We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Couples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Save Saved
You added Luabay Costa Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
wigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not For Couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great hotel for families with loads for the kids but in my opinion not for couples. Apart from a couple of good entertainment acts and some dodgy "lounge singers" there isnt much to keep you up after 10.30. The facilities are excellent, the spa the pools the gym the rooms the activities and the service are all great but it is badly let down by the restaurant. The food was not bad but the wine and the standard of hygiene is awful, come on Luabay get some anti bacterial gel at the entrance and make sure it is used, it wont cost the earth and will help reduce the number of people with sick and diarrhoea, of which there were many, including my Wife. Still the beer and the gin and tonics along with the Cava and Lamumba were all spot on. If I had a young family I would go to this hotel for the facilities and entetainment but watch what your eating.

Room Tip: some rooms are two storey which can be difficult if you are infirm. Avoid rooms E300 to E322 you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that overall you were satisfied with our hotel and had a great holiday. Your feedback is very important for us and helps us spot areas of improvement. We will forward your comments about the entertainment and the food to the respective departments. We would like to take this occasion to inform you that our hotel complies with all rules and regulations concerning hygiene and food and health safety. Our facilities are tested on a regular basis by us and also by independent testers from outside the hotel. We do understand that there were some cases of illness but we can assure you that they did not come from our hotel or the food we offer. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future and see the changes for yourself. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    894
    644
    230
    77
    55
See reviews for
1148
457
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here 8/11 for a week. It was our third stay at this property. The standard of the rooms has been maintained and the food and drink is of an excellent standard. Could not fault the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

On the positive side nice big rooms, lovely staff and a la carte restaurants good. Also gardens beautiful and pool areas spacious.

However, buffet restaurant is canteen like with zero ambience and poor food. Cleanliness mixesd.

All inclusive wine foul. Spirits ok.

Could do with adults only area too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your quick feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments about the food and drinks which will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went with First Choice. Was so much to do for our three children (aged 22 months, 4 and 7). Hotel very clean and facilities fantastic. Massive suite so could put cot in between the two big bedrooms. Great views throughout as whole complex faces out from cliffs over the sea. Food good - lots of choice. Choice of kids clubs all included in price and running at various times throughout the day.

First package holiday we have been on and would definitely return. Only criticism was constant (and often loud) music playing throughout much of the complex.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and hope you and your family had a great time at our resort! We are glad you were satisfied with our kids entertainment and choice of food we offer. Your comment about the music is very much appreciated and will be forwarded to the responsible department. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself and my partner visited this hotel 4-11 Nov 2012 and we are already pricing up next years visit.

When we first arrived the service was a little slow at check in but that's fairly normal for a Spanish resort. We had just missed dinner due to a slight flight delay however there was food laid on in the restaurant. It was bread, salad and cold meats with some fruit and yoghurt. I rethought this was perfect for the time of night really.

The hotel is huge but you are given a map which is easy to follow. There are lots of sun beds and places to sit and have a drink. We found a good sunbed spot away from the pool as it was very busy with families.

We were given a free spa voucher which they said we had to use on the day they provided which luckily for us was the only day it rained. The spa was fantastic, it as clean and the service brilliant as they explain how to use the circuit etc.

We had great service throughout the hotel. The bar staff were very efficient and although there were queues at the bar they soon went down. I managed to forget the code to the free safe they provided but someone was at our room door within 5 minutes of going to reception about it. We hand a slight problem with the toilet as it was flushing itself constantly, this was also fixed by the time we were back to our room after dinner. The barstaff were always around collecting glasses and cleaning tables. Also we went to book into the a la carte restaurant thinking you booked on the day you wanted to go but that want the case. There were fully booked but kept us on a reservation list and we managed to get in for the last 2 nights of our holiday.

This brings me on to food. Which I thought was brilliant. There was lots of choice and they never ran out of things even when we were going late into the restaurant. The food tasted fantastic and yes some is repetitive but that's pretty much always the case and if you pile your plate up with everything on offer every night then it will be.

The food in the a la carte restaurant was fabulous. We had the Mexican and Grill nights. I preferred the Mexican but enjoyed the grill also. There wasn't much choice for vegetarians on the menu but that didn't bother us (just thought I'd make the point).

The too we had was great, we had a suite so a bedroom, living area and bathroom. It was all very clean and comfortable and the maids service was great.

I can't say too much on the main entertainment as we kept away from that room and sat in the bar making the most of the all inclusive alcohol. There was a singer on most nights in the Tenerife bar which was fine. The main entertainment room always looked full so assume it was good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and really appreciate your kind words for our staff and the quality of our hotel. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again next year! Thank you again for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

this was our first trip to tenerife and as we were dropping off guests at some of the more southerly resorts near the airport,i became mildly panicked as they were so built up and unattractive,however the further we travelled,so the landscape improved;luabay thoroughly deserves its 4star status,it is in a great location with magnificent seaviews and of the island of la gomera,a short walk from the small resort of playa arena and its small beach and just a 10min walk to the small but pretty resort of los gigantes and its marina and famous cliffs.the hotel is very attractive,with marble staircases(lots of them,to help burn the calories!),chrome and glass.it is spotlessly clean both inside and out;gardens are attractive and pool areas clean,spacious with a quiet pool and a livelier one.the food is exceptional;the only problem is that there really is too much to choose from!!i don t eat meat but i do eat fish and both my carnivore partner and i had plenty to choose from;there is everything from fresh ffruit platters,excellent fine patisserie to meat and fish cooked to order on the grill while you watch,oh and a dustbin lid sized paella filled with all the fruits of the sea. breakfasts are similarly generous, with choce of cold meats/cheeses,omelettes, fresh made pancakes,bacon,sausage,cereals both hot and cold,fresh fruits and juices and fresh made breads pastries etc;-yes,the snack bar at the pool serves a limited range of food but if u cant find something from the usual fast food fare(nuggets/chips/burgers) there is always freshly made pizzas,pasta and rice dishes,salads and a pre packaged sandwiches and fruit to choose from-and if that still isnt enough,u can always walk a few steps to the main restaurant for your lunch!) the alcoholic drinks are perfectly fine-vodka and cava are good,"baileys" obviously a weaker version and i had xecellent glasses of a good quality white wine and just one glass of white that i couldnt drink;-lager is amstel which is great and there are self serve taps for this and also sangria,wines and soft drinks/slush);the spa is gorgeous-we used our free vouchers given on arrival, and the gym is well equipped with great views over the ocean.entertainment is geared very much to families but there were tribute bands which were good(queen and beatles while wew were there and a brilliant michael jackson dance impersonator and his backing dancers) but there is a quieter piano bar with live music(usually solo singer with backing track) every night which is fine;if u do want a change there are the nearby bars and restaurants of los gig and playa arena to visit.good mix of guests-mostly english and german but also a few spanish,dutch and french and mix of families and couples.room was fab-turned out to be a duplex which we werent expecting, so, v spacious with sat tv,balcony with sea view(all rooms have full or partial sea view) air con broke on 3rd day,i reported it to reception when we went out in the morning,when we came back in the afternoon,it was fixed.i have stayed in a few all-inclusives before and this hotel is definately the best; we ve also visited the other canary islands (apart from gran can)and can say that tenerife is the one we would definately go back to)-would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: book direct with hotel-another guest did this and told me she'd saved lots and was bale to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to the holiday village with first choice 23-31st oct 12 (2 adults 2 kids 7 & 3) and i will say the hotel itself is lovely and so well maintained.The rooms are spacoius and cleaned everyday,i would say 99% of the staff were lovely and really friendly.There is really nothing to do outside of the hotel ,bar the small beach and a handful of usual shops. ;-) My daughter who is 7 wasnt overly keen on the kids club she found it boring but i did notice they tend to put the superstars & the little stars together quite alot so age range from 3-8 can be a bit to much in the respect of what 7 year olds find amusing!! I guess my only gripe with this hotel was the food!! during the day they have the snack bar by the pool open where you can get chips,pizza etc my issue with this bar was that none off the food gets covered up!! so its left for bugs & flys to also help themselves,and also there isnt an option to have a healthy snack just chips etc! The main restaurant again not amazing-plenty of food but very much the same thing every other night.My main problem was there meat and fish which most didnt look like meat and the fish beyond overcooked!! the food in general just looked really cheap to me;-( i kept trying things thinking it would get better but it unfortunetley it didnt. Also the alcohol was rubbish,i know you dont expect local alcohol to be great but for a 4* hotel i dread to think what people are getting in 2&3* hotels are getting food and drink wise.So based on the food mainly and there not being much to do in the resort, i wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, Mischa. We are glad you and your family had a great time and were satisfied with our staff. Your feedback about the food and the drinks is very important for us and we will be sure to forward it to the responsible departments so they can find ways of improvement for the future. We truly hope this issue did not spoil your holiday for you and we would be very delighted to welcome you at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago
Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Costa Los Gigantes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Our 1800m2 spa will help you to wind down and if you’re coming with the family, you couldn’t do better; our suites with independent lounge are all you could ever ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Luabay Costa Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.