We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very late review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alagoa Mar Apartamentos

Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alagoa Mar Apartamentos to your Saves list
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 2, Altura 8950-411, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very late review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here in aug 2012 with a group of friends. Location perfect as it is centre point between strip and old town...pool area lovely and bar nice. Staff friendly. A little dated apartment wise but good for price paid. an enjoyable Experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here with my partner a few months ago. We had a great stay and found the location to be great. Its about a 10 minute walk to either the old town or the new town. Theres a supermarket about 5 minutes away so handy for groceries.

The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms nicely decorated. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Our check in was with Andre? I think that was his name, he was especially helpful and made us feel very welcome!

Will definitely stay again if we return to the Algarve

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

i went with my boyfriend. we stayed in a one bedroom apt and found it was quite exprensive to stay here.
We had a view over a main road which was very disappointing as it was extremely noisy. i asked for a pool view but staff refused to move us. There was no sun on the balcony at all.
However putting all this aside we had an enjoyable stay. the hotel was nice and clean, nice large pool and plenty of sun beds. 24hr reception. The hotel is ideally situated between old town and new however i would recommed staying near the old town as it was a much better atmosphere brillian restaurants and plenty of bars. We had a good stay however unless you are guaranteed a pool view i would not stay here. I know i sound ungrateful but the view of a main road really spoiled the trip as i felt like i was still at home in birmingham!

  • Liked — modern
  • Disliked — view from our room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Located just back from a main road. Half way between the Old Town & the Strip (about a 15 min walk from each). So if you're interested in visiting both spots, it's ideally located.

However, if you plan on spending all of your evenings in one or the other, i would suggest staying near one or the other...as the Strip & The Old Town are about a 30-40 min walk apart.

Located near the stop for a nice little tourist train that runs all day between the old town & the strip.

Located about a 15min walk from the beach.

If staying in these apartments, I would suggest requesting a room with a pool view as the rooms facing the road can be noisy (traffic).

Reasonably priced.

Lovely big pool & pool area with plenty of comfortable beds.

Snack bar not up to much & quite expensive.

Friendly receptionists (24hr reception).

Mainly occupied by Scandanavians & Germans.

No entertainment.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Noise from the main road in the rooms at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alagoa Mar Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoa Mar Apartamentos

Address: Lote 2, Altura 8950-411, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagoa Mar Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alagoa Mar Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos Hotel Altura
Alagoa Mar Apartamentos Altura, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alagoa Mar Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.