We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday and resort, would go back :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Costa Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday and resort, would go back :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just come back today from a nice holiday, were gutted to end up leaving almost a day earlier than we thought (our mistake)! The food was plentiful and lots of choice - we also tried the Mexican and Italian restaurants - both nice and make a nice change from the main restaurant. We ate for England on our all inclusive package and the diet must start tomorrow!!

We have a 1.5yr old and 2.5 yr old creating havoc! The reception staff were friendly and very accommodating of them! As were the other waiters and cleaners - all fussing over them and the kids can now speak a little Spanish! Both kids went in the crèche 2hrs most afternoons and on a couple of evenings, they seemed to enjoy it, happy with the First Choice team, always said hello to the kids outside crèche times. The entertainment generally (either First Choice or Luabay organised) was good - bouncy castle one evening, kids disco, Beatles tribute etc, local singer in bar etc. Much better than other AI resorts I have stayed at. This place is child friendly and our two were often dancing in the bar areas with other Spanish and English children.

The pools were great fun (quiet pool recommended for younger children as there tends to be activities in main pool). Plenty of sunbeds available for late risers like us! Hotel very clean, rooms cleaned daily etc and black out curtains...:-). Spa circuit worth a visit! We also had some treatments and were pleased with them.

Hired a car for few days - better sandy beaches in Las Americas which was short drive away. The hotel does run a bus service tho so hiring car not necessary.

One final piece of info, subject to leaving a deposit, you can use First Choice towels for pool so no need to pack any. Saves that all important luggage space!!

Enjoy your holidays!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    722
    258
    89
    63
See reviews for
1,309
520
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Leng's family holiday tenerife 2012 Hotel Costa Los Gigantes

We arrived late at night and after a speedy check in was shown to our room by a first choice rep who even offered to carry our bags. We went to the restaurant as the hotel put on a little bit of food for the late night arrivals, nice touch we thought. Our room (M229)was very spacious and modern with tv in both rooms and a very clean bathroom, the beds in the main bedroom are on wheels and occasionally drift apart if the brakes are not applied. They are cleaned on a daily basis and linen changed every 3 days. If you have a late flight out make sure you book an extension to your room well in advance as it is a popular hotel. All the hotel staff always smile and talk and are very polite right down to the room maids. Food is plentiful with a wide variety even for the most pickiest of eaters like myself I never went hungry my kids aged 10 & 8 thought they were in heaven, the swimming pools cater for all abilities with 2 little plunge pools for the really small toddlers also there is a water slide which operates twice daily and is monitored by a hotel kids club rep. The pools also have life guards in attendance, the first choice kids club are a god send and really make the kids relaxed, my two got to know them all and they always called out to our boys if the saw them, and they remember all the kids names. There are lots of activities for kids to do all supervised by the kids club. Finally the night time entertainment called i5 live for the family starts with kids entertainment and moves into family entertainment with a show from professional entertainers which is very very good for all to enjoy and the compare "DONNA" is a credit to first choice very professional and very good with all children. My 8 year old fell in love with her.
This was our first time all inclusive and first time at a holiday village and we would definitely do it all again





  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Leng’s family, we are very happy to know that you all had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest! The Luabay Team would like to thank you for your very kind words for our staff and the positive feedback on our food offer. We would love to welcome you back at our hotel soon! Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first family holiday in years, and lived up to all of the expectations. The room was fab, having the main bedroom with two singles was a bonus, as we have two older kids, a guy and a gal. My wife and I slept on the fold out bed and we all slept well. Room had a mini bar which was stocked up everyday, which was good. Two satellite TVs, but only one remote? We were in M Block on the first floor so had a good view of the pool. Pools were all great, although one of the three was a bit chilly. Meals were great, choice was endless, however pool snack bar food was the usual processed rubbish. Main restaurant was lovely, everything fresh. Some things were grilled/fired in front of you, which was fab. The hotels activities were a hit with the kids, especially the high ropes. Didn't visit the spa. Entertainment in the evenings from the Luabay team was good. Location wasn't the best ever however, it was in a picturesque village, with black sand beaches. This was great, but if you wanted to get anywhere else it was hire a car or take a slightly naff First Choice excursion. Best thing was I booked last minute, so 2 adults 2 teens was £1849 for the week, including flights!!! Going back in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for block 'M'. Central yet quiet, and great view of the pools and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and got to spend some quality time together. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are really looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again soon! Thank you for choosing Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked this hotel because most of the reviews I had read were very good and with the hotel just having a uplift I booked,
Well to be honest we had a very nice week in the Hotel Los Gigantes, the food was very good and there was always something to please everyone, the waiters try and do there best to please you although at times they found it hard to keep up with the vast numbers hitting the restaurant at once !!
The pool area was very pleasing to the eye and was kept clean, also fantastic views over the sea while you were sunbathing !!
The public areas of the hotel were imaculate and were again very pleasing to the eye, we went to the evening entertainment on 3 occasions and found it to be of a good standard and most acts were very professional, sitting outside on the veranda watching the entertainment was very nice and was much cooler than sitting inside the bar.
However, our room was not so good, we had booked a superior room which we paid extra for, as we had arrived late evening we were shocked to find our late meals (meat salad) was sitting on the top of the fridge getting very warm, the reason it wasnt in the fridge was because the fridge wasnt working, the next thing we discovered was the sliding doors to the (ground) floor balcony would not lock, we decided to phone reception to tell them that we could not leave our room until the doors had been fixed as we had money and valuables in the room and it was also on the ground floor level, the receptionist answer to me was "dont worry it is safe here, dont worry about locking your door tonight, we will get it fixed tomorrow " I told the receptionist that wasnt exceptable and we needed something done now, he said he would send the security guard to our room to try and fix the lock, after some 30 mins of strugling with the lock the security guard locked the doors, we had to wait until the following evening to get a replacement fridge!!
The following morning we turned on the shower to discover that it was leaking through the glass doors and a large puddle of water had appeared on the bathroom floor which my wife had to use a towel to soak it up, we reported this to reception that morning but nothing was done for the whole stay and we had to mop this puddle up after every shower !!
The next occurence was the bathroom hairdryer, when my wife turned it on to dry her hair it started to smoke and within seconds flames appeared from the back of it and it blew !!
Again I reported this to reception and the receptionist laughed and said it would be reported, to give them credit it was replaced that day , amazing stuff !!

To sum up this hotel, on the outside it looks very good but the attention to detail especially in the rooms leaves a lot to be desired, well in our room anyway !! yes the hotel maybe classified as a 4 star but if it doesnt start looking inwardly it may find itself losing its good reputation, I really hope that the hotel takes note of our comments and rectifies these problems before its to late and someone gets injured or worse !!

Room Tip: dont pick a superior go for the cheaper standard , it might be safer !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Michael, thank you very much for writing this review. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our food selection and the service and would like to apologize that your room was not up to the expected standards. We are very sorry about the incidents and understand your irritation. Your feedback about the defects is very important for us and we will be sure that more focus will be put on checking these things before we have guests moving in. We truly hope you enjoyed your holiday nonetheless and would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We came to the hotel for 11 days late Sept/Oct 2012 and over all we were very happy and would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's too expensive too attract the chavs but also not so expensive that its full of stuck up people. The staff were diverse and friendly like the guests and they catered well for the English, Spanish, Eastern European and Scandinavian patrons. The hotel is about 50mins coach ride from the airport and the hotel is about 10mins walk from the black sand beach and small parade of shops, banks and restaurant/bars. The rooms are clean and nice even though the house keeping comes every other day and the minibar only has beer, coke and water in it. The pools are great - one large one kids and adults but no inflatables, another large one for everyone where inflatables are allowed, two small pools for small children and a pool with a scary looking slide but its actually fine for 2+ (just wait for them at the bottom). The food and drink is 'all inclusive' all day which is good but as you can imagine it gets boring after 7-11 days. Even though the selection is massive after a 7 days you will have had everything. The entertainment is great if your into that kind of thing. Everything from football, water polo, spinning and water aerobics for the adults to arts and crafts and sports and dance for the kids (3-13) if your kids are younger there is a crèche and if they are older they will probably want to go off and do their own thing. Finally the tours they try to push to you. Loro parque (like a zoo) and Siam park (a water park) are great if you have maybe slightly older kids. My wife and I took our 2 year old and 7 week old so we went to jungle park and aqua land and we felt these two place we much better for us.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great time, the staff were phenomenal and did everything they could do to ensure that we had a great holiday. Fortunately we hired a car from the airport so we could get about as the hotel is a walking distance from the front - and up a hill.
The weather was great - make sure children have at least factor 50 on even when it's cloudy!
There was LOADS of choice at mealtimes and everything was very clean.
The room was very spacious and the flat screen TV's were great even though we didn't use them much.
We had everything we needed and more, we are already talking about going back!!!

Room Tip: Block L & M are next to the children's pool. Out of all three - there is only one pool (spli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

on the front at playa de la arena it's absolutely gorgeous we all had pizza there one night and it was best pizza ever tasted plus we also got a couple the next day for lunch and sat on a wall overlooking the sea eating them, it was fab,we also went for tea there on our last night and I had the chicken with pepper sauce, my partner had fillet steak,my son had spaghetti bolognese and my daughter had soup and we all thoroughly enjoyed it, plus it is excellent for money.

We would def recommend this hotel to
anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Costa Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Costa Los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Costa Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Our 1800m2 spa will help you to wind down and if you’re coming with the family, you couldn’t do better; our suites with independent lounge are all you could ever ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Costa Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Costa Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.