab !

Our children loved the Thomsons / First Choice kids club with the Lovely Lorraine, Scousey Bee and Magic Mel. They especially loved the famous chocolate party ! It was their first visit to a kids club as we normally would rather them be with us, but they absolutely loved it ! It gave us time to visit the Wellness Centre and enjoy the spa facilities on two occasions. A very relaxing experience indeed.

Evening entertainment was very good, the kids had fun at the mini disco. Other entertainment included The Beatles tribute, Charlie Chaplin and shows put on by the in-house entertainment team (which were brilliant !)

Lots to choose from at meal times, even for a fussy eater like myself. We did find the fresh grill cooking a little hit and miss with the food being cooked & served too quickly at times. My 6 yr old was given raw chicken and I had a blue fillet steak. But this was rectified very quickly to enable us to enjoy our food. During our stay we enjoyed 2 visits to the speciality restaurant - the Mexican and the Grill evenings with my husband celebrating his birthday with a cake complimentary of the hotel.

We stayed in the E block and loved our room. We had amazing sea views and wonderful sunshine on our double balcony. Our room was slightly away from the main centre (about 2 mins walk) but the kids were able to have peaceful afternoon naps whilst us adults, chilled with a beer from the free mini bar, on the balcony overlooking the sea and away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel. The quiet pool was just above our rooms, so perfectly situated to nip back to the room if required. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard.

We mainly used the quiet pool area which was near the snack bar. The pools were a warm 27 degrees and were lovely and clean with a lifeguard present at all times. We hired towels for a deposit of 15 Euros per towel and changed them every 2 days – a great service. We were however disappointed in the slide that is advertised on the Thomsons website. It pictures a family going down the slide but when it came to it, only children were allowed. Part of our requirements when booking the hotel was that it had a slide for the family to enjoy, however only my 6 yr old went down it the once, so a bit of a disappointment to us all.

Overall however, we thought our holiday was amazing and really do hope to return one day ! Thank you to all the staff at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, you made our stay fantastic !

Room Tip: Block E - doesn't overlook the main pools so is a little quieter if you do have little ones who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the beginning of February. The weather was perfect. A few partly overcast days but it was still warm enough to sunbathe. The rooms were good with separate bedrooms. We were 2 adults and a 17 year old daughter and a 9 year old son. There are loads of activities for kids. The animation teams for the hotel and for First Choice seem really good. I
would recommend this hotel however the location isn't great. If you are bad on your legs it's a bit too hilly. The beach isn't nice with its black sand and there aren't many shops to look around. But if you're just looking for a place to chill and for the kids to be entertained then this has everything. The bar staff are lovely especially Antonio and Miguel. Food is nice with plenty of choice and the reception desk staff are very helpful. There is a school below the hotel which has band practice around 9.15am so if you like a lie in then you may get woken up. I've uploaded a video of the music. .We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is ultra modern, clean and smart. The service here is excellent. The food was great. Choose a sea view room otherwise you are overlooking the town and a busy road. The swimming pool area is spacious with plenty of sunbeds and sunshades. The location is stunning overlooking the sea towards the island of La Gomera.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in mid Feb 2013, taking our 21 year old daughter. The rooms were good - we had booked a family room, but were allocated split level rooms, which was excellent as downstairs had its own large room, bathroom, TV, etc and upstairs we had similar, with a larger bathroom and a good sea view balcony (shame that there is a large building crane on the right hand edge of the view). Reception staff very helpful, and the restaurants have a good range of good food that should suit most tastes. The speciality restaurant is a really good idea, giving two 'night's out'...although we did find the Mexican one a little disappointing. As many have noted, the main pool area is very lively and too noisy for us, the other pool area is a lot more peaceful. The leisure facilities are very good - we enjoyed archery, rifle shooting and mini golf, but there were many more choices. The free spa two hour session is also well worth trying.
We liked the mix of nationalities - there were a lot of Scandanavians enjoying some winter sun, everyone seemed to get on very well, you could mix or keep yourself to yourself if preferred. The range of all inclusive drinks was good and it really was an all inclusive break - we spent very little apart from the 30 euros for Wi-Fi. Outside the hotel, the village has shops, bars and a couple of supermarkets - quite touristy, not really to our taste ....the coastal walk to Los Gigantes was an enjoyable couple of hours - although not for the less able and not on a very hot day. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would consider going again.

Room Tip: As above - we had a split level apartment in the F section. It was excellent as our daughter had her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Costa Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Our 1800m2 spa will help you to wind down and if you’re coming with the family, you couldn’t do better; our suites with independent lounge are all you could ever ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Costa Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.