We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the same as everyone else, Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurotel Altura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurotel Altura to your Saves list
Eurotel Altura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-414, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
united kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Just the same as everyone else, Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Arrived Sunday 27th November 2011 for a weeks stay, party of 4 Mum, Dad, Daughter and Son in Law, told the rooms would ready soon (arrived around 12 noon ish so to be expected) went to the poolside bar for refeshment(s) just got served and then the rooms were ready (magic,i calls it) rooms very good indeed, we stayed on the fourth floor and the sea views were excellent. Flat screen tv with enough channels to satisfy those that can't do without. Meals were buffet style breakfast usual english and continental with enough of a choice to suit most, same at dinner, soup followed by meat and a fish dish plus excellent salad bar, a rice and / or pasta dish,veggies etc. desserts were cakey stuff and excellent fresh fruits.

All of the staff were without exception thoroughly professional and charming, a pleasant Bom Dia! always returned with a smile.

Altura itself is very quiet at this time of year (Duh!) and I would imagine it is still fairly laid back in Summer.

Bonus stuff:- Free Wi-Fi (password from reception daily) Free Computer use (in the reading room / Lounge) Sea View all rooms, Free Safe in room (not come across that before despite many visits to the Algarve)

Wellness Spa (extra cost depending on treatment) Wife, Daughter and Son in Law availed themslves of various treatments and announced all were excellent (take a bow Elena) whilst I personally ensured the Bar Staff remained in gainful employment.

Free Shuttle bus up to Monte Gordo or Vila Real de Santo Antonio 19.30 to 22.30 three times a week in winter (this should have been in the bonus stuff s'pose) .

Taxi's to Monte Gordo about 7 euros each way and 10 -12 euros each way to Vila Real (whilst on the subject ferry to Ayamonte in Spain from Vila Real is 1.60 euros each way)

Having seen videos from pre-refurbishment the look now is of casual elegance, all public areas are very comfortable and inviting, lovely terrace to eat and drink on, pool outside not used by us at this time of year, however gardens still magnificent.

Indoor pool (heated) was used and again declared excellent (extra cost unless booking spa treatment then entry is free all day)

Having stayed at a five star hotel on the Algarve last year i feel that all things considered this hotel and services offered runs that experience very close on most elements and exceeds it on one or two (homeliness and general can't quite put my finger on it but lets call it Ambiance shall we)

Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone (must be some sort of record in our house as wife was searching to re-book for next year, two hours after arriving home which i suppose tells you all you really need to know).

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, no more to be said!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    166
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
109
184
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The four nights we spent in this hotel were brilliant. The staff were very helpful and very polite nothing was a problem. All rooms have a sea view and are spacious. The bathroom had plenty of toiletries and clean towels everyday. Complimentry wi-fi, use of safe, courtesy bus for drop off's and pick up's in nearby towns, even afternoon tea, coffee and biscuits. We were b&b so we didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but the buffet breakfast had something for everyone. We will return!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor with super views. Our room was one with the arched balconys which were larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had an eleven night stay in September '11. The weather was outstanding (solid sunshine each day) so that always helps, but we were delighted by the hotel (recently refurbished to a high standard), the hotel staff (very helpful), and the surroundings. Our First Choice rep was also helpful and we took two of the day trips (Seville, and the boat trip to the amazing retsaurant at Foz de Odeleite!).
Our room was nicely spacious for the three of us and very comfortable. All the rooms have sea views and small balconies.
Altura is a quiet resort, and the Eurotel is the only major hotel in town, but there are some delightful bars and restaurants. We particularly liked the little fish restaurant on the beach (a short walk from the hotel).
Highly recommended and we would love to go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Eurotel, Altura, Portugal last week. The rooms were furnished in a very tasteful manner, the bathrooms were well stocked with toiletries and lovely soft towels and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast buffet was extremely good and well laid out. You certainly would not have come away hungry and would have been set up for the day after partaking the wide variety of food on offer. We would certainly stay there again when next in the Eastern Algarve.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was our 1st time in eastern Algarve. We stayed there for 7 nights, having being in Alvor for the previous 7. The hotel has recently undergone a thorough refurbishment and looks very clean, modern and appealing when you walk into reception, and the rooms and restaurant are equally pleasing. We had a large corner suite with a double bed and 2 bed settees. The bathroom was clean, spacious and modern and there was a balcony with a lovely sea view. There was entertainment most evenings which we enjoyed and could dance to (our new hobby). The staff were very friendly. Our favourite restaurant a short car journey away was O Infante--------good food and massive portions if you went for 1 of the steak meals-always good quality and tasty sauces. We also enjoyed long walks along the beach, to which there is direct access from the hotel. Spain is just a hop skip and a jump away so we visited a couple of places there. Seville was well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea views, corner suites are large and have an extra window on the side. Higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have just returned from 4 nights staying at the Eurotel, Altura. Firstly, the staff, from reception, bar and dining and the fitness centre areas were all very friendly, efficient, and happy to help. Particular thanks to Alberto and Leonardo on the bar - very pleasant company in the evenings - both took time to chat with guests when they were not busy serving.

One small point we observed - the room we were in had a tiled floor with a large rug around the bed area. However, we found that the noise from neighbouring rooms of chairs scraping the floor, doors being opened and closed and the water system being used were a little on the loud side - perhaps carpets would eliminate some of the disturbance?

The beach is vast and beautiful, enabling you to walk for what seems like an eternity. In the hotel, the rooms were lovely, plus there is plenty of space and different rooms in the hotel itself, so we were always able to find somewhere quiet to sit and relax. Didn't use the outside pool as it was a bit chilly on two of the days we were there, but the indoor pool and spa facilities were lovely, and we thought well worth 7.50 euros to enjoy this area for the day.

We had read reviews on here regarding the food - how there was not a lot of choice on offer. However, we found the food excellent, in both quality and quantity but can perhaps understand that fussy eaters might be a little disappointed.

For example, there is usually one meat and one fish main course each evening. On our visit it went something like this: Monday night: Chicken Provencal or Octopus, Tuesday: Veal with peppercorn sauce or seafood pasta, Wednesday: Salmon or Pork, Thursday: Turkey with bacon bits or pan fried Halibut. We were prepared to try these main dishes and thought they were all superb, but others may not wish to brave such things as veal or octopus! That's their loss, in my opinion! Other dishes such as Chef's pasta of the day, rice, potatoes, vegetables and a good salad bar with cold meats should ensure that there is something enjoyable for everyone, though. The desserts were fab, so take advantage of the free gym use included in the room rate! :-)

Would definitely return to both the area and this hotel. A free shuttle service goes on Tuesday and Thursday to other parts of this region. We visited Tavira,which was very pretty and worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

i stayed the hotel for three nights after the excellent reviews given by people on trip advisor.the hotel is located in the small village of altura. there are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. For persons travelling from abroad, hiring a car might be worth considering if you are going to explore the algarve. If not you have the town of Montegordo which is a few kilometers down the road. The hotel is magnificent. The rooms are of a good size,extremely clean and no signs of wear and tear. The decor of the hotel resembles that of a boutique hotel. The service was impeccable throughout my time there. The pool area was very well kept and a good size. the hotel has a private walkway to the beach.Amenities include a tennis court, a kids outdoor play area, a mini golf 9 tee [ 3 euros fee] a kids club [playing movies in english] which boasts a nintendo wii [which was free]. There is also a games room with table tennis table, a futbolin, and a playstation 2 with various games for hire at a price of 5 euros per hour. the indoor pool comes at a price of 7.5 euros.the gym is well stocked and is free. this hotel is a bargain! well done to all who work at the eurotel!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurotel Altura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Altura

Address: Av. 24 de Junho | Praia de Altura, Altura 8950-414, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Altura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Altura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Altura 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurotel Altura is located on the lovely Altura beach, in the East Algarve. All rooms have a private balcony and boost spectacular views of the sea. Buffet breakfast is included and there is free parking in the hotel.The hotel has an outdoor pool, garden area, tennis court, mini-golf, restaurant, snack bar and bar. The recently built Wellness Center has a hydrotherapy area with Turkish bath, Caribbean Shower and relaxation area. It also has massage and treatment rooms as well as a fully equipped gymnasium.Eurotel Altura also has available a special area for the younger guests, offering a Kids Club with full entertainment programme all year round.The hotel is located only 10 minutes from 6 golf courses and Faro International Airport is only 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Eurotel Altura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Altura Hotel Altura
Eurotel Altura Hotel Beach
Eurotel Altura Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurotel Altura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.