We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive but lives up to its name!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
15 Binayomba Rd | Bugolobi Rwanda, Kabale PO Box 23825, Uganda
+256 486 424121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Kabale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Butare, Rwanda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive but lives up to its name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Perhaps one of the more remote places I've ever been, Bwindi Impenetrable Park definitely lives up to its name! We stayed at a tented lodge just beyond the park (there are several) which was gorgeous and had amazing service. The road is dirt and to get to the edge of the park it's about 2 hours. 4wd is definitely needed, and I would consider not attempting the drive if it were raining or had it just rained: mud makes it impassable. There is a fee for anything you do in the park plus the park permit itself, but truly it is all worth it! Gorilla tracking can be done here (500$ for non-citizens as compared with 750$ in Rwanda's Volcano's NP) and though we did not do it this trip, our tented lodge neighbors did and were beyond ecstatic about their experience. I hear the gorillas are smaller on the Ugandan side and the thicker forest makes it a bit harder to see them, but there is the price differential. From the side of the dirt road we saw some big game, monkeys, and several gazillion species of birds. The folks in Ruhija town where we stayed were delightful. There are 10$ massages, community cultural activities, and simply enjoying the amazing views was well-worth the trip! We're heading back next month :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    20
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mountain Gorilla trekking - Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The National Park ranger orientation was very informative, giving us just the right amount of information about what to expect. We were advised to hire one porter per traveler, which we agreed to, though we thought this seemed excessive. But we soon were convinced that individual porters was the way to go; although we were informed that 7 hours would be the limit on amount of time we'd be out on the trails, in our case it did take 3.5 hours of constant walking to get to the gorillas and 3.5 to return to our drop off point; the trails could be steep and muddy and once we got off the trails to get to gorilla viewing we were on very slippery ground so having a dedicated porter was essential to preventing slips and falls and potential injuries.
And then we found the gorillas and they were just magnificent. Several younger gorillas were eating leaves and plants and we were able to watch them for an extended duration. We got brief glimpses of a large silverback male and a momma carrying an infant on her back - they briefly walked into our view but then turned and left when they spotted us. We were allowed to stay with the gorillas for ~ 45 min (the national park limits exposure to humans to mitigate risk of transmitting human diseases) before starting the long walk back to our starting point. At the end we were congratulated and given "trekking certificates". What an experience! Thanks to our guide, porters, and trekkers who were all fantastic and the people who do the magnificent work of preserving the mountain gorillas and Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Gorilla trekking permits are expensive (500USD) but I thought this once-in-a-lifetime experience seeing these magnificent "close relatives" was worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Trekking through the jungle to see the majestic mountain gorillas in their natural habitat was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. The guides were great, I felt safe at all times and we found the gorillas within an hour. I had a porter thank goodness, he saved me from falling down a cliff! The way back was quite the trek, but totally worth it. Bring LOTS of water!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorilla Tracking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Awesome experience that should be included in any trip to Uganda. Visiting these gentle giants to watch them in their natural habitat is truly unique. The guides, porters and guards are all very knowledgable and super friendly. Beware of fellow tourists who fail to realize they are not the only ones there to see the Gorillas. Establish ahead of time with the group the need to make room for all to get photos as the trails are narrow and the terrain is uneven.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

An unforgettable experience, what a privilege to have been able to see these magnificent creatures up close. The trek was relatively easy and we were fortunate to find the gorillas within about an hour of setting off. The fee was well worth it and I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Uganda.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bwindi Impenetrable National Park also viewed

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Western Region
 
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Western Region
Kabale, Western Region
 

Been to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.