We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes to your Saves list
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The staff were all really friendly. Hotel has brilliant views accross the sea, overlooking La Gomera. Complex is quite large so never felt overcrowded. Food was really good, always plenty to chose from. Rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard. Would love to go again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    839
    285
    94
    68
See reviews for
1,479
643
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This was our second visit to this resort in just over 12 months, last year (March 2010) I would have rated it as almost 5* in every way and recommended it to friends who visited and felt the same after their visits, things do seem to be changing though........

We were aware that the resort was becoming a First Choice Holiday Village but didn't expect too much to have changed from our last visit, how wrong we were, standards have definitely dropped, partly because even at what must have been 1/2 capacity (at most) the staff seemed to struggle clearing up after hordes of First Choice's (and Britain's) finest had passed through, our biggest bugbears were:

1) Cigarette ends in all the flower / plant beds despite ample ashtrays & bins all over the resort. There were even some smashed glasses in some communal areas that took a while to be cleared, be aware of this if you like going everywhere barefoot. Many people just left their rubbish wherever they liked and expected it to be cleared for them.
2) I would defy anyone to find any communal toilets with taps that weren't broken, working locks on all doors, lights working or at least one of the hand dryers being broken. My wife commented on the ladies toilets having soiled nappies left near the sinks or on the floor.
3) Swearing / smoking (from a small minority) by parents around the kid's pools
4) Pina Colada / Slush machines were unable to cope with demand and a lot of the time just produced chilled drinks
5) Mini Disco, even at less than half capacity you would be lucky to get a seat anywhere near the stage, expect at least 40 - 50 Kids and at least 3-4 times as many adults, how they will cope in the summer is beyond me.
6) If I want to see premiership football shirts on adults I watch SkySports, no need here though!
7) As mentioned the place wasn't too busy but there is a culture of getting your towels on your chosen sunbed early. It has to be done and we can't even blame the foreigners!

On the plus side the hotel despite its seeming rapid decline is still a really nice place with great pools and facilities, there is always something to be done. Even though we won't be going back due to the First Choice influence, their staff (Kid's Club especially) do work hard and are great at entertaining the kids. Alex the Lion and Shrek also seem to put in a shift! Generally the hotel staff are amicable and friendly, if in the main keeping you at arms length which is understandable! The rooms are great we stayed in 'A' Block which overlooks the quieter pools. If watching TV is your thing then the channels you can recieve vary but we always got Sky Sports, SKY / BBC News, ITV4 and even CBeebies now and then.

The food / drink, and choice of it is excellent, yes if you stay for 2 weeks you might get bored but I think that could be said of anywhere. I would rate the catering as one of the best at any all inclusive we have stayed at. Did not hear of any sickness at all - apart from the odd hangover!

Gym / Spa: Gym is well equipped, great views from the treadmills. No air-con so does get hot and bring your own bottled water. The spa seems to be very quiet these days. My wife used her free voucher and enjoyed a relaxing hour in there. Between 1pm and 4pm however it is 'family time' you can't use the spa as a lone adult at this time so bear that in mind if your free pass is due to expire!

If you know what to expect from a First Choice Holiday Village then this could be for you, had we not visited the hotel previously we might have enjoyed the holiday more but the high expectations set by our first visit were not matched this time around. There is a very British feel to everything now, few foreign guests (some Spanish & some German) and it does seem to have lost the air of exclusivity it had. I would definitely not recommend to singles, or couples looking for a romantic break as it is geared to young families.

Despite the gripes we still had a lovely holiday and met some lovely people, our 4 year old had a great time despite her parents not being as relaxed as they might have been. If you are looking to stay here I would price it up on the basis of being a 3* or a 3*+ but not the 4* it once was.

Room Tip: 'A' block is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just returned from the Tenerife holiday village on 17th may.
We visited on a late deal break as we have family in Tenerife we wanted to visit. We were impressed with the hotel overall, our room was really good n211 was behind waterslide facing sea. We had huge terrace with 3 sun beds, very handy as our 1 yr old sleeps for 2 hrs every afternoon. This meant we could sunbathe whilst he slept! We thought food was reasonable, although we were only able to visit 1 of the a la carte restaurants as they were full. I would recommend you book those as soon as you arrive to avoid this. Pools were lovely and hotel service was good. It is a bit like a holiday camp, however it is a holiday village and is fantastic for kids. Our baby loved the huge soft play area and there are loads of activities for older children and adults. We thought it was good value for a week break in the sun but don't go if you are looking for gourmet food and drinks! drinks in particular were poor, wine is dire as were the cheap spirits/ beer, we don't drink much so didn't bother us too much. Overall good value but in our experience riu group hotels do this standard of all inclusive much better!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I have just got back from Luabay, which was a 4 day anniversary treat. We were not happy with the first room because there was very little sea-view. The Dutch male receptionist, whose name I cannot remember, was very helpful when we requested another room with a better view. We were given a duplex room in the Fblock which was excellent. The room was clean. The only drawback was the twin-beds. We would have preferred a double or king. The sea view from the hotel is breathtaking. The resort was excellent and caters for children and people wanting peace and rest. The staff were professional and very helpful. There was a wide variety of tasty hot & cold food and salads to suit everyone. The Spa area was excellent and relaxing. The playa de la Arena beach is walkable ( 15 mins down hill). Will definitely be going back. Well done Luabay! Thanks for a splendid stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My mum and i arrived on the 6th of May (the hotel had been recommended to us) for a week. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our suite was lovely and so clean. This is the place for you if you are looking for a very quiet, relaxing holiday. It is brilliant for children! I however dont have them, so if your around the age of 30 and no kids in tow then this is not the location for you as the area is so quiet.
I have to follow a gluten free diet and i was worried about knowing what i could eat. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I had pastries, croissants, bread and cake brought to my table each morning and pasta at lunchtimes.
The spa is gorgeous and i recommend getting a massage!

Room Tip: We were block C. its quiet. View is the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Arrived at 11pm and we were very impressed with the hotel, very classy appearance and grand lobby with gorgeous view. We were checked in immediately and promptly taken by a very fast luggage buggy to our room. I didn't even have time to find my purse to tip the porter before he zoomed off with a friendly goodbye. A late snack was provided in the buffet restaurant for the late arrivals and so far we were impressed with everything.

Breakfast was the usual All-Inc buffet. Nice selection but more toasters are needed and it would probably help if someone supervised and I had my toast pinched a number of times by 'toaster-newbies' who could not get the hang of it!

Lunch was in the smaller buffet room by the main pool. Again, lots of choice for hot and cold meals and snacks.

Dinner is back in the buffet restaurant and, again, very happy with the food selection and quality. Bottles of wine are readily served to anyone wanting one.

There is a snack bar by the quiet pool but we tried to avoid this as it was chips, burgers and hot dogs etc so it was too tempting to overeat!

The bar drinks are generous measures of gin, vodka etc and the Irish Coffee is worth a try if you like it strong.

So, overall the Luabay is a lovely hotel and the staff and friendly and helpful. I didn't once see anyone 'slacking' so they all seemed keen to do a good job.

Now for the downside (in my opinion as part of a couple with no children). FIRST CHOICE HOLIDAY VILLAGE TENERIFE IS NOT FOR COUPLES!!!! The entertainment and atmosphere is totally geared for families. At the initial welcome meeting the rep asked us "How many children do you have?", we replied "none, thankfully!" (as a joke) and she chuckled as she replied that we had come to the wrong place then!! The evening menu consists of entertainment for anyone up the age of 12 until well after 9pm (which should really be switching to us adults by this time) and the entertainment staff only seem able to communicate in that high-pitched 'I'm talking to a 3-year-old' voice whether they are talking to a 3-year-old or a 33-year-old. Very annoying!

We only went to the evening entertainment twice as it was just not entertaining unfortunately.

I would guess that the couples without children accounted for about 5% of the guests during our week there. I couldn't work out whether the families who noticed us and other couple-travellers were looking at us out of envy or wondering whether we had just got it wrong with our choice of hotel.

Last little gripe would be the lack of WiFi. It would be good if this were free in the rooms.

Conclusion is exactly as the title says:
Luabay = Lovely
First Choice Holiday Village = Not For Couples!!

Room Tip: Block J is away from the hotel 'traffic'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. This time we took daughter son in law and 5 month old baby as we realised last year it was ideal for young families. We booked direct and got exactly the rooms we requested - plus a double bed for the baby but that was quickly changed to the pre-ordered cot! Only small problem but worth noting for those travelling with babies - there is no kettle in the appartments and when we requested one at reception just after check in time we were quoted 20 euro deposit, plus 3 euros per day hire. Also they couldnt get one until the next day - the baby needing feeds made up with boiled water so they recommended local supermarket which we purchased one from but I would like to see the hotel provide ketles for all bookings with babies under 2. It would be a nice touch and save newly arrived guests rushignot the supermarket. We left the kettle behind so maybe the next family benefitted!

Back to the hotel - acommodation great very spacious and clean and well equipped. Food is wonderful and so much choice. Loads of lovely salads and fresh veg plus the grilled fish and meats, sutbtly themed menus - we experienced italian, mexican etc. All the usual pastas, chips etc also available for those who wanted it but we went for the more varied options.

One observation First Choice have taken this hotel over as a Holiday village from 1st May - we dont think this is a positive move for such a lovely venue. We arrived 3rd May and it was pleasant and quiet but as our week went on First Choice guests began to arrive and the noise increased, and a different calibre of guests arrived. Despite lights out at 11pm across the resort many returned noisily with their children in the early hours disturbing other guests and a lot of regular guests commented to us about the change of atmosphere! The quieter pool outside D and E blocks remained relatively quiet with restrained older guests and those with babies and young children but walking to the main centre pool felt like being in a totally different and very rowdy resort.

We felt many of the guests did not respect the wonderful facilities on offer and the fantastically attentive staff could not keep up with the mess they were making in the restaurant and toilets especially!

Please Luabay don't allow this First Choice to change the overall wonderful quality of your hotel - we are worried it might ..... and think high season will be horrendous!

Room Tip: Block D or E is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes

Address: Juan Manuel Capdevielle 8 | Playa de la Arena, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Los Gigantes)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes has been designed down to the smallest detail for familes and couples wishing to spend their holidays in an incomparable location, enjoying our excellent facilities to the full. Superbly located in Tenerife South, it enjoys spectacular views over to the island of La Gomera and the Lod Gigantes cliff. 500 Meters away from Plaua La Arena beach. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Los Gigantes Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Costa Los Gigantes Hotel
Be Live Family Costa Los Gigantes Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.